Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Expressways Book 4
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$31.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2001
This is an excellent resource for teaching beginner English conversation. I teach English conversation classes in Japan, and this book is very easy for students to follow. The pictures are very descriptive of the conversation used in the book, and it's easy for the students to comprehend. The material covers everything from introductions to asking for directions. Followed by English conversation practices, there's a grammar worksheet. Very excellent book! My students love this book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2001
This is a wonderful book, especially geared to the need of non-English speaking learners who are still experiencing cultural shock soon after they stepped on a land totally new to them. It helps them learn not only the target language,but also the culture of the English-speaking people. Matched with cassette recording, it has been well received by my new immigrant students in ESL classroom.
The cassette recording is expensive though.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2001
I am using this for one-on-one ESL tutoring. It gives a small class more flexibility than Side by Side, and it has more variety than SBS. But some things are out of date (water beds?) and other vocabulary suddenly appears without any preparation...however it's the best I've found so far for structuring typical conversational situations for ESL students.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 23, 2008
The Expressways series of textbooks is designed to accelerate an English student's language mastery through exercises that teach visually through reading, tactilely through writing, and audibly through speaking. The student's abilities mature through practicing these skills for proper mastery of the English language.

My wife is a Chinese native who recently began English as a Second Language (ESL) courses at our local high school. The instructor uses these textbooks as the primary tool for learning. We have found them to be an effective and fun way to learn together as a couple and it has helped her language skills and personal confidence.

The exercises in the textbook are designed for a classroom setting or, if a classroom is not available, for practice with a partner. My wife benefits through classroom interaction twice a week and by working with me.

It is very important the student is able to work with someone to practice the lessons in the book. I would strongly suggest purchasing the companion workbook that accompanies this textbook for added exercises. There is also an audio component to this series that can be helpful, but if the student will be in a classroom or can practice daily with an English-speaking person, the audio is not necessary.

The conversational lessons in the textbook use iteration to teach. The student practices scripted conversations with a partner and phrases are changed to vary the meaning. The conversation remains similar each time, which reinforces the language structure, and the student learns through familiarity and practice. This is a crucial component to the learning process.

In addition to the interactive components are lessons that teach the correct grammatical structure of English sentences. Lessons force the student to think about what they're saying and practice the rules and logic in their mind before selecting the best answer. These grammatical lessons are reinforced through the practice conversations.

I would recommend the Expressways series for anyone who wants to increase their English mastery, but it is vitally important the student has a partner to assist with the lessons. This is best accomplished in a classroom setting at least once a week and/or with a friend or loved one close to the student. This is not a self-study textbook. While some of the lessons are accomplished alone, the real learning comes through verbal interaction and practice.

If you do not have access to a classroom or study partner, purchase the audio component along with the textbook and seek-out English speaking people to talk to.

With time, persistence, and practice, your English skills will increase, and the Expressways series of language textbooks will help you accomplish your goals.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
Each lesson in this book is just the right length for an hour session. This book focuses on conversational English by presenting a different conversation each day that students may encounter.

We have tried a few other books, but came back to this one. This was the easiest for our students to understand and gained the greatest amount of participation. I think the topics and conversations could do with an update, but it is still a useful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
This book is a very easy to use from the point of view of an instructor or student. The student can learn and do the exercises provided in the book with little explanation, right away. It is a very simple book to use because even without a lesson plan any teacher is able to explain and teach this book in class. I think this book provides a win/win situation for the teacher and for the students. Everyone wins by using this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
This is the older series. I liked it but Side by Side is the best tool I have found to teach speaking English. The emphasis is speaking English. The other ESL books I have reviewed are all basically grammar books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
This workbook gives beginning English learners a great review in the four basic skills of listening, speaking, reading and writing. In addition, there are grammar raps or jazz-like songs for pronunciation, intonation and rhythm practices. Check-up tests after every three lessons make a teacher's task much easier.
I have used the Side by Side series for years and found them very well-organized, interestingly designed and user-friendly both for students and teachers. To help students improve writing even more, I usually ask them to write out complete answers in their notebooks instead of just filling out the blanks in the workbooks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
I teach ESL to adults and found the school only provided the student copies and not the teachers edition. I ordered this one and it was just what I needed. There are grammar ideas, games and helpful hints to use in the classroom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2012
I bought it for my wife. She barely knows English. She learns at easy and loves it.
I would recommend this book to anyone who is new to English.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse