Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Zatoichi The Blind Swordsman, Series 4: The Fugitive
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$33.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 22, 2005
can't be beat. buy it now. the swordplay is amazing and the story is even better. every single zatoichi is a great experience to be taken in. start your collection of this series today.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2016
Why did they decide to ruin this series? I watched 1-3 and thought these movies are awesome! Cool story although the romances were getting Weird and old really fast, but I got to this movie and I have no idea what happened. It is almost like they made it into a cartoon and jumped about 50 sharks. It is like a slapstick comedy now. I am Zatoichi, it is hot, I can't stop sweating! I am so dirty!! LOL!!!1 I am also now a champion sumo wrestler even though it has never been mentioned before. He has a price on his head because someone put one there...that is seriously the plot, no explanation as to why I could see. Any get this, it seems that not a single woman in Japan can resist the blind, dirty man who spends long moments grinning like an idiot and sweats enough to cause the drownings of 3 extras. It has become a children's cartoon and made me sad that a series that began with such promise falls flat on its face.... (Yes, that is a Zatoichi joke)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
Zatoichi (Shintaro Katsu) walks into a mess as the yakuza sects of a certain area jockey for position and a mysterious samurai arrives with an old flame of Ichi’s in tow. This is the first film of the series that fails to completely satisfy me. Katsu is still great and there is an interesting plot thread concerning a weak man who is placed in a position of leadership. However, I was confused by all the players in the yakuza politics and the introduction of Ichi’s lost love seemed tacked on and unnecessary. I suppose it is inevitable that such a long running series of films would develop a formula but it is disheartening to feel that I was seeing the tropes of the formula beginning to congeal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
Great treatment and entertainment. As in every chapter, production, setting, action and, development of simple tale are excellent! As always, based on a clear moral principal. It must be admitted that consequences of failure to heed it are certainly very harsh. Star and role could not be more perfectly matched!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2002
I really appreciate Home Vision Entertainments production of the Zatoichi movie series. Each release has been an excellent presentation of Zatoichi. As a Japenese Samurai Movie fan I think that this series of DVD's is the best. The character of Zatoichi is very compelling and each story helps you identify with this Blind Swordsman who always trying to do good for others. The examples of Japenese culture during this time period is very beautiful and detailed. Shintaro Katsu displays a wide range of emotions as Zatoichi and his display of swordmanship is excellent.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
There's really no such thing as a bad Zatoichi movie but this stands out as one of the better ones. In order to know the history between "Tane" the woman he was in love with you really had to watch the first two black and white Zatoichi movies. Even if you don't know the history it doesn't matter it's still a good movie with a good story and a good sword fighting scene toward the end of the movie. In the end it's really touching that he finds out that it was "Tane" who really betrayed him the woman he was so in love with. Like I say there's no such thing as a bad Zatoichi movie not the best in my opinion but definitely worth buying. A good movie with a good story and plenty of action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
THE STORIES OF ZATOICHI ARE JUST GREAT TO WATCH. GREAT ACTING , SWORDPLAY, DRAMA AND COMEDY. WHAT HE EXPERIENCES IN HIS LIFE IS SHOWN ON HIS (SHINTARO KATSU'S) FACE SO WELL....YOU COULD COMPREHEND WHAT HE IS FEELING IF THE SOUND WAS OFF ON YOUR T.V. THAT IS SOMETHING THAT MANY ACTORS CANNOT DO.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2006
This 4th episode of Zatoichi begins with a more comical sendup than in previous episodes. The charactor traits Shintaro Katsu would eventually define as Zatoichi have now become more ingrained in the personality of Ichi, and the following episodes will only reinforce the humorous, beloved, cane-sword weilding, blind masseur and ethical man to the audience. This episode is enjoyable, as ALL of the Ichi episodes are. The film begins with a price on Ichi's head; and an inexperienced swordsman by the name of Kisuke, tries to claim this reward. He fails of course, and as he lays dying he informs Ichi that his mother Maki, is with the yakuza.

Therefore, Ichi embarks on a trip to see the mother, and inform her what has happened. However, she does not resent Ichi, as she understands that it was in self-defense. Also, reprising her role in this episode is Tane, the woman who loved Ichi [episodes #1 and #2]. Tane is now with a samurai. [I will not tell you about her character, as it will spoil the film for those who have not viewed it] There are many characters in this particular epsiode, with many subplots going in different directions. The cinematography is excellent as usual, and Zatoichi does flash his sword in a wild ending. An enjoyable watch. [Stars: 3.5]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
I am a big fan of Shintaro Katsu and if your into samurai movies then check his movies out and see what you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
If you like samurai movies you like katana these are the movies for you English subtitles awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse