Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 146 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 201 reviews
on July 25, 2012
This book was a pleasure to read. It's far from the other "Nothing New" books that you read or hear about.

I do believe Jermaine may have been exorcising some demons and maybe making amends for some past deeds but he does a fine fine job here. I don't believe he's making amends for the "Who's the Badd" (or whatever) fiasco, as some reviewers have claimed. Sure it may have been a dig at his baby bro, but I consider myself a HUGE Jackson fan and I'd never even heard of that song. I find it hard to believe that it would cause a major rift between these brothers.

The book did lay to rest the claims that Michael and his family were always estranged. Busy, for sure and never wanting to deal with confrontation, but never the jealous and back-biting sibling rivalries that the media liked to portray.

It was a heart-warming account of Michael's relationship to his family, friends and even his ex-wife, Lisa Marie Presley. And it goes into the criminal trials and how Jermaine goes into fierce, protective, big-brother mode. A very gripping and touching story. I loved it.

Please be aware that even though you know how the book ends, Jermaine's account of Michael's final days will rip your heart right out of your chest and leave you weeping for this family and their fallen star.

"He left behind so many great deeds, far bigger than the superstar he was, and he did what every one of us should do: he lived his truth, undeterred by what anyone said and, forever kind, trusted God. I heard Mother's voice from our childhood asking, "Is Michael okay?" Yes, Mother. Michael is okay now. He's more okay now than he's ever been."

Thanks, Erms. Rest well, Michael.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
a great book jermaine wrote. It really opened your eyes about the truth about Michael Jackson that he was a good and generous person. The media govt or whoever wanted to drag him down to a child molester which he never was. His death leaves many questions un answered and strange how it happened. He gave so much to the world, to the poor children, aids etc. A must read !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
Thank You, Jermaine Jackson for setting the record straight!!!! So many misunderstood Michael, lies were spread
about him in the media. The book is an emotional read, you will definately have many kleenex moments. I read the book,
cried, began reading it again while shedding tears.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2011
I'm sure that this is just a "difference of opinions" sort of thing, but Michael and all of his siblings OTHER THAN Jermaine recall Joseph being abusive and a bit tyrannical. In this book, Jermaine describes him in almost a hero-worship sort of way, pausing only to say, "well, I guess he spanked us a little, but nothing major." That is the only part of the book that drove me crazy. Because of that one aspect, it makes me wonder how much of this book is actually true. Don't get me wrong, it's interesting and if it IS true, it makes Michael a bit more graspable; however, I just wonder how much is PR bull and how much is real. Definitely recommend it for MJ fans!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
This book has a warm, affectionate tone to it. I liked the first part more. the second part where he describes MJ's troubles, seems kind of distant. Also he tries to make it sound like having an anaethesiologist puttling you to sleep everyday is just a sensible thing to do. All the doctors were wrong to let MJ do that and they ALL belong in jail for not protecting a patient from himself. Especially the doctor who gave MJ the idea in the first place.

There were parts of the book where he described MJ at his most vulnerable and it was very touching. At last, someone has put a human spin on how MJ suffered so deeply and how he rose above the extreme challenges in his life without complaint.

Jermaine makes his father seem "misunderstood" for being strict with his family. Which is odd, considering MJ and some of the other siblings have come out and plainly described highly abusive and brutal treatment from Joe Jackson.

Of course there is lots of self promotion in the book -- Jermaine wants you to know that he is a big star too and that he had a professional life after J5-- it gets annoying, but he does it nicely.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
Not a lot of new or revealing information on Michael Jackson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
By page 300 or so, it was clear to this reader that Jermaine had lost access to his brother Michael, and was quite peripheral to Michael's private life. Indeed, the book reveals that the brothers mostly lost touch after the Victory tour. As such, this book has documentary value with regards to Michael's early life, but is neither authoritative enough nor accurate enough as far as MJ's later life is concerned.

The earlier part of the book goes into the brothers' childhood, but is really as much about Jermaine as it is about Michael. If we do see Michael through Jermaine's eyes, it is mostly as this little kid brother who trailed in his shadow and who was part of the family gang, whom he felt protective towards. Even at this close-knit stage, it appears that Jermaine did not have access to the innermost, imaginative world of Michael Jackson. Occasionally, we do get a rare glimpse into MJ's imaginative world, and we get to briefly see the brilliance and magic that is Michael Jackson revealed like shooting stars arching across the larger expanse of shared family life. But we have to sift through quite a lot of narrative before we find these precious anecdotes. Using them, we can only imagine what it was like for the unique, sensitive, imaginative, prodigious, magical and talented boy that was Michael Jackson, growing up with a harsh father and 8 siblings in a shabby, cramped shoebox of a house in Gary.

What Jermaine is at pains to do in this book is to situate Michael within the history of the Jackson family and later, Motown. He goes to great length to establish their father Joeseph's influence on Michael as a creative artist and a person. He also does this with Gordy Berry (who happens to be Jermaine's father-in-law) and with other figures like their private tutor Rose Fine. Though it is very true that all these people helped shape Michael Jackson, Jermaine's repeated emphasis makes it almost sound like Michael's success is solely the product of these other people. Too little credit is given to Michael's own genius and vision as an artist and a person, this, the boy who at age 13 was already insisting on getting creative control over his own music!! I wonder if such a view, that Michael owes all his talent and success to these other people who were there in his childhood, is a major reason why Michael Jackson distanced himself when he came of age. It must have been very frustrating, and if we read Michael's own autobiography, we see that he often expresses this frustration.

Jermaine himself quotes often from MJ's own autobiography, which makes his book rather repetitive. At significant moments, his interpretation of MJ and events differs from MJ's own interpretation of things. This happens with regards to the splitting of the 4 brothers from Motown, the Motown 25 show, and the Victory Tour. Jermaine contends that MJ was tricked into leaving Motown and that he wasn't reluctant to do Motown 25 and Victory. If we read MJ's own account however, Michael expressed his clear artistic frustration under Motown at this crucial period of his life when he was creatively coming into his own, and also stated clearly that he didn't really want to do those shows with his brothers at first. Such clashes in opinion (and action) continued to crop up after the Victory era, and point to an underlying tension between Jermaine and his brother, one that makes us wonder about Jermaine's claim to represent Michael, in life and in death.

As Jermaine's own narrative reveals, Michael always had an intensely private and unknowable side even from the youngest age. He kept his creative ideas inside his head, where he worked them out without letting on what he was about, and then he would unleash his full artistry on stage. Even as he choreographed and coached his brothers, he would perfect his dance steps practicing alone. Such was the case for the Motown 25 performance of Billie Jean, for example. Even in this close-knit family, Michael Jackson kept his innermost core of creativity apart. Though they shared his life and early triumphs, his was an imaginative world that the others could never fully access. It is this inner creative core of Michael Jackson, the source of his genius, magic and ambition, that we crave to catch a closer glimpse of. However, the inner magical core of MJ continually eludes Jermaine, who merely tries (a little too hard) to tie it down to their shared roots.

Jermaine tries hard to emphasize his care and concern about his brother, although he does so in an appropriating way. But his brother Michael appears quite secondary to Jermaine himself, who can be frequently found blowing his own trumpet throughout the book, dropping hints about his contacts and importance, and giving us details about his own romantic conquests and career, all of which are not of much interest to this reader. I didn't really want to read about Jermaine. What I wanted to know more about is the Michael Jackson who burst with such sheer brilliance and determination like a lone supernova onto the world stage. To be fair, Jermaine's portrayal does give us some important glimpses into the time before the mighty explosion, but starts to lose insight at the moment of explosion. Eventually, Jermaine lost access to his brother so much so that his account of MJ's latter years is not very informative.

Jermaine would have us believe that his family stood behind Michael all the time and that his death could have been prevented if they were still close to him. Though there might be some elements of truth in this assertion, I think that he fails to be honest about the reasons why MJ distanced himself from his family. The fact is that he and La Toya at various times betrayed Michael publicly, and that other members continually exerted their own selfish pressures and demands on MJ. Recall that Jermaine not only recorded the hurtful song "Word to the Badd", he also wrote an extremely vitriolic and defamatory book about Michael called "Legacy" in 2005, which was never published as Michael threatened (quite rightly) to throw him out of Havenhurst if he dared go ahead. In fact, I cannot help but think that Michael would have been alive if not for family members like Jermaine. Afterall, Jermaine was the one who suggested Michael go to Bahrain, where he became embroiled in business relationships which resulted in even more lawsuits. Jermaine was also responsible for introducing Tohme Tohme to Michael, a very dangerous person involved in fraud who came to control Michael's finances and who signed him up for the AEG concerts, and whom Michael tried to get rid of in his last days. If we all look at all these facts, we can see that Jermaine is, contrary to what he claims in his book, a rather unhelpful and quite harmful character in Michael's life. Today, Jermaine is one of the Jacksons who are challenging Michael's will and trying to get control of Michael's estate. This is a man who tried to get Michael's Estate to pay for his child support. Honestly, I think Jermaine's purported "love" for his "little brother" is a bunch of baloney.

Jermaine's dishonesty and hypocrisy aside, this book is somewhat useful for its documentary value on Michael's early life. In this capacity, it does supplement Michael's own autobiography "Moonwalker" with greater detail. Above and besides this however, the real worth of this book might well lie in what it fails to tell us, and what that failure suggests about Michael's great but ultimately lonely fate - that even his family failed to understand him or acknowledge his singularly unique status, how his talent drove him even as it set him apart, and the glory and the pain that he had to endure as Michael Jackson, the greatest star of them all.
44 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2011
This book gives a good birdseye view of Michael Jackson's upbringing from when Jermaine can remember him tottering around the house when he was learning to walk, throwing his bottle at his father's head when 18 months old, to their days on the road with J5. Only a family member could know these things and it gives a more humanized impression of him as a person instead of the contrived rubbish of the press. How did he put up with it? The book is easy to read and one that is difficult to put down once you start reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
I liked hearing Jermaine's reasoning and revealing of very human emotions. He made mistakes, but he's willing to admit it and place it before everyone because of the love he appears to have for Michael. It is a very good book for Michael Jackson fans to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Jermaine pens a gritty and revealing look at his famous brother, but it's obviously tempered with love affection and truths only a brother knows. Jermaine doesn't pull any punches, and reveals a lot about Michael's struggles and frustrations, his court room and personal battles, his desires and hopes, and eternal search for love and affection, but unlike the media, he doesn't color it with opinion and innuendo. In the end, you tend to feel that, although Michael didn't often believe it, he really wasn't alone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse