Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 97 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 150 reviews
on July 12, 2017
Zorro (ALAIN DELON) takes the place of a dying Friend.

Diego Vega promises on the death wish of his friend to become the new alcalde of California. Vega complete with white wig and mute servant. He arrives to witness first hand the brutal Colonel (STANLEY BAKER). Zorro immediately stops the torture of a monk and becomes the hero of the local resident of all classes of people. This is played for fun. Baker is beyond evil as the man who will do anything it takes to climb his way to the top. Zorro as alcalde is excellent. This is fun in any ones book. Complete with a great escape scene complete with dozens of soldiers after him. The DVD is and has been under public domain for many years so the quality of the dvds and vhs lack. This one has grainy beginning and ends but is pretty good though most of the dvd. the *final* sword fight is worth the cost and shipping alone it goes on for over 20 minutes, roof tops up stairs down stairs ...very well done. Delon is excellent as the handsome Zorro complete with vivid blue eyes behind the mask. Great movie and good humor. and Garcia looks amazing like the Garcia we see in the Disney Version. * warning* there are plenty of grain in the movie at the beginning and the end.* but worth a watch due to the plot and over all movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Aside from the fact that it is a French production with one of France's greatest Super Stars (Alain Delon) who obviously was tired of all that Noir he commanded (with Belmondo breathing down his neck) during the Sixties and Seventies this film is a wonderfully serendipitous take on the Zorro Legend and must have given Delon a much needed chance to unwind and just let go with a marvelously sly and silly performance that ranks with the best interpretations ever done. A family friendly feature that entertains from opening shot to the final fencing showdown (the longest ever done I believe). Delon creates a Zorro that appeals to the child and has enough winks for the adult viewer as well. The production is marvelously staged and shot at a breathtaking speed by Duccio Tessari. Everybody knows the story but nobody's seen it done so well since Tyrone Power himself. I saw nothing wrong with the transfer and it looks and sounds good. Great fun!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2008
This version is put out by(Vina Distributor)is also Chopped!(Do Not Buy This Version)86m,not 100m as it says on back cover.
What do you expect for 97¢ i'm still on a quest to find the completed version may have to go to a foreign country to get it by way of internet travel.
I know there is a completed version out there just have to find it.
Anyway,this is my review of this crappy dvd hope this helps everybody looking for that completed full-version.

Update:I found the full uncut version and it came from Amazon France.
That was quite an experience trying to deal with the language and pricing and shipping charge,i don't think i'd want to do it again.
I have an all-region player and it played in English so i'm happy.
Fight scenes were there plus everything else that i could tell.
This is an MGM studio Region2 PAL.
This comes in at 118m to me it doesn't look like anything was cut out.
This has a silent-menu and no extras,i'm including a front and back shot of the dvd cover in the images section.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2016
I have been searching for the complete cut of this movie on DVD for several years. I saw this movie at our base theater when I was serving in the Navy back in 1975. Always thought Alain Delon's characterization of Zorro was pretty good. Over the years I've picked up copies on DVD that were a huge disappointment, always with the truncated version. I really thought I would never find it. Thankfully I checked again. I was a little hesitant to order, but I'm so glad I did. What was even nicer is that it is in the Blu-ray format, having converted my home theater system over to Blu-ray some years ago. It's exactly how I remember it after all these years. Great movie and uncut!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Nice to finally have this in decent print format-- long in the public domain it's been released by a lot of fly by night outfits with some murky film quality-- this one (which comes in a red box with Zorro riding Tornado towards us--- I say this because Amazon has a strange habit of mixing up reviews when an item has multiple releases) is not digitally remastered by any stretch of the imagination, but it's at least a decent print.

It doesn't seem to be letterboxed either, although it fit in my widescreen TV-- there were just no bars, and it didn't seem pan and scanned so that's always a plus in my book.

Alain Delon makes a terrific foppish Diego and a even more impressive Zorro. The story, as with many MANY adaptions of the character takes great liberties from the original but the film makers definitely took a page out of Douglas Fairbanks version and tried to fill it with some really impressive stunts. There is a great prolonged fight scene in the village done in one take as the camera follows Zorro fighting off the evil soldiers of the corrupt government.

It's a really fun all ages romp which can be watched by all ages, and in this day when a "hero" often crosses the line, its nice to find one with some good old fashioned values.

Don't let the song bother you, you'll know all the verses by the end of the film and take it for the spirit it was meant-- FUN.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2014
This is really the best Zorro movie I have seen. It does have a campy screenplay with intermittent gaps in the storyline, but the fighting sequences are superlative and Alain Delon plays this role with pizzaz. As governor of a village, he has to play a wimpy, effeminate, lazy and craven individual; but as soon as he dons the mask he is a knockout, confident stud adept at embarrassing his enemies. This is a fun movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
The Somerville House release is complete and unedited. Ignore any review prior to November, 2012. I've just watched the blu-ray version, and it contains every scene that I remember seeing on television back in the 70's and 80's, plus a few I've never seen. Thank you so much Somerville House.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 30, 2007
Four stars for the full length film. Three stars for the chopped version.

The adventurer and brilliant swordsman Diego journeys to Nueva Aragon to pose as his murdered friend, who had been slated as the new governor of that corrupt pueblo. Diego has vowed to live up to his friend's ideals but promptly realizes that martial measures might at times be called for. Accordingly, in Nueva Aragon, Diego adopts foppish mannerisms to fool the evil Colonel Huerta and to camouflage his other identity - that of the rabble's fabled hero and avenger Zorro. As the masked and cloaked people's bandit, Diego does his best to bring justice to a beleaguered province...and does his best also to spark a gleam in the eyes of an outspoken aristocratic senorita.

I know of two versions of this 1975 film. There is the 2 hour film and there's the truncated and awfully edited copy, which is an hour and a half long and is absent of key explanatory scenes (Diego's friendship with Miguel de la Serna, Nueva Aragon's new Governor; how Diego learns of Zorro). If you've seen the 2 hour film, then the story makes sense and the movie experience is a fun one. If you have the other version...well, I share your pain. Somewhere, sometime in the past, I've managed to watch the film as it was meant to be seen. I don't know why this film was cut short of half an hour, other than to be able to show it on TV in a 2 hour window with commercials. But then why release this crap version on dvd?

Charismatic French actor and then sex symbol Alain Delon (LE SAMOURAI, ROCCO AND HIS BROTHERS - both classic films) plays Zorro with virility and dash. As the Fox he is clever, nimble, and often cockily grinning. He athletically leaps and swings about. And with his commanding voice he pulls off the hero role quite well. As the governor, he's also effective, perfectly playing the simpering and quite cowardly fellow. Delon is very good.

This story wasn't meant to be exactly faithful to Johnston McCulley's book THE CURSE OF CAPISTRANO, which debuted Zorro. When this Diego arrives as the new governor, Zorro is already an established legend, an identity of which Diego readily makes use. The venue is also moved to the corrupt town of Nueva Aragon. Oh, and Zorro gets a dog in this one. Plenty of rollicking action escapades here, as Zorro mocks and abuses a host of bumbling soldiers. The film culminates with Zorro's sprawling, extended sword fight with his nemesis, the wicked Colonel Huerta (a solid Stanley Baker).

And the song? Yep, the happy-go-lucky theme song initially tormented me, but oddly enough I grew to like it. Whenever "Zorro's Back" was played it usually served to showcase an action sequence, but, in a way, it also serves to punctuate what Zorro stands for. It's also disturbingly easy to sing along to.

There's an awful, most unconvincing stunt sequence of a carriage crashing over a cliff, and Diego's mute servant turned out to be very annoying. But, minus those objections (oh, and the clipped 30 minutes, of course), I've really got no complaints. This one's pretty darn good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
The opening title song will stick in your mind for quite a while. I never forgot when I first saw the movie on CBS back in the late 70s, I downloaded the soundtrack album, and when I found out they digitally restored this film on DVD, there was no way in the world I could pass this up!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
I loved this version better than any of the Antonio Banderas versions....loved the music and the Zorro song..."here's to living free- la,la,la,la-la-la Zorro's back!" Alain Delon does an excellent job- too bad he didn't continue his career in the US but, rather went back to France where he is a huge star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse