Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 135 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 175 reviews
on March 16, 2014
I already owned every song on this collection in several formats and mix variations, so why buy this. Well, first I'm a Beatles fanatic and after that you don't really need a second reason. But if pressed my reasons would be: 1. The packaging is great- the original reacalled "butcher" cover, the sticker of the replacement cover with that lovely font spelling out the title, the inner sleeve with the ads for a bunch of cheesy mostly forgotten other albums. 2. A great collection of songs from the bands highly productive mid career high point. 3. This album is by far the best of the cut and paste and come up with a "new" album strategy used by Capitol with the Beatles song output. (If you don't count the U.S. only 'Hey Jude' released much later, and more like a nice little career retrospective.
If you don't have the 2009 mono box set this is also a chance to hear these great tracks in the form the group really intended them to be heard. The notes on the back cover about stereo are amusing, as is the small print on the top right of the original cover, File Under: The Beatles (indeed!!!)
When the story of the butcher cover became well known in the seventies it was assumed by many that the band was commenting with that photo on Capitol's practice of chopping up their British album's to make more product. It seemed likely something our cheeky Beatles would do. This is in dispute however as band members have stated that the photo was just part of a session with a photographer in which many unusual and artsy types of photos were taken and that one was chosen without much deliberation from the band or their camp when yet another U.S. only release was due. Who knows for sure. We do know it is yet another of the many Beatle issues written and debated about over the years. Also, the replacement cover (the trunk photo) is one of the key artifacts in the 'Paul is dead' myth. Lots of juicy stuff for the fanatic, a bunch of great songs for fanatic and casual fan alike.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
of course this is a great cd with great songs...the problem here is that they didn't use all the true stereo and mono capitol mixes that were found on various versions of the USA Lp....it's all true stereo and mono...but just from the uk mainly...you wont hear John Lennon saying "ok herb" at the end of the mono Dr Robert on this cd ...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
Purchased this album on an Apple re-release not too long ago. Decided to buy it on CD. The CD has a plastic sleeve inside along with a remake of the original LP inner sleeve. Inside the package one can remove the Trunk album cover and allow the original Butcher Cover on it. I am well pleased with this CD package. Adding this to my Capitol Albums packages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2017
It really does sound like the American album that I listened to in the 60's. The mono tracks come first and then the stereo . Revolver was the first Beatles album recorded in stereo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 2, 2014
Every Beatles album produced a collection of the most exciting songs and the Capitol Record's version in New Improved Full Dimensional Stereo was no exception to the original monophonic British Parlophone releases. For listeners that first encountered the Capitol releases, it made no difference either way because the band's sound was all that mattered. It would only be through time that the actual difference between the Capitol versus Parlophone recordings appeared different as well as when the Beatles' collection became digitized and re-mastered. And also, if fans have listened to all formats of albums such as The Beatles Yesterday and Today the sound does indeed make a difference.

Serious listeners of all of the Beatles records can easily identify most of the differences and if alternate takes were placed within the Capitol collection of albums or if the sound quality was enhanced. One may say, the songs on Yesterday and Today are a hybrid of songs that originated from the British releases, albums, extended players (EP), or singles. Yesterday and Today is a pure example of the hybrid of songs that made this album that originally appeared on the 1965 albums Help! and Rubber Soul. Interesting, the stereo versions of the songs on this album, to hear them in CD format versus vinyl with the headphones on, the quality is an experience despite the somewhat muffled moments. Indeed, the "yesterday" in the title can be heard in the country-western Buck Owen - Carl Perkins feel of "Act Naturally," "What Goes On," while the "today" render of folk and R&B sounds, "Drive My Car," "We Can Work it Out," "Day Tripper," and the iconic "Yesterday" clearly show that the band's sound has progressed. Distinctly, the production and instrumentation on songs such as "We Can Work it Out" stands out and loudly, this version sounds somewhat slower but the accordion, tambourine, tapping of the snare drum, and acoustic guitar are in harmony as well as John and Paul's vocals in the chorus; quite a delight to hear.

The album shows much has changed for the band since their humble beginnings as a cover band that honed their skills night after night in the early 1960s and appeared to reach their pinnacle of success by 1964. However, that was not the case, 1965 showed no sign of stopping the Beatles from producing the most unique musical compositions in rock and roll history, from here they will produce their most notable albums from 1966-1967 and after. For this re-packaged version of the CD, fans have a treat of owning a re-production of the original album artwork of the infamous Butcher cover and the inner sleeve. And if the cover was enough, no doubt the sounds on Yesterday and Today were the beginning of another journey that took the band in an innovative direction.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2016
Of course I love The Beatles and this sounds pretty good. I like the non-standard packaging because it looks like the original vinyl album cover. It does not, however, fit in my CD tower or the storage boxes I got to organize them and keep the dust out. Will someone design a container to fit these non-standard CDs?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2017
Great CD its the Beatles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
In spite of Capitol's propensity to juggle the Beatles songs into unusual configurations This One actually works well. The subtle tones of Rubber Soul issued in the U.S.A. six months earlier is balanced by the harder edged numbers of this album. I always was puzzled why "I'm Down" was not included in the original collection since it was the flip side of "Help" and would have naturally fit. Yet this collection is how Americans heard the tunes when issued in 1966. Certainly ahead of the rest of the musicians of yesterday and today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
I'm a big Beatles fan, and a collector.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
I wondered why the Beatles would put such a gawky and creepy picture on the cover which was replaced by the one you see here . This album was not released in the UK . The songs came form two UK albums that were not available here in the US back then , at least where I lived . Capitol Records would leave out and butcher any album they wanted too from the UK and then sell it over here with a different label with usually 3 less songs than on the original UK version . By doing this the created at least 3 more albums for US fans to buy than sold in the UK . I guess that is the reason came up with the Butcher cover . Now you know the rest of the story , good day .
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse