Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports
Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Discounted / Price Dropped Kindle eBooks

This discussion has reached the maximum length permitted, and cannot accept new replies. Start a new discussion


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 126-150 of 1000 posts in this discussion
Posted on Oct 15, 2010 8:49:19 AM PDT
Jason says:
Things Fall Apart: A Novel by Chinua Achebe is $4.27 (and has been since the Kindle release a few weeks ago), which is 61% off.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 15, 2010 8:56:41 AM PDT
flipoid says:
Lynne J. says: "I can't understand how the chain stores can sell a paperback for $2 less than Amazon can sell the ebook."

Lynne, I don't know how long you've had your Kindle, but since you mention the agency pricing, I am assuming you're aware that Amazon ISN'T selling the e-book for 5 of the 6 major publishers--those publishers are the sellers and just use Amazon as their agent to collect the money. So what the chain stores sell a paperback book for has very little to do with the price of the Kindle edition if the e-book's price is set by the publisher.

Posted on Oct 15, 2010 10:51:50 AM PDT
another bump

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 15, 2010 12:30:41 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 15, 2010 12:31:11 PM PDT
Lynne J. says:
I've followed this thread since the beginning. Evidently the publishers have a different deal with the chain stores. It doesn't seem fair. I've had my kindle since 2006. It's a K1. I think it's starting to wear out. Even with the new battery it doesn't' hold the charge as long as it should.

Posted on Oct 15, 2010 9:52:22 PM PDT
RandomizeME says:
Hmmm... I don't know what's happening with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson, but the price keeps on dropping. It's now just $4.74.

- RandomizeME
http://randomizeme.wordpress.com/category/deals/kindle-ebooks/

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 15, 2010 10:31:13 PM PDT
A. says:
RandomizeME, I know what you mean. I just signed into Amazon and did my usual perusal of the top 100, and said 'holy cow!'. (well, maybe not cow) I finally jumped on the train though. I just couldn't pass it up at that price. :)
I guess good things come to those who wait. Unless of course you got it free before. ;)

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 16, 2010 4:33:53 AM PDT
saraf says:
I grabbed it at $5.69 I guess I jumped too soon! LOL

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 5:07:52 AM PDT
A. says:
Well, that was fast! The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is already back up to $5.22. What? Did somebody hit a wrong button?

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 10:18:37 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 17, 2010 8:15:42 AM PDT
CLB77 says:
Just came across this suggestion in the October Informal thread: The Devil You Know for $1.99. Sounds very intriguing! I admit to another a 1-Click. I might have just broken the $10 mark. :)

From Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. Aviolent ghost in a world where spirits are rarely mean-spirited is a clue to a deeper mystery in this engrossing dark fantasy debut from comics-writer Carey. Felix Fix Castor is an itinerant exorcist who (like a certain famous group of Hollywood ghost-evicters) alternates between dispatching spooks and doing stage magic at ungrateful children's birthday parties. When he's summoned to end a haunting at London's prestigious Bonnington Archive, he finds a vengeful specter with a blood-veiled face that resists methods for extirpating the usually docile dead. When Castor begins probing more deeply, he quickly finds himself harassed by a ravenous succubus, a belligerent fellow exorcist and a slimy Eastern European pimp. The resolution of this ingeniously multilayered tale will satisfy fans of both fantasy and detective fiction. Fix Castor's wisecracking cleverness in the face of weird nemeses makes him the perfect hardboiled hero for a new supernatural noir series.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 16, 2010 10:31:26 AM PDT
Sue says:
You are lucky indeed! I paid for it and I hated it.

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 10:34:10 AM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 10:49:42 AM PDT
Dr. J says:
I just looked for The Man Who Smiled (Kurt Wallander Mysteries)but it is still 9.15?

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 11:05:52 AM PDT
RandomizeME says:
@Dr. J,

Back in September, The Man Who Smiled was just $3.46. Unfortunately, the prices don't stay that low for long. That's why we have this thread, so we can tell each other if we find any discounts.

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 11:10:23 AM PDT
Dr. J says:
Thanks, I'll hasve to follow closely!

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 16, 2010 1:56:30 PM PDT
flipoid says:
Lynne J., no, the publishers don't have a different deal with the chain stores, because the chain stores don't sell EBOOKS. Amazon does discount the paper versions of Kindle titles; that's why a lot of people come here and start threads complaining about the fact that the Kindle books (whose prices are set by the *publisher*) have higher prices than the printed version (whose prices Amazon is allowed to discount, if they so choose).

So, Kindle books sold by the "big 5" publishers are covered by the Agency Agreement.

The printed books are sold by Amazon (they buy them from the publishers and then re-sell them), so they can set the selling price.

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 10:23:45 PM PDT
Carla says:
I just come across this one on kindleiq ...The Good Plain Cook. It caught my eye because I like British books (setting/authors/characters) and it was one of the only books I've ever seen discounted where the price shown on kindle iq is the same price for me in Australia - usually $2 more, if available at all. Just thought I'd share for anyone interested. Looked like a good bargain to me...

Posted on Oct 16, 2010 10:37:37 PM PDT
RandomizeME says:
This one is for hard-core Georgette Heyer fans. Her first book The Black Moth (Girlebooks Classics) (written when she was still a teen-ager) is priced down to $0.95. The book shows her potential but obviously isn't up to the quality of the later books.

- RandomizeME
http://randomizeme.wordpress.com/category/deals/kindle-ebooks/

Posted on Oct 17, 2010 8:12:58 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 17, 2010 8:14:43 AM PDT
CLB77 says:
Another one someone was reading in the October Informal poll: A Flaw in the Blood for $1.84.

From Booklist
Barron takes a break from her Jane Austen mysteries to bring us a snapshot of Queen Victoria in a sticky wicket when Prince Albert dies at the young age of 42. It is the author's contention that the monarch who ruled the British Empire for more than 60 years had much to hide, and as the mystery unfolds, hypotheses emerge to explain Victoria's tight-lipped mourning and iron-fisted reign. Narrated in part by the queen herself, the tale offers a intriguing glimpse of the royal personage as she grapples with the death of her beloved Albert and interacts with a host of supporting players: the lawyer, Patrick Fitzgerald, who saved her would-be assassin; his ward, Dr. Georgiana Armistead, who insists on pursuing a cure for Prince Leo's bleeding ailment; and an old family friend, Count von Stuhlen, whose play for power includes murder. With all the earmarks of a gothic romance-unrequited love, a murderous stormy night, guilty secrets, hopes dashed, revenge plotted-this fast-paced mystery is a winner for fans of Victoria Holt and Phyllis Whitney, as well as the more contemporary Carlos Ruiz Zafon (Shadow of the Wind, 2004). --Jen Baker

Posted on Oct 17, 2010 1:05:40 PM PDT
Thanks, @C. Anderson - I couldn't resist A Good Plain Cook - it sounded appealingly different.

Posted on Oct 18, 2010 3:30:57 PM PDT
The Reversal This hasn't been reduced in the Kindle version, but the Sony price is now $12.99 from $14.99. I don't know how price matching works on a publisher-set price either but I'm guessing that the Kindle version will also be reduced soon.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 19, 2010 1:08:57 AM PDT
Steven, this thread is for discounts or price drops on books from publishers. It's not a thread for independent authors to promote their own books. There are literally dozens of other threads for you to do that in.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 19, 2010 4:00:14 AM PDT
sande says:
I agree. There are many many threads where a little self promotion by independent authors doesn't bother me at all and I'll often click their links and sometimes even buy their book, but I don't think it has a place in this thread. I'll certainly vote any self promotion posts down.

Posted on Oct 19, 2010 8:46:00 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 19, 2010 8:46:41 AM PDT
CLB77 says:
Saw this from Amazon's Kindle facebook page: Mr. Shivers for $2.99

Amazon Best Books of the Month, January 2010: With his debut novel, Mr. Shivers, Southern writer Robert Jackson Bennett presents a pulpy, Great Depression horror story where a mysterious killer "trails death behind him." After his daughter is brutally murdered, a revenge-seeking Marcus Connelly leaves Memphis on a hunt across America's hobo camps and ghost towns for the grotesquely scarred, ghostly figure known as "Mr. Shivers." On his quest Connelly teams up with a scrappy band of hobos recovering from their own brushes with "the gray man," and the body count increases as they ride the rails tracking their target. Connelly's spiraling bloodlust begins to rival Shivers's, threatening to take more than just his family and friends away from him. Sprinkled with hobo folklore, Bennett's supernatural dust storm of a debut offers a killer premise and may remind readers of vintage Stephen King. --Brad Thomas Parsons

Posted on Oct 19, 2010 9:53:20 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Oct 23, 2010 10:13:20 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 19, 2010 9:57:57 AM PDT
Oh, I didn't get it for that price, or any price. Definitely not my cup of anything.

I just remember it seemed like forever that it was free and then all of a sudden.....................
Discussion locked

Recent discussions in the Kindle forum

 

This discussion

Discussion in:  Kindle forum
Participants:  983
Total posts:  10000
Initial post:  Sep 26, 2010
Latest post:  Jun 21, 2012

New! Receive e-mail when new posts are made.
Tracked by 366 customers

Search Customer Discussions