Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 80 reviews
You, Inc. is really a great book. There is both good news and bad news about the book. It is extremely easy to read. You simply fly through the book. Which is good and bad. The lessons are so short and there are so many of them, it makes it difficult to absorb and remember all the great information.

But it is a book that you can pick up anytime and start reading anywhere in the book and find something valuable. All the lessons stand on their own. Harry presents over 150 ideas and lessons about how to make your business and/or yourself better.

If you are familiar with his other best selling works, "Selling the Invisible" and "What Client's Love", you will feel very comfortable with this book. (If you have not read these two book, I highly recommend them.)As you read the book, you will find yourself saying, "I know that." But as Harry instructs there is a huge difference between knowing and doing. And all too often, we think because we know, we do. As Beckwith points out, that is simply not the case.

Christine Beckwith, Harry's wife, contributes to the book. Her writing is a lot more personal and touching.

Harry gives a lot of insight into why we do the things we do. The book is filled with very valuable information and should be read ever so often as a refresher or reminder to do the things we know.

Well worth reading ... two or three times per year.
22 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
This book is horrible! I wish there were more bad reviews so I knew not to waste my time! It's the most disorganized book I've ever read and even if it were better organized, it only peripherally touches on self-promotion. Do not buy!!! Don't even read it for free.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
It's an okay book, but it's basically a rehash of Beckwith's prior books plus a touch of "What Color is Your Parachute." If you don't already have any of these on your shelf, this book is a worthwhile buy,

Personally, I still recommend to my students "What Color is Your Parachute."

Alan Chapman
Adjunct Professor, Business
Quinsigamond Community College
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
I read this book a few times it's a great self help book all through if you go help it's not your self and if you if you do it your self you didn't need help
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 30, 2016
A fast-paced, quick hitting collection of tidbits that can spur some great change. Most of the book contains some good tips for being a better you and with its pace, the book can be read quickly. This will give you time to make things actionable. I really liked the chapters about being grateful and vulnerable to the sales process. In short, this is a book that is a very good pick-me-up for leaders and salespeople.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
There's no through line in the book. It's a collection of anecdotes, arranged into short chapters. Each chapter or section shares a different moral or theme. Interesting, but not the kind of book you can get sucked in to. That said, it is the kind of book you can read one short section at a time or pick up and open to any particular part. Read that part then reflect on that section for a day, week, or month. Return to the book at another time and read another section.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2016
Repetitive. This repeats much of what you'll find online for free
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
If after reading a book you can walk away with just one view point or idea that inspires or enlightens, the book has succeeded. The Beckwiths do this time and again, delivering smart lessons in easily digestable sound bites. In this book, they shine a light on their own wisdom which has informed their own style. First, they aptly point out that everyone has to master the job of selling. Whenever you have to get the attention of someone, get them to understand and then get them to respond, you are selling. Sometimes you want to do that proactively and sometimes you have to do that just to be who you are, or as they say, "Some people will undervalue you. Make a plan to set them right."

When selling, you are not competing against others necessarily, but against distraction and stereotyping among other influences. Given that, the Beckwiths' very own style -- presenting captivating stories which consider by-necessity short attention spans -- demonstrates how to communicate in a way which sticks. Some of the other lessons on dressing and communicating are pretty fundamental. But all the other lessons stitched together create a message with heart: "if you are selling yourself, you are selling your spirit."
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2007
The title was a bit of a turn off, but I liked Selling the Invisible and gave this a shot. Its a solid reminder of attributes that successful people have. Much of the advice is on the habits and activities that help you connect with others. They are substantive enough and presented in Beckwith's breezy but memorable writing style so that most anyone in business will benefit from reading this. There are a few points that seem shallow, but Beckwith addresses them candidly, and tries to provide advice based on integrity, not shallow manipulation. And let's face it, impressions sometimes are made in 30 seconds or less. So if some of what is here doesn't go as deep as we would like, we may have only ourselves to blame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
Good book. Short chapters make it easy to sit down and read a few quickly, and then still be able to put them into practice. Some very simple, basic, but yet effective ideas that the reader can gain from right away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse