Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen
Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Kindle Fire as iPod?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 25, 2012, 10:05:36 PM PDT
AVgrayb12 says:
I'm a music lover but never bought a player such as iPod since it doesn't seem economical to pay that much for a device with such narrow functionality. Enter Kindle Fire which met most of my needs like reading color documents (I'm an engineer). However, the Kindle Fire appears to have serious drawbacks as a music player due to limited on board storage and no external recording device support.

Has anyone on this forum successfully used Kindle Fire as a music player?

Posted on Apr 25, 2012, 10:21:54 PM PDT
Kevin S. W. says:
I have not, as I can't see carrying something lacking in the major areas I find desirable for a mp3 player.

It's physical form prevents me from conveniently carrying it, so planning is somewhat of a necessity. As you noted, the extremely limited storage is also rather problematic. Lacking physical controls means coming to nearly a complete halt when out walking just to adjust things, due to issues if your finger slips. And while the battery life on the Kindle Fire I owned was excellent when considered for watching videos, it was only alright for reading (compared to a second generation Kindle) and would be rather limited if I had used it half the day for music and then finished up with reading and/or videos.

If I were mainly concerned with functionality, and had the spare cash right now, I would probably get another Open Pandora:
http://www.openpandora.org/