BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 8, 2015
REGION FREE

Disc 1: Blu-Ray 3D Feature Film
Disc 2: Blu-Ray 2D Feature Film + Extras

2014, 132 min.
Video: 1080p High Definition 16:9 Widescreen 2.40:1
Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD, English Descriptive Audio 5.1 Dolby Digital,
Spanish 5.1 Dolby Digital, French 5.1 Dolby Digital, Portuguese 5.1 Dolby Digital,
Russian 5.1 DTS, Thai 5.1 Dolby Digital, Ukrainian 5.1 Dolby Digital
Subtitles: English, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, Estonian, Finnish, Korean, Latvian,
Lithuanian, Norwegian, Russian, Swedish, Thai, Ukrainian
Extras: Deleted Scenes (with optional commentary by Director Bryan Singer)(6 min.),
Kitchen Sequence (6 min.), Gag Reel (6 min.),
Double Take: Xavier & Magneto (12 min.), X-Men: Reunited (10 min.),
Classification: M (12 min.), Sentinels: For a Secure Future (9 min.), Picture Gallery,
Theatrical Trailers, Second Screen App, Sneak Peak of Exodus: Gods and Kings
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Loved this film. It's a difficult one to review without spoilers, so I am going to be quite careful here... First off, bottom line up front, rent this one right now if you are a fan of the X-Men movies and spinoffs. Having seen them all (multiple times) I can recommend this one without hesitation.

OK, so what made it so fun? First, the acting is top notch. Of course, with such an A-list cast, perhaps that's to be expected. But, I can say no one "mailed in" their performance. Jackman, Lawrence, all of them played their roles to the hilt. I particularly enjoyed Charles Xavier throughout, from his drunken, darker moments, to the later portions (again, avoiding spoilers).

The threat posed by the enemy, especially at the beginning of the film, actually had me wondering how they were going to defeat them. Normally, those things are somewhat easy to sort out, but - as you will see in the opening scenes - these are not your usual villains... The personal struggles of the main characters were believable and interesting to watch unfold.

Finally, the pure fun of the film, the excellent CGI, and the action (obviously the cornerstones of these films) not only did not disappoint, but improved on the previous films.

So, with all those non-spoilers, I hope I have conveyed that, if you are on the fence about this one, it is definitely worth the rental!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Time travel, mixed loyalties, a frightening future and the Paris Peace Talks that ended the war in Vietnam - at least as far as the United States was concerned - are all wrapped up in what could have been a confusing tangle of plot lines but which turned out to be, instead, an excellent movie directed with a deft hand by Bryan Singer.
I'm not going to explain the plot because it is so nicely woven together that I'd be posting spoiler alerts with every other sentence. Instead, I'll say that Hugh Jackman brings just the right bit of macho tough guy blended with a touch of humility to make his performance as Wolverine very appealing. Jennifer Lawrence takes on the role as the shape-changing Mystique that was pioneered so spectacularly by Rebecca Romijn in three previous X-Men films. When I heard she had been cast as Mystique I was unsure that Lawrence could handle the role since I very much enjoyed Romijn's portrayal of this often cold-blooded character. Lawrence pulls it off in fine fashion, however, adding a level of sensitivity to Mystique - particularly in two very emotional scenes - that Romijn was not asked to do in the previous films.
This is very much Jackman's movie but there are fine supporting performances by Michael Fassbender as a young Magneto, James MacAvoy as a young Charles Xavier, Ellen Page and, of course, Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen. Some old friends return in what are essentially cameo roles including Halle Berry, Famke Janssen and Anna Paquin.
If you're a fan of the Marvel universe you're going to like this movie.
If you're a fan of dystopian films there is a lot here for you to like as well.
And if you just like good action movies with appealing characters played by equally appealing actors and actresses, then by all means see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
This was probably the best X-Men movie to date. I'm probably a little biased by the fact that this one was released in 3D. And the 3D in this film were great. Not too in your face, but I was very immersed at all times. Great story and a clever integration of all of the new characters with those of the original films. Props to Hugh who seems to get more and more ripped for every movie he makes in the franchise. Great seeing the old with the new as well as the very new cast working together.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
The movie itself is enjoyable, though I'm not a big fan of 'time travel in order to reset the Marvel universe and bring the potential for returning a lot of characters (still want to know how Professor X came back).

The 3D effects are decent, it didn't seem to overly dark, though for the most part it just seemed to add some depth to the viewing experience. Some of the best effects came during the scene in the Pentagon kitchen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
Great movie! While the timeline/events of the X-Men movies changes and rearranges based on retcons and revamps, this movie is pretty darn good. I have a bit of a soft spot for X-Men: First Class as my all-time favorite of the movies, and this one isn't quite as good, but it's well made and has some very nice special effects and action sequences. It's a pretty good follow-up to the emotional character development of Charles, Erik, Raven and Hank that we get in First Class, showing where their relationships have led them in the next decade or so. While it lacks the heartwrenching moments of their backstories, it does show a little bit more of what makes those characters into the mutants that we all know and love.

As said above, the effects are good, especially those of some of the newly introduced mutants. Blink, in particular, had quite pretty sequences, and everything with Quicksilver had me practically dying laughing when I wasn't glued to the screen in amazement at his action shots. Evan Peters was wonderful, and Peter Dinklage gave another brilliant performance. The score and soundtrack choices were great, and the script was well-written. All in all, it was a pretty good movie, and definitely worth a watch if you're a fan of the X-Men franchise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
6-10-17 3rd viewing. Put it off for a long time because I remembered not enjoying that 2nd viewing all that much for reasons now bedimmed. I only started it to see the beginning scenes of "last days" and then turn it off. Nope. Caught.

Silly dang stuff this is, eh? But hey, sue me for having psychic handholds that Hollywood can grab me with like everyone else. Future self -- I wouldn't watch this until at least 2019.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
I thought this movie was a good one. The characters were created well. The acting, for a comic book action movie, in my opinion, was quite good. There are some scenes that I am convinced are not logical even within the comic book parameters, but they are still quite entertaining. The movie plot does feel like it sort of comes out of nowhere and doesn't quite belong within the continuum in order to correct some things done in previous movies. But the movie is done in a way that is very enjoyable. Overall, I'd say it was worth seeing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
I would have enjoyed this more if they had just digitally replaced the cast of Back to the Future with the 90's X-Men cartoon characters. Just imagine Beast hanging from the clock, Storm hovering overhead throwing lightning bolts while Jubilee drives the DeLorean.

I'm a fan of Marvel comics and have loved the way Marvel Studios has approached their cinematic Avengers universe. The X-Men film franchise has suffered by comparison. While Marvel Studios gives their characters room to develop, have relationships and be interesting in their solo films (Avengers is another matter...) the X-Men films have all struggled with the desire to cram in as many mutants as possible on screen at the same time. I always thought that the X-Men franchise would have been better if they'd approached it like the first season of Heroes - Season One. This movie, with its convoluted time travel plot and contrived happy ending that makes Donnie Darko DIRECTOR'S CUT look good, is the worst offender.

That being said, it does succeed in being very "comic book-y" and I suppose that's why fans have embraced it. Personally, I'd like to see a more simplified, angsty character drama that uses the mutant allegory to comment on society, but I'm clearly in the minority. I don't honestly remember much about this movie, or any of the X-Men films for that matter, so I guess in a way they aren't so terrible as to be memorably bad, just not memorably good. I'm giving it a fairly harsh review, but I'm giving it 4-stars anyways because this is probably the last time we'll get to see Jennifer Lawrence running around in blue body paint. Okay, so I guess there was one memorable thing about the movie...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
“Just because someone stumbles and loses their path, doesn't mean they're lost forever. Sometimes, we all need a little help.” These wise words stated by telepath Professor Charles Xavier in X-Men: Days of Future Past symbolize one of the main messages behind the superhero thriller: people can change for the better. In accordance with this theme, the blue, shape-shifting character known as Mystique, or Raven, undergoes a large transformation throughout the film. She acts as a rather misguided hero, not knowing that her actions, while seeming in the best interest of the mutant community, will lead to the demise of the X-Men in the future. In addition, her unique appearance also plays directly into her demeanor and reflects many aspects of her character. Mystique’s character is greatly influenced in the film through her interactions with other mutant characters and also reflected in her very symbolic facade.
Whether for a good or evil cause, Mystique is always, “true blue.” Her relationships in the film, specifically with Charles Xavier (Professor X), represent her devotion to those around her. When around Charles, she always does what is in the best interest of everyone, humans and mutants alike. For the whole first half of the movie, however, she is without Charles’s guidance, thus following a darker path. When Charles finally reaches out to Mystique, she is deterred from killing mutant hater, Bolivar Trask. If she had followed through with her original plans and killed Trask, the sentinel program, which would exterminate all mutants, would not have been canceled and she would have been taken captive and tested on. Nearing the end of the film Charles states, “Raven, please do not make us the enemy today. You can show them a better path.” After hearing this, her true loyalty to Charles ultimately leads to her sparing Trask’s life and the cancellation of the sentinel program. During Mystique’s interactions with Charles, her mannerisms also prove her loyalty. When around him, she is mostly in her normal, blue appearance, and not disguised as another being, thus symbolizing that she is truly herself when with Charles. Her true nature is only hidden when near characters lead her to malevolent actions, such as Erik Lehnsherr (Magneto). She is only “true blue,” both literally and figuratively, when interacting with Professor X. While her physical contacts with others contributes to her demeanor, her outward appearance also very much reflects her character.
While not the most appealing character to look at, the colors that are prominent in Mystique’s look, specifically blue, red, and yellow, are incredibly symbolic. The most noticeable of all of her colors is blue. Blue is known to represent trust and loyalty, in some cases, which are some of the main aspects of her character. As described earlier, Mystique is always faithful to one character or another, whether good or bad, so it makes sense that blue is the most blatant color in her appearance. Although blue takes up much of her body, it is not hard to recognize her fiery red hair. Red is known to symbolize passion and determination. This directly plays into her character, as she is passionate about saving the mutant race and determined to ensure that mutants will no longer be viciously murdered. Whether for a good or evil cause, her enthusiasm is always displayed and her hair is always, fittingly, scorching red. The final color, yellow, is not very noticeable, but it is found in her eyes. Yellow usually stands for fear or cowardice, and, while not the biggest aspects of Mystique’s character, they have a much deeper meaning. As she is acting as the leader in the fight against Trask, her fear is somewhat hidden. In accordance, the color yellow is hidden on her body, representing that while she has fear, it is not readily shown in her character. When Mystique is frightened by something, her eyes widen greatly, making the yellow more apparent on her body. For example, when she discovers Trask’s autopsy reports of her many mutant friends, her eyes bulge and she begins to cry. This, therefore, symbolizes her fear of the mass mutant death that could be caused by Trask’s program. While rather concealed, Mystique’s fear is more evident through her yellow eye color. Overall, the colors in Mystique’s appearance greatly reflect her personality and overall goals throughout the movie.
Through her genuine loyalty to Charles and her very symbolic facade, Mystique largely represents the main theme of X-Men: Days of Future Past, that people can completely transform for the better. In the final seconds of the movie, Charles Xavier states, “Countless choices define our fate; each choice, each moment, a moment in the ripple of time. Enough ripple, and you change the tide for the future is never truly set.” In the film, Mystique’s choices are what defined the future for all of humanity. By sparing Trask’s life, her whole demeanor is changed and she sets humanity on a brighter path, rippling the tide of history and altering the future. By adding Mystique’s personal change to the film, Director Bryan Singer also alters the tide of the X-Men series, bringing back characters that were previously killed in other movies. Mystique’s character, therefore, not only changes for the better of those in the film, but also in real life, by fixing all of the problems that had previously taken place in other films in the series. In accordance with Xavier’s statement in the film, Mystique’s choices and transformation caused enough ripple to change two futures: the future of the individuals in the film and the future of Singer’s X-Men films as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here