Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno
Customer Discussions > Laptop forum

Netbook vs. Tablet

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 35 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 18, 2012, 6:28:29 PM PDT
Karen says:
I am a college student looking for a something small to take to class with me that I could use to access the internet and run Microsoft Word. I'm not really too concerned about any other features, as I have a large laptop computer that I plan to primarily use. Like I said, I really just need something small and light that I can bring to class. Any computer experts out there want to weigh in on the benefits of a netbook, tablet, or maybe even an iPad. Recommendations of specific brands/models would be especially appreciated. Thanks!

Posted on Mar 18, 2012, 9:45:31 PM PDT
Thöm Frost says:
i have both and unless you get a tablet running windows 7 then your limited to android or ios. there are a few apps that are office compatible but i have found that they are not 100%.
if you get a netbook you can take it to class with you and type with out taking up much room, something that is hard to do with a tablet.
if you get a netbook you can hook up a keyboard, mouse and a larger monitor to it. some tablets will do this too but they are more expensive.
netbooks have larger storage space 250gb hd or better where as a tablet is limited to usually a max of 64gb.
netbooks tend to be cheaper usually less then $400, tablets (the good ones) start out at that price and just go up. then you have to pay an extra $150+ for the keyboard.