Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop now Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 146 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 248 reviews
on January 7, 2010
As a marketing consultant and writer I read every persuasion book I can get my hands on. This is one of the most useful in the field that I've ever read.

I particularly appreciate the formatting. Each chapter begins with a scientific case study, followed by the relevant conclusions drawn from the study, then completed with ways the conclusions can be applied in a variety of circumstances. The effect on me was to spark tons of ideas for my clients.

The brief, yet concentrated chapters make for easy and engaging reading. I read the book the first time in one sitting, and not once did my attention wander. The formatting also means that you don't have to read the chapters sequentially -- you can open up to any chapter and get valuable, stand-alone content.

The most beneficial aspect of the book is the scientific research. Contrary to many other books in the field, you can feel comfortable with the empirical, rather than subjective, approach.

I've added this book to the core books on persuasion that I reference constantly.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2008
Goldstein, Martin, and Cialdini writes a simple, funny, and eye-opening book on pursuasion strategy. In fact, as the title suggests there are 50 different examples and strategies one can utilize to be more pursuasive in normal day-to-day interactions with other people.

The authors challenge the notion that persuasion as art. For them, it is science. One can hypothesize, test, and field it. In fact, the 50 ways (or examples) are real life experiences of how persuasive strategy has been implemented scientifically.

As the authors points out that the purpose of the book is to show the underlying psychological processes, therefore, enhancing one's persuasiveness by properly aligning one's efforts to influence other people.

For instance, the authors writes that if one would like to persuade others to do something, the first step is to ask a little thing to create a vested interest. Once, a person is vested, it is easier to convince them to do more later on. Another example is that the word, "because", is the most persuasive word in the English vocabulary that one ought to utilize the most when trying to convince others to help you.

The book is very easy to read and in fact, quite enjoyable. I recommend it to those who want to learn the Science of Persuasion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 15, 2008
Very similar information presented in a different format could be a book about evolutionary psychology or a book about etiquette. The fact is, it matters that we communicate with a sensitivity as to how we are likely to be perceived. This collection of little known scientific studies documents what the "people person" seems to know intuitively. That these nuances are received on a partially subconscious level makes them all the more powerful.

Cialdini divides social psychology into six divisions:

1) Social Proof Studies
2) Reciprocation Tendency
3) Authority Respecting
4) Commitment & Consistency Response
5) Scarcity Reaction, and
6) The Liking & Loving Response

As another reviewer has pointed out, the chapter titles are designed to create curiosity. If you need to get up early in the morning, resist reading the title to the next chapter.

An easy five stars for this extremely well-written and useful book.

DB
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
Some good ideas to help to focus your marketing and avoid simple pitfalls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
I have read Cialdini's book, Influence, multiple times over the years. This one is even better because it gives us many additional techniques in short bursts but still provides compelling examples and studies. I also greatly appreciate the perspective that it's important to use the with integrity!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
I love books like this that are full of case studies. Very interesting examples of tests they ran.
This book has given me a lot of ideas for things I can do in my business to improve sales and convert more leads into customers and first time customers into repeat buyers.
My favorite case studies involve the hotels and what they did to influence more people into participating in their save water program.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
I bought this book after reading Robert Cialdini’s bestseller, Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion, one of my all-time favorites. In that more comprehensive text, the author details many agents of influence that work upon us all in our everyday lives, often with most of us not even knowing it. Influence contains everything in Yes! and more, and I highly recommend reading the former first, considering the latter as a refresh later on.

Yes! highlights 50 techniques every person can use in order to persuade others. Systematically, each chapter starts with a question that deals with a specific component of persuasion, next a study is described that addresses the question and scientifically validates the answer(s), and finally a conclusion/strategy is developed based on the studies. Several examples are also given in each chapter as to how each strategy can be applied in real-life scenarios. Potential readers should be cautioned that the book is very business-oriented and frequently gives advice to managers and negotiators but Cialdini makes it very easy to visualize how the techniques may be executed by the layperson. In my opinion, the most insightful part of the book is not knowing what works but understanding why techniques work, and the psychology behind them.

Even though the book has 250 pages, it is a remarkably quick read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
This book has short precise and rich chapters. You will really enjoyed how the principles were clear and simple. You will liked how each principle was demonstrated with examples (where people have done it right as well as when it is done wrong). It is a hard hitting, good book and reflects how these types of books should be when money is time, and time is money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2009
This is a remarkable book. It describes the very new field of "social influence" clearly and concisely (to illustrate, when I got my first PHD in 1980, the field of "social influence" was not in existence yet). Social influence is a way to ethically get people to do what we want them to do. But this book is a thousand times better than the best selling books by authors such as Dave Lakhani, Ken Mc Arthur, William Ury, Kurt Mortensen, Robert Bly, Kevin Hogan, John Munkman,etc. Perhaps the reason is because the field of "social influence" is based on modern experimental psychology and its findings have been scientifically ratified and corroborated. This book is even better than its predecessor ie Robert Cialdini's Influence:Theory and Practice. The only book on negotiation and persuasion that is better than this book is Dale Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People? Digest this book, apply its principles and promotion and salary increase will surely be yours. Dr Jusuf Hariman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
There were definitely some good suggestions, and I will be be reading through the book again. Some things you need to re-read to understand, as the book is written by a Ph.D. in not-so-common language. Overall, a good read though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse