Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Too and the conflicts Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 504 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 827 reviews
on August 7, 2017
This book is outside of my usual reading list; however I'm so glad I picked up this book. It is an easy read that provides excellent insight into the experience of a 'good American family' who found themselves on the wrong side of the American gov't. Near the end of the book the author provides some insight how the gov't came to it's conclusion's altho as is usual there is zero accountability.

Our country's reaction to the tragedy of 911 was driven by fear; I can think of no decision that is made in a state of fear that turns out well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
A fascinating story, filled with disturbing information about the behavior of FEMA, the National Guard, and Homeland Security during the terrible events of Hurricane Katrina and the aftermath. This man was a hero, and was treated like first a criminal, and later as a terrorist due to his Syrian roots. Even more heartbreaking was to read in the news about how his and his family's life has unraveled in the decade since.

The writing was sometimes irritating, as we were put inside Zeitoun's and others' minds at times when it seemed preposterous. I can see that Dave Eggers wanted to tell this story, but his doing this made me wonder about how impartial he was in his telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
I never imagined such devastation in New Orleans . The atrocious behaviors of various troops sent to restore law and order. The lack of preparedness of the powers that be to save the lives and take care of their citizens. Most appallingly the treatment of this sweet, hard working law abiding family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
Eye opening background on Kstrina both before and after. In addition, it explains the Muslim religion of which I lacked knowledge. The issues faced due to conditions and corrupt police are shocking and presented in a way to educate those of us not living in the paths of hurricanes or facing sterotypes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2017
I really enjoyed reading this and could not put it down. Having said this, let me also say that it was emotionally hard to accept that " law enforcement" who arrested the main character and those in charge of his illegal imprisonment made me so angry. How could this happen in America? I would like to see those animals in prison. Bastards! The end was a letdown because there really was no accountability. Inexplicable!! Our government should be ashamed, but I know those responsible no doubt have no shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
Dave Eggers begins with the caveat that this story is the story of the protagonist ("Zeitoun," his family name) and his wife, Kathy. However, given the list of sources he consulted (listed at the end of the book), it seems he intended the book to be nonfiction, i.e., factual. Yet, Eggers's "fiction radar" never went off during the first section of the book, where Zeitoun and Kathy tell a story of their nearly perfect life: a father with a very strong work ethic; parents devoted to each other and their children; a family devoted to living their peaceful Muslim religious beliefs; an "American" wife committed to the religion to which she converted (before meeting her husband). Is any family that "perfect"? Eggers apparently did not question this. He should have, even if he just confirmed all that the couple had mentioned. While it's not "fair" to the author to expect that he would have uncovered the spousal abuse and anger that we now know was occurring during the time described in the first section of the book, it still seems fair to expect of the author a more serious commitment to his investigative journalism responsibilities than what he demonstrated. Even teasing out somewhat harmless flaws in the couple's personalities, behaviors or relationship would have made the story more *interesting* and *credible*. There is much more to say, about the value to the reader of completing the book (with a critical eye). What happened during and after Katrina was a travesty to all people living in that area and to our entire nature. However, one has to wonder why Zeitoun ignored the plight of his "friends," whom he left behind in their prisoner-contructed outdoor prison after he was released with the actions taken by his lawyer and his wife after a comparatively short internment.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2016
This was not an easy book read but one everyone should. It's scary to see what bias and prejudice can move people to do. If you think some is they other, f2f hey become so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
Well written and engaging. The book demonstrated the sense of honor/wonder and horror faced by people who remained behind in New Orleans after Katrina. I live in Louisiana and have interacted with many people who were touched by hurricanes Katrina and Rita. The devastation, fear, helplessness, and actual experience of living without modern conveniences of clean water, plumbing, electricity, and a scarcity of food for extended periods of times is life changing and the book does a very good job of demonstrating these aspects of survival as well as the triumph of the human ability to adapt and overcome even if permanently changed. One criticism--the book tends to simplify the good guys vs. bad guys dynamic. The hero had flaws that were not explored and there was a good side to the characters painted as villains, again, not explored in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
This inside perspective was very fascinating to me after only hearing what the media provided publicly. My daughter was a senior at Tulane when Katrina hit and she evacuated home to Southeast Texas - then Ike hit. I understand PTSD first-hand. The middle-eastern culture stressing over their missing brother/cousin was very intense; as was Karen Zeitoun's stress leaving him behind and evacuating with their children. The character development was very good. The book is written with facts of the tragedy and note familiar locations in NOLA. I felt I was there....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2017
Eggers hits a homerun with his writing (as usual). However, I have become so angry after reading it because of the injustices experienced by a number of people after Hurricane Katrina. I also felt angry because of the rest of the Zeitoun family's story which is revealed by a quick Google search for Kathy Zeitoun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse