Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Listen to any song, anywhere with Amazon Music Unlimited. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Young Modern

Limited Edition


4.0 out of 5 stars 123 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Young Modern Amazon Music Unlimited
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, Limited Edition, April 17, 2007
$24.99 $11.99

Editorial Reviews

With front man Daniel Johns at the helm, Silverchair refuses to do the same thing twice. When the Australian trio released their first album, Frogstomp, in 1995, they were merely 15 years old. Each new album since has been a dramatic departure from the last, and the band eventually shed their sticky grunge image with 2002’s Diorama. A returning cast of producer Nick Launay (INXS, Talking Heads), mixer David Bottrill (Tool, Muse), and legendary composer Van Dyke Parks (U2, Beach Boys) coddled Young Modern--yet another completely different version of Silverchair. The lyrics are pensive, the melodies cathartic, and the music is distinctly refined. Having already proven his epic vocal ability, Johns appeals to more creativity and experimentation this time around. He retains his singing style, but at times he is reminiscent of AC/DC's Brian Johnson, at others of the Beach Boys' Brian Wilson. Listeners will be shocked to learn that the upbeat opening track, "Young Modern Station," is the heaviest rock song on the record. "Straight Lines" is a celebratory pop fête, and "If You Keep Losing Sleep" makes Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" sound almost docile. Van Dyke Parks's renowned talent shines on the tracks with orchestral arrangements like "All Across the World" and the three-part epic "Those Thieving Birds." The entire album is seamless and offers new facets with each listen. Once again, Silverchair has clearly taken another giant step forward. --Jordan Thompson

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Young Modern Station
  2. Straight Lines
  3. If You Keep Losing Sleep
  4. Reflections Of A Sound
  5. Those Thieving Birds (Part 1)
  6. Strange Behaviour
  7. Those Thieving Birds (Part 2)
  8. Man That Knew Too Much
  9. Waiting All Day
  10. Mindreader
  11. Low
  12. Insomnia
  13. All Across The World

Product details

  • Audio CD (April 17, 2007)
  • Limited Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import, Limited Edition
  • Label: EMI Import
  • ASIN: B000NVL924
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 123 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #614,944 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Silverchair Store

Customer Reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

April 18, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
April 11, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
September 12, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
April 23, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews