Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Yevgeny Sudbin Super Audio CD - DSD

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Super Audio CD - DSD, October 25, 2011
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Editorial Reviews

'Chopin's music presents us with a strange paradox' writes Yevgeny Sudbin in his liner notes to this recording. In Sudbin's own experience, the music's direct emotional appeal makes it instantly accessible to most listeners, but to the interpreter `it becomes a tough balancing act: on the one side, na‹vety and blandness threaten, while, on the other side, a labored and contrived approach could potentially damage the music'. Sudbin's own approach has been influenced by Chopin's own words regarding interpretation: 'Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties.' But, as he recounts, he is also fascinated by historic recordings by legends which have made an impact on him on account of the highly personal playing: 'the beguiling rhythmic swings, freedom in phrasing, articulation that tickles you all over.'

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Fantasy for piano in F minor/A flat major, Op. 49, C. 42
  2. Nocturne for piano No. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 27/1, CT. 114
  3. Nocturne for piano No. 13 in C minor, Op. 48/1, CT. 120
  4. Mazurka for piano No. 7 in F minor, Op. 7/3, CT. 58
  5. Mazurka for piano No. 23 in D major, Op. 33/2, CT. 73
  6. Mazurka for piano No. 25 in B minor, Op. 33/4, CT. 75
  7. Ballade for piano No. 3 in A flat major, Op. 47, CT. 4
  8. Mazurka for piano No. 17 in B flat minor, Op. 24/4, CT. 67
  9. Mazurka for piano No. 32 in C sharp minor, Op. 50/3, CT. 82
  10. Nocturne for piano No. 16 in E flat major, Op. 55/2, CT. 123
  11. Ballade for piano No. 4 in F minor, Op. 52, CT. 5
  12. À la minute (after Chopin's Waltz in D flat major, Op. 64/1), for piano

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 25, 2011)
  • Please Note: Requires SACD-compatible hardware
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Super Audio CD - DSD
  • Label: Bis
  • ASIN: B005RYGS9G
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #457,827 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By I. Martinez-Ybor VINE VOICE on October 31, 2011
Verified Purchase
One has to bow in great respect and gratitude to an artist who gives us such a deep and profound gift of his art as this recital is. In the lucid and very intelligent notes Yevgeny Sudbin wrote for its release he explores his search for that elusive "perfect" interpretation of Chopin. Simultaneously he held a mirror and a challenge to ourselves as to how as an audience we react to a composer so familiar for so long, perhaps unlike any other. The simplicity of a child? After all one has lived? Yet it is amazing that hearing Yevgeny Sudbin play Chopin, I am still moved, many decades since I first heard my first Chopin (who remembers what or when!), since I played this or that Chopin piece. All the crust and bark that life may have added peels away at the marvel of this music. Yes, this is so because Mr. Sudbin reveals Chopin to us as he feels it, and the power of his art is to open the music as if new to us, and to show us all the complexity, richness, indeed strength in Chopin's very brave compositions.

The simplicity of a child no longer exists for Mr. Sudbin either. The key to Chopin interpretation lies not there for him as it does not for us as audience. He has explored pianists of the past, particularly Ignaz Friedman and Benno Moiseiwitsch among others. But not only has Mr. Sudbin matured, the time that produced such great masters and the zeitgeist in which they flourished is now gone, though Friedman's legendary recordings of the nocturnes and mazurkas remain "must-be-heards" for any serious lover of the piano. It probably doesn't matter if there is or not a "perfect" interpretation. What is important, as Mr. Sudbin so wisely concludes, is the search.
Read more ›
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Chopin has to be the most recorded piano composer of all time. Literally every single pianist with a recording contract needs to have a go at making at least one Chopin recital. Therefore, given the number of great pianists and their recorded Chopin recitals, it is anything but easy for our generation's young pianists to contribute something individual that actually stands out.

I already knew that Yevgeny Sudbin is amongst the most gifted pianists of the younger generation, having previously recorded some absolutely marvellous Scarlatti and Rachmaninov recitals, together with the greatest Scriabin disc since Horowitz. It is extremely refreshing and comforting to see that he also manages to master his greatest challenge so far and yet deliver as accomplished as individual Chopin playing.

This recital itself is extremely well-composed: two of Chopin's supreme masterpieces, the Fantaisie and the Fourth Ballade, open and close the programme; the two most elegiacally beautiful Nocturnes, in C-sharp and C minor, precede a selection of great 'concert' Mazurkas, interspliced with the Third Ballade and the late E-flat-major Nocturne. As an encore, we get Sudbin's own paraphrase on the 'Minute' Waltz à la Godowsky.

Ohlsson is more convincing on structure and depth in the Fantaisie; he is also more searching in the Nocturnes. Apart from that, I am unable to find any other pianist who has bettered Sudbin in his chosen works.
Read more ›
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category