Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now
Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Kindle and eTextbooks

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 9, 2009 8:49:14 PM PST
J. Robinson says:
I am considering a Kindle because I am a student at Grand Canyon University and all of my books for school are ebooks. What I am wondering is if anyone has used Kindle for their ebooks and if so what is their experience?

Posted on Mar 4, 2013 6:37:31 PM PST
My experience on their systems have been poor. The menu system does not work correctly which means you only have access to a limited set of functionality. Download doesn't appear to work either. At home, I e-mail the documents to myself then download them to the Kindle. You will want to purchase the office app for $14 that gives you a better reader for PDFs than Kindle. I love reading on the Kindle and I have the keyboard as well. Its a great tool but lousy on the GCU system. You would do better to purchase a laptop for now. Despite this problem, I still love the Kindle. Its very well done.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 5, 2013 5:16:19 AM PST
Sarida says:
I have the Kindle Keyboard, and I have to say, that I struggled with it.

I like to have texts open in front of me when writing papers/reports and having to turn back and forth the pages in the Kindle was awkward. It is impossible to quickly thumb through something to find a particular passage. Of course different texts are set up differently, but it is very important to highlight or mark passages as you read in order to have a quick way to come back to that text.