Buying Options

Digital List Price: $7.99
Kindle Price: $6.15

Save $9.80 (61%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Lingering by [SJI Holliday]

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Lingering Kindle Edition

3.7 out of 5 stars 220 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.15
Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A compulsive read until the final, breathtaking page." —Elizabeth Haynes, author, Behind Closed Doors

"Deliciously dark and twisted . . . Add it to your wish list now if you like being scared silly!" —Mark Edwards, author,
The Retreat

"Brilliantly chilling and perfectly paced. Ghosts, witchcraft, murder and manipulation." —Anna Mazzola, author,
The Unseeing

"An outstanding work of modern gothic which perfectly captures the ghosted isolation of the fens and the more tangible terrors of a remote commune, where historical abuses meet contemporary horrors. In the new wave of gothic novels
The Lingering is a stand out triumph." —Eva Dolan, author, This Is How It Ends

"An unsettling tale of hauntings, both real and metaphorical, that lingers in the mind long after the reader turns the final page. A top-notch supernatural thriller." —Mason Cross, author,
Don't Look for Me

"One of the most original ghost stores I have ever read,
The Lingering pays homage to classic spooky tales and completely subverts them at the same time. Highly recommended." —Cass Green, author, In a Cottage in a Wood

"
The Lingering is a gripping read, full of creeping menace and insidious dread, perfectly paced and guaranteed to cause you sleepless nights for all the right reasons. Fans of Susan Hill and Andrew Taylor, take note. One of my favourite authors." —David Mark, author, Dead Pretty

"A relentlessly unnerving mystery—like shuffling footsteps from a long-locked attic." —Matt Wesolowski, author,
Six Stories

“Readers will find this contemporary gothic take hard to put down.” --
Publishers Weekly --This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

S.J.I. (Susi) Holliday is a pharmaceutical statistician by day and a crime and horror fan by night. Her short stories have been published in many places and she was shortlisted for the inaugural CWA Margery Allingham prize with her story ‘Home from Home’, which was published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine in spring 2017. She is the bestselling author of the creepy and claustrophobic Banktoun trilogy (Black Wood, Willow Walk and The Damselfly) featuring the much-loved Sergeant Davie Gray, and the festive serial killer thriller The Deaths of December. The Lingering was a number-one bestseller in ebook, and critically acclaimed in the UK press. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07HR3W9X3
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Orenda Books; 1st edition (September 27, 2018)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ September 27, 2018
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 742 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.7 out of 5 stars 220 ratings

About the authors

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5
220 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on October 26, 2019
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 11, 2019
Reviewed in the United States on December 19, 2020
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2020
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 24, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

M. K. Boers
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Creepy
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 30, 2018
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
nelle
2.0 out of 5 stars Absolute twaddle
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 30, 2018
18 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Oliver Clarke "whatmeworry"
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective blend of mystery and ghost story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 23, 2018
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jacob Collins
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, unsettling and so, so creepy!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 7, 2018
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Chanatkins
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I hoped for
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 7, 2019
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?