Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now Ellen

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$13.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 4,089 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 4,529 reviews
on February 12, 2015
Excellent sequel to First Class adds more firepower by including team members from the original series of films. Yes, purists will whine because the movie differs a great deal from the comics but you have to remember: this is the movie universe NOT the comics universe. Excellent effects make the powers of all the mutants pretty amazing. Film goes overboard trying to cram way too many characters into the alternate future timeline, leaving you with a "Wait! Who the heck was that?" moment every few seconds. Original cast members get a last (?) romp and seem to be having a grand time. The scene between old & young Xavier is a terrific one. The introduction of Quicksilver is lots of fun and he gets perhaps the single greatest scene in the entire film as he displays his powers in an awesome sequence brilliantly set to the classic Jim Croce tune "Time In A Bottle" that just stuns. Young Xavier, Magneto & Mystique are uniformly excellent and The Sentinels finally get a chance to strut their stuff, though many may balk at the huge changes to the design of their future versions. I was thoroughly engrossed & entertained for 2+ hours and that's all I need to sell me on this and whole-heartedly recommend it to you. If you like X-Men 2 and First Class then you should LOVE this installment in the popular mutant series. As one would expect of a new film in high-def, this Blu-ray presentation of the movie does not disappoint. Clean, crisp picture & the sound mix is leveled nicely, no muffled dialogue or sudden explosive music or effects to force you to constantly adjust the volume during the film. Lots of cool (but brief) bonus features are included, too. Also note: there's a post end credits teaser that gives us a glimpse of the chaos to come in the series' next installment: X-Men - Apocalypse. Count me in! 5 STARS
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2015
DoFP is easily my favorite X-Men movie at the moment. I've read the comic, and watched the 90s animated series version of it, so I'm well aware of the changes made to the movie, but they didn't detract from the well-written story and good follow-up with First Class that it is. Everyone on the cast does their absolute best within their roles, but I felt McAvoy and Fassbender really took the cake here in regards to acting.

Interesting scenes, while there were several, I am still amazed at how well done the jailbreak sequence with Quicksilver was. However, it would've been nice if a line or two were thrown in as to why he couldn't continue to help the rest of the group. The sentinels did a good job of showing how desperate a situation they made it for everyone in the future, but I would've liked a bit more insight as to they were largely unknown until this storyline. Also, even for a fictional movie based on a comic book, the future sentinels seemed downright impossible given their advanced technology, allowing them to have several mutant powers of their own, was modeled after Mystique's ability to 'appear' like other people.

This movie also stars Hugh Jackman as Wolverine, for the sixth time. I like the character of Wolverine/Logan/James Howlette(?)... but I like a lot of other X-Men characters too. I fully understand why he was given the lead role here, and it makes sense within the context presented in the movie as well, but let's face it, Fox simply can't compete with the Marvel(Disney) studios quality of movies of the last few years so why not bring in some more popular characters that fans can get equally attached to? Hopefully this is what happens in Age of Apocalypse, as well as the other stand-alone movies that have been announced/hinted at, but for the time being I will enjoy this golden age of comic movies for as long as it lasts. If you happen to be a fan of this genre I would definitely recommend checking out Days of Future Past.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2015
I thought they did a great job of showing the story contained in the comics that I remembered reading back then. I am sure I have forgotten enough of the details to not nerd rage about what was different but the feel of the original story was captured. I liked getting the chance to see the old professor and Magneto doing their thing and flashing back to the younger versions from the last movie. I have really enjoyed what Hugh Jackman has done with the character of Wolverine and I will miss him when he decides to hang up the claws. The scene's with quicksilver really steals the show for me and you don't laugh at the slow-mo scene in the kitchen then you might have forgotten that you are watching a comic come to life.

If you have liked the latest interpretations of the characters then I would expect you to like this at least enough to be entertained.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Loved this film. It's a difficult one to review without spoilers, so I am going to be quite careful here... First off, bottom line up front, rent this one right now if you are a fan of the X-Men movies and spinoffs. Having seen them all (multiple times) I can recommend this one without hesitation.

OK, so what made it so fun? First, the acting is top notch. Of course, with such an A-list cast, perhaps that's to be expected. But, I can say no one "mailed in" their performance. Jackman, Lawrence, all of them played their roles to the hilt. I particularly enjoyed Charles Xavier throughout, from his drunken, darker moments, to the later portions (again, avoiding spoilers).

The threat posed by the enemy, especially at the beginning of the film, actually had me wondering how they were going to defeat them. Normally, those things are somewhat easy to sort out, but - as you will see in the opening scenes - these are not your usual villains... The personal struggles of the main characters were believable and interesting to watch unfold.

Finally, the pure fun of the film, the excellent CGI, and the action (obviously the cornerstones of these films) not only did not disappoint, but improved on the previous films.

So, with all those non-spoilers, I hope I have conveyed that, if you are on the fence about this one, it is definitely worth the rental!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
CONTAINS SPOILERS!

Very few sequels even meet the standard set forth by their predecessor. Some even exceed the original (in my opinion "Terminator 2" eclipses "The Terminator" on several levels). But, "X-Men: Days of Future Past" outshines all the X-Men films to date - including the follow-up "Apocalypse". I'm able to ignore the political agenda messages planted throughout the film to enjoy a story about redemption. All through the film, there are truly top-notch performances from all the people involved. From actors to directors to grips, they all produced a film that may not be exceeded within its universe. The tales of sadness, loss and longing are compelling and beautifully executed. I love how the ending happily restores the characters of the original film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
I grew up with comics and was always a big X-Men fan. I read the original Days of Future Past story when it first came out and it was immediately one of my favorite X-men stories. This movie does not try to tell that story verbatim, the biggest change is that in the comic it was Kitty Pryde who traveled into her old self not Wolverine.

The movie does a great job of bridging the gap between the original X-Men movies and the next generation of the First Class world. All around excellent job by the cast in playing different versions of the same characters. And a big kudos to the scenes with Quicksilver.

There are a lot of winks to the comics fans who read and remember the original story littered throughout the movie too (check out the ways various characters are killed and compare to the comic). The movie also brings in some of my other favorite X-Men story the Age of Apockalypse which is where Blink originally appeared (I think, it has been awhile). The next X movie is going to fully feature Apockalypse (yeah I know that is not the correct spelling of the word, the characters name was spelled different). I really look forward to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
A fun romp through the (cinematic version of the) history of the X-Men, with the usual "Oh, WOW!" level special effects and a cast who seem to actually have some respect for their characters.

I kept the 5th star in my pocket due to a couple of small but annoying plot holes, the apparent ease with which some characters seem to suddenly agree with Logan/Wolverine, and a depiction of Magneto's power at a level that stretched my willing suspension of disbelief pretty hard. (This in a film where my only reaction to the powers of Blink, Raven/Mystique, Storm, et al was a happy smile... oh, well.) Also, anyone not familiar with a number of the featured characters will likely spend several minutes going, "Wait, what...?!?" at the beginning of the film and maybe also 2-3 times as the story unfolds.

The reproduction of 1970s NYC and Washington, DC, although imperfect, were more than good enough to be plenty of fun; the same goes for Nixon & co. There are just enough intentionally silly/funny moments throughout the film to keep the dark side of the story where it belongs, and while the ending may be a tad too neat & clean for some fans I found it logical & satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
I thought this movie was a good one. The characters were created well. The acting, for a comic book action movie, in my opinion, was quite good. There are some scenes that I am convinced are not logical even within the comic book parameters, but they are still quite entertaining. The movie plot does feel like it sort of comes out of nowhere and doesn't quite belong within the continuum in order to correct some things done in previous movies. But the movie is done in a way that is very enjoyable. Overall, I'd say it was worth seeing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
I would have enjoyed this more if they had just digitally replaced the cast of Back to the Future with the 90's X-Men cartoon characters. Just imagine Beast hanging from the clock, Storm hovering overhead throwing lightning bolts while Jubilee drives the DeLorean.

I'm a fan of Marvel comics and have loved the way Marvel Studios has approached their cinematic Avengers universe. The X-Men film franchise has suffered by comparison. While Marvel Studios gives their characters room to develop, have relationships and be interesting in their solo films (Avengers is another matter...) the X-Men films have all struggled with the desire to cram in as many mutants as possible on screen at the same time. I always thought that the X-Men franchise would have been better if they'd approached it like the first season of Heroes - Season One. This movie, with its convoluted time travel plot and contrived happy ending that makes Donnie Darko DIRECTOR'S CUT look good, is the worst offender.

That being said, it does succeed in being very "comic book-y" and I suppose that's why fans have embraced it. Personally, I'd like to see a more simplified, angsty character drama that uses the mutant allegory to comment on society, but I'm clearly in the minority. I don't honestly remember much about this movie, or any of the X-Men films for that matter, so I guess in a way they aren't so terrible as to be memorably bad, just not memorably good. I'm giving it a fairly harsh review, but I'm giving it 4-stars anyways because this is probably the last time we'll get to see Jennifer Lawrence running around in blue body paint. Okay, so I guess there was one memorable thing about the movie...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
“Just because someone stumbles and loses their path, doesn't mean they're lost forever. Sometimes, we all need a little help.” These wise words stated by telepath Professor Charles Xavier in X-Men: Days of Future Past symbolize one of the main messages behind the superhero thriller: people can change for the better. In accordance with this theme, the blue, shape-shifting character known as Mystique, or Raven, undergoes a large transformation throughout the film. She acts as a rather misguided hero, not knowing that her actions, while seeming in the best interest of the mutant community, will lead to the demise of the X-Men in the future. In addition, her unique appearance also plays directly into her demeanor and reflects many aspects of her character. Mystique’s character is greatly influenced in the film through her interactions with other mutant characters and also reflected in her very symbolic facade.
Whether for a good or evil cause, Mystique is always, “true blue.” Her relationships in the film, specifically with Charles Xavier (Professor X), represent her devotion to those around her. When around Charles, she always does what is in the best interest of everyone, humans and mutants alike. For the whole first half of the movie, however, she is without Charles’s guidance, thus following a darker path. When Charles finally reaches out to Mystique, she is deterred from killing mutant hater, Bolivar Trask. If she had followed through with her original plans and killed Trask, the sentinel program, which would exterminate all mutants, would not have been canceled and she would have been taken captive and tested on. Nearing the end of the film Charles states, “Raven, please do not make us the enemy today. You can show them a better path.” After hearing this, her true loyalty to Charles ultimately leads to her sparing Trask’s life and the cancellation of the sentinel program. During Mystique’s interactions with Charles, her mannerisms also prove her loyalty. When around him, she is mostly in her normal, blue appearance, and not disguised as another being, thus symbolizing that she is truly herself when with Charles. Her true nature is only hidden when near characters lead her to malevolent actions, such as Erik Lehnsherr (Magneto). She is only “true blue,” both literally and figuratively, when interacting with Professor X. While her physical contacts with others contributes to her demeanor, her outward appearance also very much reflects her character.
While not the most appealing character to look at, the colors that are prominent in Mystique’s look, specifically blue, red, and yellow, are incredibly symbolic. The most noticeable of all of her colors is blue. Blue is known to represent trust and loyalty, in some cases, which are some of the main aspects of her character. As described earlier, Mystique is always faithful to one character or another, whether good or bad, so it makes sense that blue is the most blatant color in her appearance. Although blue takes up much of her body, it is not hard to recognize her fiery red hair. Red is known to symbolize passion and determination. This directly plays into her character, as she is passionate about saving the mutant race and determined to ensure that mutants will no longer be viciously murdered. Whether for a good or evil cause, her enthusiasm is always displayed and her hair is always, fittingly, scorching red. The final color, yellow, is not very noticeable, but it is found in her eyes. Yellow usually stands for fear or cowardice, and, while not the biggest aspects of Mystique’s character, they have a much deeper meaning. As she is acting as the leader in the fight against Trask, her fear is somewhat hidden. In accordance, the color yellow is hidden on her body, representing that while she has fear, it is not readily shown in her character. When Mystique is frightened by something, her eyes widen greatly, making the yellow more apparent on her body. For example, when she discovers Trask’s autopsy reports of her many mutant friends, her eyes bulge and she begins to cry. This, therefore, symbolizes her fear of the mass mutant death that could be caused by Trask’s program. While rather concealed, Mystique’s fear is more evident through her yellow eye color. Overall, the colors in Mystique’s appearance greatly reflect her personality and overall goals throughout the movie.
Through her genuine loyalty to Charles and her very symbolic facade, Mystique largely represents the main theme of X-Men: Days of Future Past, that people can completely transform for the better. In the final seconds of the movie, Charles Xavier states, “Countless choices define our fate; each choice, each moment, a moment in the ripple of time. Enough ripple, and you change the tide for the future is never truly set.” In the film, Mystique’s choices are what defined the future for all of humanity. By sparing Trask’s life, her whole demeanor is changed and she sets humanity on a brighter path, rippling the tide of history and altering the future. By adding Mystique’s personal change to the film, Director Bryan Singer also alters the tide of the X-Men series, bringing back characters that were previously killed in other movies. Mystique’s character, therefore, not only changes for the better of those in the film, but also in real life, by fixing all of the problems that had previously taken place in other films in the series. In accordance with Xavier’s statement in the film, Mystique’s choices and transformation caused enough ripple to change two futures: the future of the individuals in the film and the future of Singer’s X-Men films as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse