Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon kidsevergreen kidsevergreenaltText Choose channels with their favorite shows and movies kidsevergreenaltText Choose channels with their favorite shows and movies  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 82 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 86 reviews
on January 10, 2012
This is an invaluable tool for setting or correcting your white balance during a studio photo shoot or just messing around. The cards can be taken out and are the size of a credit card.

There are basically two ways to get your white balance perfect: set your camera to auto white balance, fill the frame with your grey card, and then set the custom white balance with the picture you just shot. The second way is done in post processing. Put the card in the frame on your first photo of the particular lighting condition, and then use the white balance dropper tool in Lightroom to get the proper white balance. You can then apply the same white balance to the rest of your pictures. The second method works better when shooting in raw. If you are shooting JPEG, the first method is better.
22 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm known for my short, no-nonsense but informative reviews, so here goes:

- they're hard plastic, so no worries about smudges, stains, spills, etc. Just run under water & wipe off. Nice touch.
- if you're shooting RAW, before the shoot (or whenever the lighting changes) just place one of the cards somewhere in the shot, pull it into lightroom, set the white balance point, auto-sync to all the rest of your photos from that session and you've got a balanced tone across ALL the photos
- for all your head shots, keep the lanyard around the model's neck so you get a clean WB every image
- easy and inexpensive. No need for the more expensive cards. Plus, many of the far-more-expensive ones are cardboard (subject to stains), or TINY (not enough room to get an exact neutral point in LR5).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
These cards are built to last, and the lanyard is nice as well.

The little cord that comes attached to the lanyard can be looped through the cards to always keep them together, or you could fit the cards directly onto the clasp if you prefer to easily separate them for individual use. The lanyard itself also sports a nifty little clasp that's a pretty standard size. I've known a few people who use a clasp on their jacket or bag to carry keys, lights, lenses, mics, etc... That could easily be done with these as well.

Basically, this little kit provides a lot of options for how you'd like to use it and carry it around. To me, that's a very nice touch. Everyone carries around their equipment a little different, so it's nice to have options.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2012
My photography skills are fairly amateur, but I've learned from post-processing the importance of color balance. It affects the mood considerably while leaving the rest of the data (hue, saturation, and value) essentially unchanged. That makes color balance management a no-brainer if you want to improve your photos. I think of color balance as the best "bang for your buck" because it's really just a matter of science -- choosing an accurate* color scheme. No artistry is involved.

The essential goal of color balance management, if you didn't already know, is for the color balance in your published photos to match that of the original environment. You want your photos to reflect the "warmth" or "coolness" of the original lighting. Finding an accurate white point by hand can be time-consuming and confusing. Thus, the importance of a good set of white/grey/black cards.

These cards do the job. They're the only I set I've tried; but like I said, there's not much subjectivity to the field. The lanyard is a nice bonus, and can make you look like a hipster to those who know what these are for. Take advantage of having all three, because sometimes the best neutral point is your middle grey.

*Yes, I realize that manipulating color balance for stylist (i.e. non-realistic) effect can produce beautiful results. But if you're using these cards, you obviously desire accuracy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2012
I bought these cards primarily for the gray neutral tone card. The cards seem very durable (the exact same size as a credit card, but almost twice as thick). The only part I wasn't crazy about is how thick the lanyard is -- it could have been a much thinner lanyard. I replaced mine with one that I had gotten from a trade show (or somewhere else), that also has a quick-release. The quick-release is nice, but I find it easier to just pull the entire lanyard out over my head.

I understand this can be used for both video and photography. I use if for photography, and here's why I think this is a must-have for anyone who takes photography a bit more serious...

Unlike the human eye, cameras don't automatically "neutralize" the to lighting in the environment. That's why cameras usually have those lighting mode options (incandescent, fluorescent, cloudy, etc.) -- it's to help the camera shift the color tone to try to neutralize the color cast from the light (e.g., fluorescent emits a greenish light, while incandescent emits a yellowish light). The "Auto" feature also just tries to guess at the color casting by trying to find something neutral in the image.

If you're an intermediate or advanced photographer, you'll probably want to shoot in RAW format because you can do A LOT more adjusting in post-processing. RAW images capture the light as the camera sees it, no processing added (so they often look even worse at first than JPEG images do). RAW requires that post-processing software make the adjustments to white balance, and so on. That's where this awesome little card comes in... The neutral gray card is used to tell the post-processing software what a neutral color looks like with the given lighting conditions.

So, how do you use it? While taking shots out in the field (or studio), whenever lighting conditions change (e.g., going from indoors to outdoors, using a flash vs. no flash, sunlight to shade, etc.), take a photo of the gray card in the light (just hold it out a foot or two in front of the lens, and SNAP! (it doesn't even have to be in focus) Later, after uploading the RAW images into your software, use the eyedropper for the white balance (or whatever your software has) to set the white balance to the gray card -- yes, set the "white" balance using the "gray" card ("white balance" is kind of a misnomer for photography -- it should actually be "neutral balance"). Then copy the white balance settings from that photo to all other photos shot in the same lighting conditions. This will cause skin tones, etc. to be set properly without needing to fuss with the temperature and tint settings.

Enjoy!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
It's incredibly convenient to have these cards connected together and on a lanyard. They're easy to carry around and unlikely to get spread out and lost during a shoot. The cards are a little small, but fanned out they provide adequate area to take a sample from in your post processing software, particularly if you're zoomed in.

Grey cards are the simplest form of color correction for your photos, but the first time you use one you'll be amazed at how helpful they can be for finding a baseline white balance which you can then make creative decisions from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
such a useful tool if you want to white balance.
i used this on a canon t2i.
Note: set lens to manual foccus
at the lighting condition where you are to shoot, hold the grey card, fill the picture frame in you camer with the grey card.
use this picture to set the custom white balance in your camera.
there is a you tube video which explained how to do this on a cannon dslr.
the actual picture after the custom white balance using the grey card was fantastic.
pretty simple to use and definitley a handy tool that will help make quality pictures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2015
I'm a retired photojournalist and videographer. I recently helped teach University Journalism student video camera field work. I used these for white balance for their video cameras and the grey card for still shooters. After they saw the difference between unbalanced or poorly balanced cameras, most ordered their own sets. I still use them for my own photography and video work while on assignments and traveling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
The cards are decent cards. They do what they're supposed to do. I like that they are small and can fit in my pocket or my camera bag.

Maybe I'm rough on my things, but I've now had the lanyard break in 2 places. The cord that holds the card to the lanyard broke; and the clip where the lanyard detaches broke. I've only had these for 2 months and only used them a handful of times.

I like the clip mechanism on the lanyard cause it's easy to use with one hand, but it broke and it now useless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
These handy little cards will easily fit into your camera bag or pocket for when you need to set a custom white balance in a mixed lighting situation where you don't trust your camera's metering and a preset isn't right for the situation. Just snap a shot with one of these in the scene, then tell the camera to use this as your custom white balance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here