Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ying zhong pin yin sheng jing / English-Chinese Pin Yin Bible
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 2, 2014
I am an Anglo pastor recently assigned to a Chinese congregation. I only know some of the most fundamental rudiments of the Mandarin language and I have no ability to read Chinese characters. This Bible has been a Godsend for me! Having the pin yin available in the text has improved my retention and frees me from being tied to the internet.

My aging eyes could wish for larger print but that provided compares with many Bible editions. The binding is of good quality and the text is legible when i have my bifocals in place.

This is definitely a specialty item but for those with the need, it does the job. I want the trustees of my congregation to consider ordering more of these to present to youth making their first profession of faith.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
This is an excellent Bible for those who want to learn Christian Chinese and the Bible. Using it, and a program like Pleco or Wenlin, it is easy to learn new words and get the feel for the way Chinese Christians will speak. Because it uses the Chinese Union Bible (和合本), it does open a window for the later study of classical Chinese, which some may or may not like. I found that aspect useful. Also I discovered that in mainland China, the Christian community seems to almost exclusively use the Union Bible. I also like the KJV. One thing a person will notice when the use Chinese Bibles of any version, and the NIV, is there are a LOT of places where things are different. There are many fewer differences between the KJV and the Union Bible, which makes the KJV translation shine when trying to work with Chinese English-learning Christians.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
I have been studying Mandarin for four months in China and have found this Bible to be a fabulous resource. Not only is the Pinyin and Hanyu clearly aligned, but also there are many other helpful features. For example, the abbreviations of the names of the books of the Bible allowed me to look up the passages easily in a situation where only Mandarin was spoken and written. I also love the Lord's Prayer, the Apostle's Creed and the Ten Commandments, which are written in the end papers, making them easily accessible.

The binding and paper are wonderful quality, as well. I am completely pleased with this beautiful and useful book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
I rated the Bible at 5 stars because the content is fantastic. It has a wonderful leather finish and feels very nice.

Pros:

Content! The Pinyin is Sooooo helpful for learning Chinese, The word correlation is phenomenal.
The cover, tabs, and pages are all well put together.

Cons:

Some small manufacturing defects. One or two of the pages has ripples that can't be removed because of the way they are connected to the binding.

The English in some places isn't perfect: the front and back cover have some minor issues- Guess that means it's legit!

It's made in korea. Which is just weird =]

The price is very steep. But worth it, at least in my case.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
Really a great quality of printing and binding. This is King James in English as well and Simplified Chinese Characters and Pinyin. There is a video on youtube that you can look at just search (Chinese English Pinyin Bible). This bible is printed in Korea. I have looked for a bible like this for a long time, and this is the only one on the market that I have been able to find. This bible seems be only available from one online distributor in the US. You can find them by doing a search. And the going price is about $75 for a new copy of this bible. You should not pay too much for a bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2009
This is an unique English - Chinese Pin Yin Bible!!!
Very easy to use, understandable, good translations, very good presentatation, and moreover, it contains the Lord's Prayer and the Ten Commandments in English-Chinese Pin Yin too! Isn't it great?! See it for yourself and then you'll see.
Nice job from the authors.
Juan Carlos Parada L. (Translator.)English - Chinese - Pin Yin Bible / The Old Testament & New Testament / Chinese (Simplified Chinese characters - Union Version with New Punctuation) Bible with Hanyu Pinyin (romanisation of Mandarin Chinese) / Thumb Index / Chines learners / KJV
44 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
If you are learning Chinese, and read the Bible, this is a must have. With the Pinyin translation above the standard Chinese characters, this Bible makes it sooo much easier to look up Chinese characters in the dictionary or to translate Bible verses. This Bible is worth every penny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2011
This Bible is excellent. I was looking for a Chinese Bible which also had the pinyin. I am not fluent and am still learning the characters so it was a perfect choice. The English translation is KJV which is a little bit hard to understand but overall it is a very unique parallel Bible.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
If u want to study chinese, this would b great book from jesus. I highly recommend you this book for studying chinese.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
binding and printing are of first quality. excellent reference with characters, pinyin and english translations all on the same page. I am particularly pleased with the characters - big enough, and clear enough, that one doesn't need a microscope to read them. Very nice for study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse