BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 7, 2017
This was recommended by a friend, who knows that I have an idea for a new startup which I am pursuing. I'm very grateful that she recommended it, because it has really given me a very clear idea of how to best test my business concept before going too deep into it and wasting time and money. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone with their own plans to start a business, or people with a managerial or marketing job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
This is a very disappointing book. There is not a single chart, graph, or table in the entire thing. There are no meaningful sample surveys. And there are no calculations presented to clearly answer the question "If you build it, will they come?".

The author states that using his method will produce an initial product that is more akin to a second or third generation product. I wonder, did he use his own method when producing his book? Because it reads like a first generation product, and a hurried one at that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2012
This book by Dr. Rob Adams will provide you the insight you need to build stuff that customers will actually pay hard earned money for.

In this important book, Rob Adams discusses market validation or the process in which entrepreneurs and intrapreneurs validate the quintessential product idea before pushing forward and releasing it to the market. The risk of not following Rob's advice is to build and ship products that MAKE NO MONEY. Often the excitement of building something cool can give way to the cold, harsh reality that no one wants it! Market validation is about finding out this important fact before spending and investing enormous amounts of energy and resources on building an unwanted product.

The market validation process is broken down into an easy-to-remember 3 step process - Ready, Aim, and Fire. The Ready stage asks the potential product producer to complete a back-of-the-envelope validation to prove that a market exists and is ripe for your product. The Aim stage asks the entrepreneur to dig a little deeper and interview potential customers to determine if they have a real pain or need for your product. Lastly, the Fire stage takes what you learned in both of the two prior stages and uses it to quickly build a minimum feature product that will satisfy the needs of your target market segment.

I am a new entrepreneur and learning the ropes. I feel this book will be a good starting point for anyone with an idea and the desire to learn. I feel so confident that I am taking Rob Adams advice to heart and implementing it in my own entrepreneurial efforts. Followers of the Lean Startup (i.e. Running Lean by Ash Maurya, The Lean Startup by Eric Ries) will see similarities between Rob's approach and the approach advocated by Lean Startup.

I definitely recommend this book for any entrepreneur or intrapreneur looking to get his or her idea off the ground and into the hands of real customers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
This book is absolutely phenomenal at touching on the necessities that any new business needs to take into account when launching a new product or service. The author touches on the processes needed to thoroughly and uniquely understand your market (which is essential when developing your competitive advantage). The only drawback that some readers may find with this book is the lack of detail in some areas. HOWEVER, this book is not meant to be a textbook with a specific focus in one area of business study.
On a side note, this book perfectly compliments his earlier book "A Good Hard Kick in the Ass" which i have not reviewed for amazon because I read that book a while back.
5 Stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
Great book! If you're looking to start a business this book gives you an understanding of what should be done first. This is NOT the nuts and bolts of starting a business, but, instead, the information (and steps you should take) that will help you determine if your business will be successful. Sometimes people get sucked into their ideas and think they can never fail, this book tells you how to test your beliefs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2010
Adams is a great writer and the subject is well organized. The book emphasizes the simple truth that the only way to find out what customers "may" buy is by digging down into the pain they are experiencing and working with them to deliver a product that addresses that pain in a timely fashion.

The focus on keeping perspective (not deluding yourself) and on failing early are appreciated. There is always a tension between persistence and knowing when a project/product is going no-where.

While we could all use an "easy" solution, the message is clear. It will take many hours of seeking out people with needs, soliciting feedback, and building an on-going partnership with them; and this through-out and after the initial development cycle. Adams is blunt about the number of contacts required per nugget of truth. This is work!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2016
This is a great read for anyone fixing market pain by bringing a new product to market. I had the luxury of speaking with several companies that were students of Rob's that used this approach with great success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
This is a very simple book that presents a simple method for improving your chances of success. It taught me how to listen to my market more than my gut feeling, and it taught me that perfect R&D isn't good enough - you still need a marketing plan. I give this book as a gift to lots of my clients looking to start their own ventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2016
Interesting book that I am reading in parallel to The Startup Owner's Manual. The idea is the same but the framework is different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
Dr. Adams has done a great job in laying out a step by step process for launching a new product that helps eliminate the irrational decision making chain that so many businees people fall into when taking a product to market that they are so heavily emotionally and financially invested in. Sorry to say, our company had been a long time practitioner of the "ready, fire, fire, aim" methodology, but fortunately was able to apply a number of the steps in this book to the recent acquistion of a competitor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse