Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports STEM
Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Student use

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-14 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 30, 2013 12:57:56 PM PDT
Larry says:
I'm a grad student taking online courses. I need to download articles and chapters of books from the college library. I am also an avid reader of mystery novels which Kindle would be best for this use? Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 30, 2013 1:14:49 PM PDT
seedlady says:
you could look up the articles, and see which kindle they would work on. mysteries can be read on any kindle.

if you want to read in color, you need a fire. if b&w is fine, the actual kindles would work.

Posted on Jul 30, 2013 1:30:52 PM PDT
Larry says:
Thanks. The college library has ebooks and journals that can be downloaded and I'm wondering if the Kindle has formats that these can be read from. I think the Kindle Fire HD can but how about the basic kindles?

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 30, 2013 2:17:51 PM PDT
B. Marks says:
You need to find out what those formats are or it's hard to help you.

Barry

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 30, 2013 2:35:07 PM PDT
Larry - You can't download anything from the web directly onto any Kindles except the Fires. And if you ever want to buy or rent textbooks, you also need a Fire.

Supported File Types:
Your Kindle Fire device will only recognize the files you've transferred if:

The file is a supported file type.
Files are free of digital rights management (DRM) software.

The following types of files are supported by your Kindle Fire:

Documents: AZW, TXT,PDF, MOBI, PRC, DOC, DOCX