Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on September 3, 2012
As a writer myself who has sped up my writing process significantly over time, I find the tips in this book are pretty much in line with what I've discovered on my own for stream lining the writing process.

The thing you've got to keep in mind with something designed to help you write quickly is that you're not going to write a masterpiece in 3 1/2 days. Books that focus only on producing work quickly, almost by necessity, rely on sacrificing quality.

The thing I liked about this guide was that it focused on how to achieve the balance between working so fast the quality is poor vs. being overly perfect to the point that it takes you forever to finish. So don't be mislead and think you're going to write a completely polished, edited, and perfect work of great length in only 3 1/2 days without needing more fine tuning.

If you've been writing for years, you may not pick up anything too new in this book as for myself it was mostly reminding me of what I've already discovered through trial and error. But if you're just getting going, or need a good reminder (we can all get off track) as to what it takes to create the best quality product in the quickest time, then this book can be very helpful to have in your arsenal. The minimal investment to learn these tactics can save you a lot of headache down the road.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
It sounds ridiculous to think that one could write an entire book in 3 1/2 days -- and it would be, if we were talking about a large non-fiction book involving detailed research, or something of the sort. Kfisten Eckstein makes clear from the beginning that she is primarily talking about the kind of book in which one pulls together a body of writing (or blogs or lectures or articles or other similar materials) that are , for the most part, already written but are now being reworked into a larger and more substantial publication. She gives tips on choosing your topic (especially useful if you have a range of possibilities (such as blogs on different subjects), and how to shape and edit them into something that will be worthwhile for a potential reader.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2012
The idea behind this book is to help the writer take a book project from a pile of related notes and research material to a book that is ready to edit into finished copy. The goal of the three-and-a-half-day writing marathon is to designate a focused period of organizing and rewriting material until you have a book that is one continuous piece of work. At the end of the three days, you have a quantity of pages not ready for publication, but complete first draft ready to further refine and edit.

Ms. Eckstein explains how she believes it is a myth that a book that is ready for publication can be written in a single weekend. I thank Ms. Eckstein for that observation. Professional writers would never dream of letting an inferior product be put out for public scrutiny, they know that inferior writing quality are the marks of an inferior writer. As a writer, I personally have felt guilty and inadequate because I was not able to put out quality books as quickly as these "write a book in a weekend" gurus claimed could be done. After reading this book, I feel more confident that intuitively, I am on the right track as a writer.

I would definitely recommend this book to other writers who are considering plunking down money to attend workshops promising that he or she would be able to write a publishable work in a weekend. At a measly 99 cents, this book could save them a lot of money and heartache.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
The book is about 30 pages long. The content is okay, not something exceptional. The information given in this book are generic, like:

a. Switch off your cell phone
b. Right at a specific time every day
c. Organize your materials

There is nothing specific such as how to do a chapterization of your book, how to start off, how to conclude and so on. I also feel that the presentation could have been much better with the use of better formatting (Bulleting perhaps?).

If you want an inspiration or a pep talk buy this book. If you are looking for real content, then you might have to reconsider your decision.

Overall an okay book for the price that you pay!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
Thank you, Kristen, for the valuable information and tips! I now know what it takes to write a book in a weekend. I feel validated for being skeptical of workshops claiming to write and finish a book in a weekend.

Kristen's tips on organizing your thoughts and writing are helpful regardless of the length of time it takes you to write it. I highly recommend this book to new authors and anybody who wants to attend a workshop to have a finished book written in a weekend. Read this first for realistic expectations.

Judy Graybill
Stepfamily Coach
[...]
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
While the book does have some very good advice, the author emphasizes proper and accurate editing and even states that she has proofreaders go over her material. Good thought, for sure; however, take a look at a few of the author's own sentences, from the book:

"In 2010, while I was on the Great American Book Coaching Tour, we were stopped traffic because of an accident. So I pulled out my laptop and started writing because I had it my project with me to work on."

It would appear as though the author could use yet another proofreader :-) Just sayin'.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
How to Write a Non-Fiction Book in 3 1/2 days is a wealth of information! It is a quick read, but what you get in the pages of this book are well worth taking the time to sit down and read it. Every page is packed full of interesting and helpful information that will help you get organized, disciplined, and off to a running start. If you're looking for a way to get your book written in a short amount of time, I would recommend getting this and reading it. Also, there is a web link included in the book for additional information through a "Webinar." I highly recommend that you go to the website and watch it. Every little bit helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
I've read a bunch of these types of books and always seem to find the title to over-hype the content. The truth is, in this book, while it's a typical hype title the advice and content is solid in both it's premise as well as in the application. Although it may seem a bit thin, it was to the point and without a lot of fluff that seem to occupy most of these books.

If you're looking for that magical quick hit this book provides you with the stark realization that there is in fact no such thing, but provides some solid re-purposing ideas that are actually useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
Every word of this short book is packed with actionable ideas. I know they work as I already use many of them.

The book is a quick read. That is because there is nothing but ideas to put in to practice. It is easy to see they will all work.

The ideas are not all for "speed writing." They work for those who like to keep their books in the oven for a long time.

For 99 cents you cannot go wrong. I really think you ought to raise the price to $2.99. There is at least that much value in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2012
Many people dream of writing a book, and business owners NEED to write one, because a book is your best lead generator ever. Being a published book author elevates you to instant VIP status and can help you command higher consultation and speaking fees plus open the doors to tons of free media exposure.

There is no need to slave over a book for months or years. This book provides some practical advice for how to write a book in 3 1/2 days.

Putting a book together can be quick and relatively painless, but it definitely requires focus and discipline.

I differ slightly with the author on one minor point. For most people she is right and you can't write a book from scratch in a weekend. (There are a couple of methods you can use to write from scratch without editing transcripts or using materials you have already written.

Yet for the most part, the author's own belief in the impossibility will cause them to get in their own way and thwart the process.

The ideas for clearing away distractions will indeed help you clear the space in your life to take a working holiday, long weekend, or other configuration of focus time to get a book written.

Follow your bliss,

Ronda Del Boccio, the Story Lady
#1 Bestselling author and Celebrity Author Mentor
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here