Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 372 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 418 reviews
on May 7, 2017
As usual Colin is great with his words. A lot of one liners in here worth quoting. Even though this book is 4 years old and a lot of what he talked about pertained to back then his points are all still very relevant no matter what year you pick up this book. Fun easy read. If your a fan of Colin. Give it a read. You Herd it here first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
I have been listening to Colin Cowherd since late 2008. Although there are many haters out there, he is truly one of the most brilliant minds on radio. He is completely honest and usually on point. Every once in awhile he will make a wrong prediction, who doesn't, but he will own up to it. When I first started my Internet "business" I created a website called the Church of Cowherd in which I documented his "Blazin' 5" college football picks and the other predictions he made. Unfortunately, life called, Wojdylo Social Media was formed and there was no way I was going to be able to keep up with listening to Uncle Colin for hours at a time.

That said, having a large amount of experience consuming Colin, I thought this book was great. If you have listened to Colin over the years you will likely know most of the "stories" in this book. In essence, Colin picks out about 12 or 13 "theories" that he thinks are truths and he expands on them. If you like his radio show on ESPN you will absolutely love this book. I don't read books very quickly but I finished this one in a single weekend. If you are a fan of the Herd on ESPN get this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
If you are regular listener you will recognize a lot of what is in this book. I am only about halfway through it and it is nice to be able to re-live many of his on-air rants and observations in book form with more detail. I appreciate Cowherd's insight into sports and his philosophies on life in general. I listen to his morning show on ESPN frequently and find myself adamantly agreeing to 90% of what he has to say, only disagreeing on about 5% and having no opinion on the other 5%. I like that he sticks his neck out and says what he thinks, but then is not above reevaluating those thoughts and opinions based on new information. I've never understood the whole "flip-flopper" tag placed on people who are willing to change their stance on something as they learn more and more about an issue. He gets a little "cutesy" at time on the radio show, and he has to be a complete egomaniac, but I think that is what makes the radio show (and the book) winners in my eyes.

If you like Cowherd you will probably like the book, if you don't it will just validate why you don't like him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2014
"You Herd Me!: I'll Say It If Nobody Else Will is an expanded version of Cowherd's immensely popular national radio talk show. The book gives him the time allotment to further examine and support his positions than the time allotted on a radio show, and he does so with his usual unique rationale and contrarian positions. As always, Cowherd makes a good case for whatever position he is supporting, and often that position goes against popular opinion. This is the same stuff (and strategy) that makes his radio show so much fun to listen to. Colin is articulate and intelligent, and he asks many poignant questions that are doomed to go unanswered. Among the best chapters in my opinion was the one on Michael Jordan vs. Lebron James…why is the former so loved and the latter so, shall we say, unloved? Cowherd makes many points as to why this should not be the case, but knows he will win few converts to his way of thinking. A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
This is as organized as his thoughts can be...and it's a great read. Insightful and honest, Colin doesn't provide answers but a foundation for curious and analytical thought. Diving deeper into sports ideals and processes with the hope, and almost wonder, that we might evolve as fans and consumers of what we love. He is a bit all over the place but that is who he is. The thoughts are clear though. He put in the work and respected not only the process but he always has the readers interest in mind. He doesn't want to bore you or waste your time. He appreciated that you are busy, and because of that he wants to get to the point quickly and succinctly. Well done Colin. Been a listener since day one on espn. Best of luck wherever it may take you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
Colin talked about how the Olympics need the x games more than the x games need the Olympics. He also went on his famous "No Alcohol at Football Games" rant including Randy the booger eater! Colin described how the Hall of Fame voters should be experienced players (Archie Manning) not media guys. Different sports have different strategies when it comes to drafting. In one of his latest shows about how Michael Sams announcing that he's gay will most likely help him get to a better team instead of a team like the Bucs in the first round. "There's chaff and there's wheat, figure out the difference and move on." Over all this is a very powerful book and Colin is a very good host.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
If you like listening to Colin Cowherd, you will like this book. However, if you are regular listener of his show like me, then he doesn't really say anything you haven't heard from him on his show.

But its cheap enough that its easy enough to recommend. I do like his chapter on Peyton Manning and why he is much less good against bad teams.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
Colin has an incredible philosophical view on sports. While tying in great analogies and references, Colin is able to get his mostly controversial opinions conveyed in a very coherent way. Colin also has such strong stances of subjects , that the reader will find themselves either completely agreeing or completely disagreeing with him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
Insightful and thoughtful. Colin calls it how it is without any semblance of a condescending tone. Loved the book. And if you're constantly on the go, just download the audio file... He narrates it himself, so it sounds like you're listening to his radioshow. He's the best. Can't wait for his next book. If you're a sports fan who appreciates good social commentary and thought-provoking insider viewpoints, then definitely check this book out. I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse