Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 218 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 251 reviews
on October 14, 2016
I don't usually write reviews for textbooks but this is actually a really good textbook. It's very easy to read, well formatted, and organized. It's not very dense--even as a slow reader it doesn't take more than 60-90 minutes to read a chapter. The best part--and I've never seen this before in any textbook I've ever had (and I'm near the end of my graduate degree)--is it includes transparency pages (like for overhead projectors) that you can layer on top of images and each other to demonstrate how to do various examples step-by-step like a slide show. It's really cool and a very good tool. Also as someone who grew up in Orlando it's cool to see so many Orlando landmarks and tourist areas represented; although as a UCF student I wish UCF professors were consulted for the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2016
I purchased this book for an Operations Management class and it is surprisingly easy to read with tons of information. I like how they lay out all the definitions in the margins and go into further detail in the reading. There are good practice problems at the end of each chapter that can help you with your understanding of the reading as well as prepare you for the exams.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
I have over 40 years of business experience, have an MBA, and am currently working on a doctorate in business. I have read a lot of textbooks over the years and this is one of the best. It can actually be read on more than one level. If you need detail on various ways to calculate any given operations problem such as inventory management, that is in this book. It takes you step by step through the reasoning behind why a process is done one way, plus the alternatives. If you need to crunch numbers, the formulas are all there, and there are plenty of problems and discussion questions at the end of every chapter. If you don't want or need that kind of detail, you can skim or skip it because there is still plenty of interesting reading to give you an overall view of Operations Management. Every chapter features a particular company such as UPS, Amazon.com, or the Arnold Palmer Hospital to focus on one aspect of operations management. I found these examples fascinating and practical at the same time. This book should give you a new appreciation of the complexities of everyday business.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
This book has a lot of good information!! I really enjoyed the material for this book and it is fairly current information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 28, 2015
Required reading for my MBA class I read the great reviews before I bought this book and now I have to agree, it's a keeper. The book is timely of course (2014) and the author's did a great job of giving relevant examples of operations management. The book combined concepts in a favorable fashion to the extensive definitions of processes and the outcome was entertaining and educational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2014
The book is fantastic. I used it for an MBA class. It is very up to date with very good examples. My class is now over, but I plan to read the book in more detail

Hated the seller (Roxana) because the book was used and it was miscategorized, I wanted a hardcover book, search by ISN number and received a loose leaf. The loose leaf version was half the price of what I paid. The seller claimed ignorance saying she did not know it was incorrect ISN number. I got some money back but only half of what the seller promise to give me back.

ROXANA had two other reviews before I ordered the book. One good review and one review very similar to this, which I opted to dismiss. I learned my lesson!
I was very disappointed with the lack of response from Amazon on my multiple emails. First time Amazon does not fulfill the high quality response they have had for all other purchases. They should remove Roxana from selling any books via their network.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
I am using this book for my Mgmt Science. I am really enjoying it, especially the MyOMLab. Heizer and Render provide useful "virtual office" hours to explain the more quantitative concepts like the forecasting methods in Chap 4. I would recommend this book for any operations class!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2017
Just what I needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
Great textbook, filled with outstanding techniques and tactics, for increasing performance and control in the workplace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
Did not get any of the MyOmLab material. Had to go the university bookstore to get the material and access card. Very disappointed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse