Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only: $49.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
Yankee Stadium
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$24.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 10, 2008
This book made a Great Father's Day Gift,my husband who is a Yankee fan
enjoys it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 2, 2008
One of the best books on Yankee Stadium I have ever read. Throw away all the others...this is the one to have!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2008
We bought this book as a gift for a Yankee fan. It was a great gift because he really liked it. Lots of history and wonderful pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2008
I gave this to my son for his birthday present and he loved it. Lots of pictures and historical data.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 12, 2009
This book is outstanding. I bought it as a gift and now want one for myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2008
A fabulous book on the 75 year history of the greatest stadium on earth. but what to do with it in the future?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 6, 2008
Great Book. My wife and I were at Yankee Stadium on their next to last ballgame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 4, 2017
This features many stories and pictures about the stadium and people who traversed the surface. Begins with history of the Yankee team and their owner as they aspired for their own stadium as they shared with anther team. They are able to get some land and then manage to sign Babe Ruth to a contract. From there success follows as many other players go through the system to produce a winning team. Many first-hand accounts of exciting moments.

Additionally the site also hosted college and pro football, boxing, and spiritual leaders held meetings there. Plenty of photos, though not all have captions. Quite an informative retrospective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Do not be deceived by its appearance. This is in no sense a "coffee table book" except that you will want to have it near at hand on prominent display. Credit Mark Vancil and Alfred Santasiere III with selecting and editing a wealth of information and photographs (most in vivid full-color) that create quite literally both a comprehensive biography and multi-dimensional portrait of Yankee Stadium. Various contributors provide individual retrospective analyses of these segments:

In "A Walk Through Time" (Pages 16-35), Santasiere allows the reader "to take a gander at the ballpark itself" " during an extensive tour (e.g. ushers, the press box, George Steinbrenner's office and its various collection of memorabilia, the stadium's "frieze," the playing field, the clubhouse, the manager's office, the dugout, and Monument Park. The quality of the photographs in this section comes about as close as photographs can to making the viewer feel as if she or he were actually roaming throughout the stadium in person. In this section and in all others, the crisp copy that accompanies the photos creates a context for each.

In "The Birth of a Ballpark" (Pages 36-75), Bob Klapich reviews the team's history since 1912 when its name was the Hilltoppers (the team's home field was Hilltop Park) and finished in last place. Renamed the Yankees, they later played their home games at the Polo Grounds (also home of the Giants), were also-rans from 1916-1920, acquired George Herman ("Babe") Ruth from the Boston Red Sox, and finally the franchise had a permanent home when Yankee Stadium was built. The opening day was April 18, 1923. Construction requirement included removal of 45,000 cubic yards of dirt, 800 tons of rebar, 2,300 tons of mechanical steel, 116,000 square feet of sod, 13,000 yards of topsoil, 950,000 three million board feet of lumber for the bleachers, and 284 days to complete. There are dozens of archival photos of various stages of construction. Also included in this section are "First Person" reminiscences such as those provided by Ray Robinson, Phil Rizzuto Mario Cuomo, and Ernie Acorsi, Regis Philbin, Michael Bloomberg, and Dan Quale.

In "Iconic Moments at the Stadium" (Pages 76-137), Klapich provides a retrospective commentary on Lou Gehrig's memorable farewell and then Babe Ruth's farewell eight years later, the 1928 game when Knute Rockne's Notre Dame team defeated favored Army 12-8 and won it "for the Gipper," Frank Gipp, Joe DiMaggio's record of getting a hit in 56 consecutive games (a record that still stands 67 years later), Don Larsen's perfect game in the 1956 World Series against the Brooklyn Dodgers (with a mini-commentary provided by Dick Young), arguably the greatest NFL game ever when the Baltimore Colts defeated the New York Giants in overtime for the league championship in 1958 (23-17), Joe Louis' defeat of Max Schmeling (1938) and Muhammad Ali's defeat of Ken Norton (1976), Roger Maris' 61st homerun in 1961 to break Babe Ruth's record of 60 in 1927 (with a mini-commentary provided by Phil Pepe), Pope Paul VI's visit in 1965, the Army-Notre Dame football game in 1946 (with a mini-commentary provided by Johnny Lujack), and Pope Paul II's visit in 1979 (with a mini-commentary provided by Edward Cardinal Egan). Once again, as elsewhere throughout the book, the photographs are stunning.

In "Yankee Stadium Baseball History" (Pages 138-185), Bill Madden reviews some of the greatest highlights of a history that is probably unsurpassed among Major League Baseball in terms of great players, great games, and memorable moments. The reader is briefed on "Home Run Factoids" accompanied by "First Person" observations by Hank Aaron, Al Kaline, Jerry Coleman, Lou Piniella, Chris Chambliss, Reggie Jackson, David Cone, George H. W. Bush (whose son threw out the first pitch - a strike - during the third game of the 2001 World Series following the attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon), Derek Jeter, Paul O'Neil, Tino Martinez, Scott Brosius, Brian Cashman, Joe Torre, Dave Winfield, Paul McCartney, Whitey Ford, and Jose Pasada. I identify these contributors because almost all of them were directly involved in some of the memorable moments while playing or managing some of the greatest Yankee teams. Again, the photographs are superb.

In Section Four, "America's Amphitheater" (Pages 186-230), Ira Berkow takes a somewhat different approach as he reviews impressions of first visits to Yankee Stadium and favorite memories of it that are shared in "First Person" reminiscences by Bobby Murcer, Rich Gossage, the Rev. Billy Graham, Don Mattingly, Bill Clinton, Joseph P. Kennedy III, Lance Armstrong, Steve Richardson, Charlie Weis, Frank Gifford, Jim Brown, Don Shula, Sam Huff, Roger Clemens, Bob Sheppard, Alex Ridriguez, Bert Randolph Sugar (who also lists what he considers to be the ten most memorable fights), Angelo Dundee, and Ron Guidry.

No commentary such as this could possibly do full justice to the scope and depth of the text, nor to the quality and diversity of the photographs that are seamlessly integrated with the narrative. Perhaps the best way to express my appreciation of this book is to say that if it were only a text without photographs, I would rate it Five Stars and wish there were a higher rating available. And if it were only a collection of photographs with brief captions, I would have the same opinion when rating it. Thank you, Mark Vancil, Alfred Santasiere III, and your associates.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 3, 2008
I gave this book to my dad, who used to take me to games in the Bronx when I was a kid. Anyone who ever saw a game at the old Yankee Stadium should buy this book -- it will bring back a lot of great memories. I also recently bought another NYY book through Amazon and read it the last couple of days. If you want the history of the team and care about all the numbers that make the Bronx Bombers such an important part of baseball history, then I'd also recommend this title: New York Yankees: An Interactive Guide to the World of Sports (Sports by the Numbers)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse