Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite uncharted Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 112 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 154 reviews
on March 12, 2014
Prior to this, I read Liquidated by Karen Ho, an anthropologist who worked on the inside and had similar tales to tell of Wall Street. Kevin Rose is a journalist, and there is a significant difference on how the "story" of Wall Street is told. Both books are worth the read, so my comment should not be construed as a criticism of Karen Ho's. Kevin Roose provides a lighter read on the subject, but it is a good read because he focuses more on the stories of individuals and how their lives change. Kevin was not an insider, but through the lives of first year analysts that he followed, you begin to understand the transformation or solidification of personal values through the first two years of the Wall Street machine. It's not just reporting, Roose tells their story as a story teller. His role as a journalist is significant because only the presence of journalist would have been the catalyst for the reaction when his cover at a Wall Street banquet was blown. That reaction tells you a lot about how Wall Street bankers think - they don't deny their money-centric value system. They relish in it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2016
The author pens sweeping tale on post-2008 Wall Street, focusing on the work & lives of 8 recent hires to top banks. Kevin Roose of the New York Times charts these young people's career growth as they take on one of America's most reviled and formidable industries only years after the financial crisis.

The author claims to be intrigued by these young people, but often colors his work with revulsion towards the big banks, his subjects' employers, for their role in the financial crisis. The author remains generally objective in evaluating his subjects and their stories are well-framed with applicable details from the news. Ultimately, Roose's tale is enjoyable but cannot be considered as objective as he intends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
I do enjoy books that enlighten me about the world of finance and wall street and this one is good. It follows a number of young and newly hired financial analysts through their first 2 years, taking snapshots of their lives at different points. You gain insight to the jobs, the structure of finance, and the personal life (mainly work and more work). An interesting read, but oddly it didn't pull me into caring about the subjects as much as I might have thought.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
This book delivers on what it sets out to do. If you are interested in the financiers of the world no matter your contempt for them or because you want to be one of them, this book is a must read. It gives you inside perspective of some junior level employees who battle opitmisim through financial stability and distress due to the type of job and and ironically job stability. Pick it up, if you really want to understand what it takes or how people manage or put through other people's s*** to become one of the high flying financiers you imagine when you hear or read of investment bankers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2017
I tried to challenge myself to read more books on topics I know little about. This book is very entertaining (especially the last third) and gives insight on what working in the finance industry in NYC is like. If you're looking for something new this is it! (Actually stumbled upon this book by accident because I was trying to find a book on "Young Money" the music label, lol!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
Not much you wouldn't expect here. Hard to get in. ?Even harder to endure. But the payoff is big in the long run. About what you'd expect from medical internships, associateships in corporate law firms, and for wall street analysts training. These tales personalize the misery.

Also, Roose comfirms a kind of psychopathic greed mentality on wall street--no surprise there either. If you think you want to read this book, I suggest borrowing it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2015
I am a senior in college who just finished interning in one of the big 4 accounting firms in a department that many have exited after one or two years to work in the front office of Goldman Sachs, JP Morgan type places. I'll be starting full time next fall. I was curious and I saw myself one or two years down the road having to make the decision to stay put in Big 4 Advisory, go pursue making double as much at the bank, or exit financial services altogether. This book puts it all into perspective for all people contemplating Wall street in their early 20's. Time will tell what my story becomes but this book has certainly made a lasting impression on me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2014
An inside look into the lives of Young Wall Street, as rarely seen before. The insights aren't terribly deep, but it inspires great thoughts and questions in your mind. It's very much written from a young perspective — I would have liked to have heard more from senior or mid-level Wall Street workers to understand their view of the work these fresh-from college kids do. I have a hard time distinguishing whether much of the work they do in the first few years is simply hazing, or whether it actually is important but the importance just not understood by those doing the work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
I'm a college senior interested in finance and I thought I'd read this "searing" depiction of the business, it's employees and firms in order to gain insight into the perspective of a disapproving spectator of the industry.
Although the author is obviously biased and hindered by his own convictions concerning the finance industry, he shows "both sides". Both the good and the bad parts of finance, attempting to stay true to the experiences and emotions of theses young bankers. It was a great, fast read and I'd recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about the life of a first year analyst- and perhaps a little about who the people that are successful in this business really are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
Kevin Roose gives us a bird's eye view of the Wall Street of today through the eyes of first year analysts. He shows us the recruitment process, the day-to-day grind of the young people's lives in New York, the ethical questions that develop as a result of their experiences, and the challenges that they face in the future. As a result of reading this book, I have come away with a sense that some of the banking abuses from 2008-2009 still exist, even with increased government regulation. I did find it difficult to keep up with stories of so many people who were interviewed and observed. The style of writing is very readable, however. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in a Wall Street career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse