Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 96 reviews
on February 16, 2013
In today's world of internet forums, highly specialized websites, and instructional youtube videos, you would think a book like this would be of little use. You would be dead wrong. This book has already answered dozens of questions that I had after researching specific repairs for weeks on the internet. The illustrations are wonderful, every topic is approached with a positive, you-can-do-it attitude. I especially love that no knowledge is taken for granted; for example, the book actually covers a lot of basic woodworking techniques, where other books and resources simply assume you already have that knowledge, or will go looking for it elsewhere.

This book should be mandatory for anyone considering buying a fiberglass sailboat, or who already owns one. This is a book that really is worth twice the price!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2015
I dislike the style of the writing. Author likes to ramble on. I think he thinks he is sugar coating a dull subject so he gives these long anecdotes. I would prefer a "Just the facts" approach. Tell me what to do, how to do it, and include helpful diagrams showing it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
I was concerned about the comment on the print size posted elsewhere in the reviews. The publishers must have changed the printing because the type is black (dark grey) and the pages are egg shell white. So, the text is very readable in this new addition. The type font is smaller than I would like but it is not used as a novel. It is a ho- to manual and the print is legible enough that my 66 year old eyes w/ cataracts do not struggle excessively to read it. The Kindle Addition solves this problem completely. Only other comment is that the quality of some images in the print version are poor. They are perfect in the Kindle addition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2009
The second edition of This Old Boat is a more professional production than the first edition. Not that the first edition was bad, on the contrary, it was a good resource, but it had a somewhat hand-made feel about it. The diagrams were freehand sketches and a lot of the information lacked depth. Although it was always a good place to start, it was usually necessary to turn to other reference works (such as Calder's "Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual" or Spurr's "Guide to Upgrading Your Cruising Sailboat") for precise information about how to carry out a certain repair or improvement. However, what it lacked in depth of information it more than made up for with its clear explanations of the "big picture" and Casey's ability to impart a sense of motivation.

This new edition improves on the first by being a good deal larger than the first edition, having information that is more in-depth, and illustrations that are much improved. It is now closer in "feel" to Calder's Boatowner's Manual. It also covers a lot of the information contained in Casey's several short sailboat maintenance handbooks, and to an extent it updates and replaces them. I wouldn't go as far as to say that this is the only book by Casey that you now need to own in order to have all of the information he has previously published, but it is close.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
This old boat book is comprehensively written and well laid out. The author, Don Casey, has crammed nearly everything imaginable into this edition. Actually, there's even more information here than we'd ever expected to find in one single volume. But then again, there's never too much information concerning boats. This revised & expanded edition is highly recommended, & required reading before the next cruise out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
This book is an essential to anyone who owns a boat, simple as that, bought a 1968 Contessa 26 (sail boat) in Oct 14 and I'm in the process of restoring, painting etc etc !
This book offers brilliant guidance and help, even lets you know which tools are needed and how to use them
well done Don Casey !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
Excellent reference book for anyone who enjoys doing it yourself. It is well written and focuses on the topics that almost any boat owner will encounter with an older boat. It's detailed descriptions of how to do it provide the novice boat owner with the confidence to tackle the problem and learn more about how the boat systems function in the process. It will maintain a prominent place in my boating library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
This Old Boat is encyclopedic. And like when you try to cover everything on all compass points, all at once, your coverage tends to get thin. It's a trade-off, of course, because when you start adding depth to any treatment of any subject, well, you run out of time and room to cover everything else.

Nevertheless, This Old Boat does a good job with generic descriptions, photos and illustrations for many projects, stem to stern. Readers can always supplement their particular research with the Web, forums, or more in-depth, topic specific books.

I've got to hand it to the author for his enthusiastic, if sometimes audacious, confidence in his readers--Yes, You Can Do It! This tenor is certainly not over-the-top or patronizing but well-tempered and mature. Don Casey is a good writer.

This is my first Don Casey book. It hasn't given me cause to shy away from buying others.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2017
well written. easy to read and interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2012
I bought this book thinking it would help me bring my 1965 Alberg 35 up to snuff. But now, I am hooked. I want to take on every project in the book, from page one to the end. The book makes it all seem very do-able, and it really speaks to me as someone who wants to understand the HOW and the WHY of things. My family will never see me on weekends again...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse