Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Moonlight Moonlight Moonlight  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Price:$16.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 70 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 84 reviews
on March 16, 2017
This game's gameplay is completely different from your normal Yakuza games. Instead of brawling, this game is strictly a third person shooter game with wonky controls. It's definitely not the best type of shooter game, I would say it has one of the worst third person shooter controls out there with a pretty bad inventory system. But it makes up for it with an interesting story and characters from previous games.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
Yakuza Dead Souls (YDS) is an action RPG that has a ton of zombies, minigames, substories and cutscenes. You could easily sink more than 100 hours into this game before finally beating it, so you will definitely get your money's worth. YDS is not a part of the main Yakuza series. You can play and enjoy this game just fine without having played the other games in the series before, but you might not understand several of the in-game references and inside jokes. Most of the inside jokes and references seem to come from Yakuza 4.

YDS is divided into five chapters. The first four chapters focus on one particular character (Akiyama, Majima, Goda and Kiryu). The final chapter involves Kiryu with Goda fighting as a sidekick. If you fail to complete all the substories for a particular character during his chapter, you have to beat the game and then switch characters during the Premium Adventure mode. During each chapter, you will encounter several characters who are willing to fight alongside you. These characters can be trained at "Gary's Boot Camp," where they can learn special abilities and augments.

The main reason why this game is different from other Yakuza titles is the combat. Almost all combat in this game involves shooting zombies, blowing up zombies, burning zombies, impaling zombies, or blasting zombies with water. I literally killed more than 30,000 zombies in my first playthrough (on hard mode). Zombies are everywhere and often overwhelm your characters. It's fun finding new ways to kill them, but after killing the first 5000 zombies, it doesn't seem as much fun as beating up waves of actual Yakuza thugs like in Yakuza 3 and 4. But it's still fun.

You'll be able to use a ton of weapons in this game, including Gatling guns, sniper rifles, sub-machine guns, assault rifles, shotguns, pistols, small handguns and grenade launchers. Kamiyama, the stuttering equipment modder, is back. Unlike in earlier Yakuza games, you'll really want to take advantage of his upgrades here. You need all the firepower you can get in YDS. Part of the fun is switching weapons to take out zombies at long range and switching again to mow down large groups of zombies in close combat.

YDS also has the hostess substories. Once you successfully romance a hostess, you can fight with her. Be advised that you need to download add-on packs from the PlayStation Store (it's free) in order for them to have access to the best weapons. Each main character also has about 15 substories to complete--some of which are quite hilarious.

Again, this game is a lot of fun to play. But you need to consider these downsides:

1. There can be considerable slowdown if too many zombies get on the screen at once.
2. Some of the stories are repetitious. Several, for example, involve rescuing people and leading them out of the zombie area.
3. The zombies and mutants appear in the same places almost every time, thus making the game too predictable.
4. It can be a little too difficult to use the snipe gauge because the timer expires so quickly.
5. The subterranea manholes are very long and repetitious. Kiryu's mission has 30 floors, for example.
6. It can be very difficult training your partners at Gary's Boot Camp because the AI is a little too good.
7. The storyline is okay, but it's a bit of a letdown from Yakuza 3 and 4.
8. You will often find yourself dropping items to pick up fallen loot because your inventory fills up too fast.
9. The hostess missions can get a bit aggravating, especially since you have to do A LOT of hiking to get to one of the two clubs.
10. Several of your sidekicks will not pull their own weight, thus making it harder to develop them.
11. Loading times are a bit more conspicuous in this game, particularly when entering and exiting areas in the quarantine/zombie area.
12. The chase sequences can be quite difficult. Also, the controls do not seem as responsive during these sequences.

This game has enough alcohol, cigarettes, guns, ammo, blood, and violence to satisfy anyone's need for a hack-and-slack thriller. It's a lot of fun and will definitely keep you occupied. It's quite different from other Yakuza games, but it is still a lot of fun. And at about $15, you will definitely get your money's worth. Just remember, this is NOT a game for children.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2015
After finishing off Yakuza 3 and 4 I thought it be nice to get this non canon game thats still somehoe related after 4 but still non-cannon (if you get my drift) well im glad to say theres some story involved (not strongest but not a total yawn like Resident evil 5) the games mechanics on shooting is a bit off at first but within minutes youll get the hang of it. Shoot your way through zombies, blah blah blah.. I wished there were more picks of weapons. Guns all feels somewhat the same only smaller differences like the heavy pistol kills with one shot anywhere while the Smg and regular pistols just feel the same (one shoots slightly faster than the other) its the only mino complaint I have so far. If you have played the other yakuza games this game you will probably enjoy although it sorta feels more like a dlc than a game. I got mine for 6 bucks (10 bucks with shipping included) id say this one is worth no more than 30. Theres a bunch of cheap copies here so if I were you id get one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
So, Tokyo is being overrun by zombies, and as a member of the Yakuza, your heavily armed and ready to fight, so what's the first thing you do? Play ping-pong, of course! So what if the world is coming to an end, there's still time to play the claw game. Of course, after slaughtering all those zombies, your arms might get a little tense, so how about a relaxing massage? Talk about a game with a split personality, albeit one that works. Now, you may say, if you've played one zombie apocalpyse game, you've played them all, but that's not the case here. Even though it's difficult to talk about this game without comparing it to the Dead Rising series, they are different enough. One of the best aspects of Yakuza Dead Souls are the characters. My favorite character was probably Goro Majima, who is happy that there is a zombie apocalypse going on in real life, so he can slaughter zombies. If you aren't laughing halfway through the game, then this is just not the game for you.

The only drawback are the controls, which take some time to get used to. The auto aim is a bit more forgiving than you might expect, but the manual aiming is really tricky, since it defaults over to the right control stick. However, after you get used to it, you'll find that the game plays really well.

In conclusion, Yakuza Dead Souls is like Dead Rising meets GTA meets Sega's quirky arcade style seen in games like Chu Chu Rocket and even Shenmue. Yakuza Dead Souls packs hours of gameplay into this massive adventure filled with side quests and hostess dating (yeah, meet a virtual girlfriend and eat some virtual fried chicken!). Fun characters, solid gameplay, good humor and a cool storyline make Yakuza Dead Souls worth owning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2016
This may be biased coming from me as a yakuza fan but I love this game. I have the other ones and of you are playing this game expecting the same gameplay thus is not the one your looking for. It's a nice little what-if scenario filled with your favorite characters. I got this game and binge played it the shooting dynamic are a switch-up from the usual hand to hand.

Pros
Fun step away from the usual yakuza gameplay
Still has your mini games from the others.
Zombies
Guns!!

Cons
People expecting the same gameplay from the others may not like
Can be a bit repetitive
No hand to hand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
Quite different from the other yakuza games but after going through the controls and the firing mode it is actually a lot of fun. Not for beginners of the series though, you have to know kamurocho and slowly see it decay to enjoy this game.

Goro Majima is the best character, the loan shark is ok but doesnt really shine like in 4, cannon dude is boring and kiryu is just ... there.

Worth a buy, even more so now that its cheap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Obviously while Sega has their own zombie series House of the Dead this game takes it an a more unique asian mobster style of gameplay which is surprisingly very entertaining. Of course the game was a nice collection for fans of the Yakuza game series and if you haven't played any of those I'd advise checking a few of those enjoyable games out. The game is a mix of exploration/fighting/shooting also the audio voice cast is only in Japanese which while expected may annoy others who dislike having to read subtitles unless you understand Japanese.The graphics are very good though don't expect great detail like with The Last Of Us or Remember Me.

So if you're looking for an entertaining Zombie action game that doesn't rely on just shooting and running to the next wav point here's one that's worth trying out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
If you have an affinity for Japanese culture, then the Yakuza series should appeal to your sensibilities. Honestly, this very bias explains the high scores Dead Souls has received. This would be more along the lines of a 3 star game, if it weren't for that unique Japanese flavor. If you are familiar with the Yakuza series, you should know that Dead Souls is quite the departure. Firstly, there are zombies. And not just zombies, but a crap ton of zombies. I must have slaughtered hundreds in the first hour alone. Secondly, melee combat has been removed, and replaced with an awkward, but strangely enjoyable 3rd person shooting mechanic. These controls take some getting used to, but grow on you over time. Aiming has an auto assist function, that makes head shots quite fun to pull off. The story wasn't treated like an afterthought here. The same amount of care, and attention to detail, is on par with the rest of the series. Mini games and exploration are back as well, with less emphasis placed on both. Recommeded.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
I LOVE this game, but I feel there's a little bit of lost potential. You can get AI controlled partners, so why not make the partners a 2nd player? With online that would've been awesome. Except that they're not in town and can't be used for story missions but still! Also, as true with most PS3 games, it has a very looooooooong install time, but still well worth it.Though I was concerned since this series has been mostly fist fighting and not sure how they would handle guns but they proved me wrong. Auto-aim works really well and if not that then there's a manual aim somewhat like Resident Evil 4. The boss fights are also a lot of fun. Oh, and you can go on dates, go do karaoke or some other random things like bowling. Sure, there's a zombie apocalypse but that doesn't mean that you can't have fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
This game is pretty cool honestly. I wasn't expecting much. How are you going to make a game with primarily just shooting guns, with a game engine where shooting guns is very rare and clunky? Well they did and it's not terrible I think. It's obviously very clunky, but I think they did a very good job in me opinion. The characters are all amazing as always. Akiyama makes a return which I love.He was me favorite character from 4. If you are a fan of the Yakuza series, I would recommend picking this up for he story sake alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

$44.95
$39.99

Need customer service? Click here