Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 81 reviews(5 star, Verified Purchases). See all 189 reviews
on November 18, 2016
Great book, would recommend to anyone interested in different ways to profit from the markets. Greenblatt provides many excellent case studies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
I wouldn't necessarily say to read this as your first investment book, as my slight knowledge and experience in investing helped me get much more out of reading it, but it wouldn't be the worst choice if you're an absolute novice. I think that the year of getting my feet wet, having read a few books prior to this one, was a good idea.

It was an incredibly insightful book, with humor inserted here and there, keeping it from being an extremely boring read like something written by Benjamin Graham. There are many useful ideas that I was able to take away to further enhance my rapidly evolving investment strategy. I would highly recommend reading this book, no matter what your level of experience is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
Excellent book. Mr. Greenblatt masterfully explains his frameworks for spotting and assessing investing opportunities, both at the micro and macro level. Few stock market books pull back the curtain in such a succinct and lucid way. I highly recommend this book, although I know I am late to the party.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2010
The title may dismay you if you're a knowledgeable investor, but don't let it prevent you from reading this book. It has some brilliant points that can be broken down into several themes. Special situations such as spin-offs are a great way to profit in the markets. Understand the financial incentives of those spinning off and those spun off. Look for situations where incumbent investors are forced to sell due to silly rules like a security's departure from an index. The examples are old, but the themes still hold true today. Many of these themes are those used by hedge funds. The only problem in today's markets may be that so many hedge funds now understand the market dynamics described here that the opportunities may have been whittled away. In the book, the author cites the example of merger arbitrage, which used to be hugely profitable, but which at the time of writing did not provide adequate compensation for the risks. Such *may* be the case for many of the strategies in the book today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Best investment book I've come across.

Classic value investing books like Intelligent Investor tells you *what* value investing is (i.e. buying businesses at a big discount to intrinsic value). Joel Greenblatt book tells you *why* these situations exist (index inclusion/exclusion, spin-offs, restructurings etc.) and *how* to identify these situations and recognize the catalysts that will bring a stock's price back closer to intrinsic value.

The main criticism I see in the reviews are:
1) The writing it too advanced, the situations are complicated and it takes too much work to profit from these situations.
2) There is no standardized formula for the novice investor to follow

My responses would be:
1) If it was easy, everybody would be a billionaire. It definitely requires a lot of work, identifying situations and reading lots of regulatory filings to figure out the nuances of certain transactions/situations. That is also why decades after this book was published, people can still find these situations to generate abnormal returns - precisely because many investors may not be willing to be in the time, effort and work into it.
2) Joel Greenblatt has since written the magic formula books for novice investors to follow. That "works" to a certain extent to give you better than average results but not the potential for phenomenal return situations identified in this book. Again it is an effort/reward thing.

Seriously, you can't expect to read one book, put in no effort, and make boatloads of money from the stock market. This book gives you many of the tools you need, IF you're willing to put in the blood, sweat and tears into your investing endeavour.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
Unlike many other investment books, this book is written in plain English that everybody can understand. Anybody can then apply the knowledge and steps presented in this book. I would say this is one of the best books I have read so far. So I highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2017
Another extremely well done book by JG. very easy to follow for the novice or the expert. Recommended for the person who is willing to roll up his or her sleeves and do a little work. Lots of "Noise" filtered out by this book.
FLM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Joel is a legend and doesn't get the credit he deserves. Great book and really actionable ideas. I've read it 3 times now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
Great book, one of my favorites for how simply its written but how effective it's ideas are. I find a lot of market books are a waste of time by being rehashed material. This one is different if you haven't read about special situations which is a great place to look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2011
Awful title. Great book. This is not for beginners. While this is an easy read, the application of the various strategies requires solid knowledge of finance, accounting and capital markets.

The case studies, which are easily readable (even entertaining), are part of what makes this book fantastic. Greenblatt examines special situations in which he has participated and breaks down the various considerations, risks and rewards.

Anyone looking to do a lot of homework for the prospects of outsized returns should pick up a copy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse