Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 95 reviews
on June 13, 2017
This book is simply not proofread enough. There's way too many examples of the author's slipping up on their diction or not stating key assumptions necessary to move forwards. Being misinformed is much worse than being uninformed, so you would be better off by just not reading some pages. They will also nonchalantly build off of an example that they last mentioned a chapter or two ago, so expect to do a lot more jumping around if you don't read the book like a novel.

Aside from that, there were a few formulas that I wish they would show the proofs for, so if you want to really get a grasp on everything, you'll have to pop online to see how they're derived. It's also obvious that this book was written before the '08 crisis by the way they describe risk, or how they explicitly state how real estate is one of the safest investments LOL! There's a lot of great stuff in here, but since the concepts are so trivial, there's 1000 other books you would be better off with
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
While this is a classic book for learning corporate finance in business schools, it has many problems. The main issue is that the book is very poorly written. While professionals and academics in many other fields have advanced the art of plain English writing in the last decades, business school professors and students are lagging thousands of miles behind. It was tiresome to read the text and to find clear explanations and answers while trying to learn the material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2016
This is the super old version. Not what a professor will require for a current class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
For simple financial concepts to be overloaded with complex and mostly practical examples is a great way to learn it well.
Many books will teach you concepts without real life explanations, leaving readers baffled on how things are applied in the real world.

This book connects the dots.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2017
Helped me pass my class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
The book was used for our MBA finance course. This book has so much fluff that is just difficult to read through. The authors keep rambling so much about 'stuff' that the main idea gets lost. On the other hand, some chapters (e.g. cash budgeting) has not been covered in sufficient details. I got so bored that I purchased the Ivo Welch book http://www.amazon.com/Corporate-Finance-Ivo-Welch/dp/0984004955/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1351899001&sr=8-1&keywords=ivo+welch and it is MUCH better. Alas, the Ivo Welch book has content that does not align with our course curriculum. I also had access to the following book http://www.amazon.com/Fundamentals-Corporate-Finance-Standard-Stephen/dp/0073382396/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1351899077&sr=1-1&keywords=finance+ross and it is a much more readable book. What a terrible waste of money!!! Do yourself a favor and skip the BMA book!!!
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
Required text for a class. Extremely overcomplicated. I would use investopedia.com to understand the terms and concepts instead. This was by far the most expensive and least useful textbook I used in my MBA program. Other students in the class complained as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
USed this book in several of my MBA Finance classes. Easy to read and use for advanced Corp Finance classes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2016
Excellent overview of the key principles of corporate finance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
I actually find this book fun for self study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse