Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
House of Ashes: A Haunted Bluffs Mystery by [Loretta Marion]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

House of Ashes: A Haunted Bluffs Mystery Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 116 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

A gift for whatever they need
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $25.98
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for House of Ashes:
“Enjoyable...a fine cast of well-rounded characters and some intriguing whiffs of ghostly presences.”
Publishers Weekly

"
House of Ashes is a haunting, atmospheric tale rich with compelling characters and a compelling mystery. So mesmerizing and immersive it’s simply impossible to put down. Mysterious and entertaining, an absolute page turner."
New York Times bestseller M.J. Rose, author of Tiffany Blues

“Loretta Marion’s
House of Ashes offers a layered, suspenseful plot, a cast of engaging characters, and a sympathetic heroine dealing with forces both earthly and supernatural...A perfect read for fans of Kate Morton and Susannah Kearsley.”
—Rosie Genova, national bestselling author of the Italian Kitchen mysteries

"Loretta Marion has woven a tale of mystery, suspense and family lore that will keep readers guessing until the very end."
—Wendy Webb, bestselling and award-winning author of
The End of Temperance Dare

"Loretta Marion laces a powerful sensory magic—from the scent of sugar burning in a long-ago fire that hovers just outside modern-day perception to the power of visual art to bridge the gap between the living and the dead—that makes this haunting story linger long past the final page.”
—Heather Young, author of
The Lost Girls

House of Ashes provides non-stop thrills and chills, along with gorgeous and haunting atmosphere, endearing characters, and rich history."
—Nina Sankovich, author of
Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading

About the Author

A true bibliophile, Loretta Marion’s affection for the written word began in childhood and followed her like a shadow throughout her life as she crafted Award-winning marketing and advertising copy and educational brochures. When not whipping out words on her laptop, she is traveling, enjoying outdoor pursuits, or is curled up with a delicious new book. Loretta lives in Rhode Island with her husband, Geoffrey, and their beloved Mr. Peabody, a sweet, devoted and amusing “Corgador” (Corgi-Labrador cross). --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07JN6NDZT
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Crooked Lane Books (November 13, 2018)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ November 13, 2018
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2064 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 331 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1683318439
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 116 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Though born and raised in the Midwest, Loretta Marion fell in love with New England and has made it the setting for much of her writing. Her newest series, The Haunted Bluffs Mysteries published by Crooked Lane Books, take place in the fictional town of Whale Rock on Cape Cod. HOUSE OF ASHES was the first book in the series and will be followed in November by STORM OF SECRETS.

She is a true bibliophile, and her affection for the written word has followed her like a shadow throughout her life. A passion for writing fiction evolved from the unlikely world of hospice. As a volunteer, she set out to establish a Legacy Story program to honor and preserve the rich heritage of the fascinating people who were soon to leave this world. The meaningful experience inspired her to create her own interesting characters and stories.

Loretta’s writing bridges the genres of mystery and suspense and women’s fiction, always with hints of romance and humor, sometimes delving into the psychological and paranormal. She creates strong but flawed and struggling characters as appealing as the rich atmospheric settings in which the stories take place.

Her debut novel, THE FOOL'S TRUTH, was selected as a Finalist in both the Mystery & Suspense categories of the IAN 2017 Book of the Year Awards. It also received an Honorable Mention in the Fiction Category from the New England Book Festival and the Gold Book Award from Literary Titan.

When not whipping out words on her laptop, she is traveling, enjoying outdoor pursuits, or is curled up with a delicious new book. Loretta lives in Rhode Island with her husband, Geoffrey, and their new rescue pooch, Mr. Micawber, a sweet, evergetic and devoted Shepherd-Corgi.

More information about Loretta at: http://www.lorettamarion.com/

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
116 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 4, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 4, 2020
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 14, 2018
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 19, 2021
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on June 14, 2021
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 16, 2018
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 22, 2018
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 25, 2018
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?