Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno
Customer Discussions > Laptop forum

Need help finding the right laptop!

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-13 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 2, 2012, 4:49:22 PM PDT
J. Seib says:
The most important thing I want a new laptop for is word processing/writing. I spend anywhere from 2-8 hours a day typing ( I am an aspiring author) and I need a comfortable, back-lit keyboard on my new machine. I also have anywhere from 1-40 word documents open at the same time while I'm writing. I don't know if this weighs in on the type of computer that I should buy.

I won't even consider another HP, but some of the brands I have considered are : Toshiba, MSI, Lenovo, and Dell. But I am looking for advice!

I need a laptop that can support gaming, since I was an avid Sims 3 player until the game became too much for my current laptop. (a refurbished HP Pavilion dv9000, which I hate so much for its many design flaws that I will never buy another HP again).

And lastly, I would prefer a laptop with a high quality screen and speakers since I would use it for music and movies often.
I'd prefer to buy something that wont feel 'old' within 6 months, and that would support most of these needs. (the least important of which being gaming)

My top price range would ideally be 1200 dollars but for something absolutely perfect, I would be willing to spend up to 1500.
Any help would be appreciated since my current laptop is on its last leg for many reasons, and my tablet is not cutting it as a replacement.

In reply to an earlier post on May 3, 2012, 7:58:56 AM PDT
Kort says: