Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 12, 2014
Excellent product and seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2014
I just don't like all the store barcode stickers attached to the cover of the book. decided to leave them instead of making a mess with the glue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 21, 2016
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2011
Item came fast in great condition... I will use this service again and recommend them to others, no problems with anything...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Writing for Visual Media looks at the fundamental problems a writer faces in learning to create content for media that is to be seen rather than read. It takes you from basic concepts to practice through a seven-step method that helps you identify a communications problem, think it through, and find a resolution before beginning to write. Through successive exercises, Writing for Visual Media helps you acquire the basic skills and confidence you need to write effective films, corporate and training videos, documentaries, web sites, PSAs, TV shows, nonlinear media, and other types of visual narratives. You'll explore your visual imagination and try out your powers of invention. The companion web site enriches the content of the printed book with video, audio, and sample scripts. It includes scripts and the video produced from them; visual demonstrations of concepts; and an interactive, illustrated glossary of terms and concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is an excellent reference for script writers, particularly valuable for its deliberate, academic approach to the problem. Most of the books in this area come from creatives-people who have been successful in their writing careers, but don't necessarily have any formal background in teaching writing. This books comes at the problem from the other side, presenting a formal approach to writing for TV, video, games, etc. That academic approach makes this book an ideal compliment to those other books on your shelf.

So if you are starting a collection of books about writing and filming, here are my recommendations for books to compliment this one.
Save The Cat! The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need: If you can only afford two books, buy Save the Cat and Writing for Visual Media.
The Screenwriter's Bible: A Complete Guide to Writing, Formatting, and Selling Your Script: Can't miss classic, covers the whole writing and selling process.
Writing Movies for Fun and Profit: How We Made a Billion Dollars at the Box Office and You Can, Too!: How to write, pitch and get drunk with Hollywood producers.

As a script writer, it's useful to understand how the DP (Director of Photography) and production crew work with your script. These are two great references:
The Shut Up and Shoot Documentary Guide: A Down & Dirty DV Production: Very bottom-up approach to production, almost no mention of a script!
How to Shoot Video That Doesn't Suck: Advice to Make Any Amateur Look Like a Pro All about shooting, nothing about writing.

Summary: Get this book, plus one or two others from my list above. Study them, then START WRITING!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 28, 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Friedmann in some ways takes on an impossible task. After four chapters of basic (screen) writing skills, he covers individual types of writing - ads, corporate training, entertainment, documentaries ... - in a chapter each. So if your interest is narrow - web/interactive - it is easy to feel cheated. You've skipped much of an expensive book. However, this is not fair to the author. Much of the value of the book is in the access to the companion web site and in Friedmann's ability to describe a creative process as a repeatable process. He does this with the most basic of rules - find the communication problem and fix it. And, by golly, he convinces you that you can. Definitely a cost effective purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 16, 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
It doesn't get any better than this: Here we have a master teacher -- Anthony Friedman, who holds a BA and PhD in English from Columbia and an MA from Harvard, all topped with coursework at the London School of Film Technique -- bringing 21 years of writing, producing and directing experience to bear writing the third edition of this very impressive text.

Used in many writing programs as well as in Friedman's own media writing classes, the aim of this text is offer instructional content for students taking an introductory course in scriptwriting. It's also useful for all writers trying to expand their skills to writing scripts for media. That said, from a conceptual perspective, I would say that the author is seeking to pin down and expand upon that aspect of writing that is brought forth from the visual mind. Or, put another way, it's an instructional text on how best to imbue each script with visual writing; "not the words of the final script but the imaging that makes the words of the final script possible."

The principal difference between the third edition and the second is the addition of a chapter devoted to writing for mobile media platforms. While, as the author states, "this is going out on a limb and more predictive than prescriptive," it reflects the state-of-the art approach this text offers.

So, how does Friedman go about addressing the challenges of learning to write for the visual media? Quite simply, by viewing and using the script as a plan for production, and by teaching how to sequence action so that directors, editors and eventually viewers can visualize in their mind's eye exactly what is intended. Just as a musician can hear in his own mind what the music should sound like, good visual-based writing encourages viewers to see in his or her own mind what is intended. The sequence of images flowing along a time line, should serve as a sort of blueprint to take the viewer to a place of mutual visual interest.

Though visual writing is, by nature, somewhat elusive, this book -- all about the fundamentals of scriptwriting -- will, as the author puts it: "take you from nowhere to somewhere, from no experience and no knowledge to a basic level of competence and knowledge..." That's a pretty good promise for those readers just starting off in scriptwriting!

The text, which is intended to work in tandem with the book's website, is arranged in five parts that are, in turn, divided into 15 chapters. Here are the five parts, followed by chapter headings:

Part 1 Defining the Problem:
Describing One Medium Through Another / A Seven-Step Method for Developing a Creative Concept / The Stages of Script Development / Describing Sight and Sound

Part 2 Solving Communication Problems with Visual Media:
Ads and PSAs: Copywriting for Visual Media / Corporate Communications: Selling, Telling, Training and Promoting / Documentary and Nonfiction Narrative

Part 3 Entertaining with Visual Media:
Dramatic Structure and Form / Writing techniques for Long-Scripts / Television Series, Sitcoms, and Soaps

Part 4 Writing for Interactive and Mobile Media:
Writing and Interactive Design / Writing for Interactive Communications / Writing for Interactive Entertainment / Writing for Mobile media

Part 5 Anticipating Professional Issues:
You Can Get Paid to Do This

An impressive book that delivers what it promises. Highly recommended for college, university and public library library collections and an essential purchase for anyone interested in writing for the visual media.

R. Neil Scott
Middle Tennessee State University
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 23, 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
"Writing for the Visual Media" was probably intended as a textbook on how to write scripts for all forms of media, whether it be television, radio, interactive web-tv, advertising or even film. More than 'just another media textbook,' it gets into the real differences between writing what is meant to be read and that which is meant to be viewed in more visual media. Anthony Friedman really takes you through from the basics levels of writing for visual media to being able to identify issues that may make a script less than stellar. One of my professors caught me reading this book and asked to take a look at it. Now as a result, it is probably being considered as a classroom text for students entering into the media program next semseter.

I did not recieve a CD with this book, but rather a card with the web address that allowed me to download the extra included content for the book. I think I would rather have had the CD, and that is a personal preference rather than a complaint. I do understand, however, why the publishers offered a card with password inside the book to allow the reader to download the content. This also underscores how much media, publishing and content is changing constantly. The website was fairly user-friendly, and had sample scripts, online video, audio and demonstrations of the various aspects of writing scripts. I thought that the site was very helpful and definitely added more value to the book.

This book assumes that the reader has a basic knowledge of broadcast media, what is an over the shoulder graphic, what is a crawl, etc. He discusses in great detail the process of putting together scripts and tightening them up for the ever-changing arena of media which is converging at an alarmings speed. What many professionals are finding when entering into the industry just how much writing their is and the constancy of having those skills at your disposal - no matter if you're in front of the camera or behind it. You have to be able to make your writing and what you are presenting be as good as it can be. I do very much recommend this book to anyone who is either in or considering a career in any media or motion picture arts career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 16, 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was originally going to do my own video review using this book as a guide but unfortunately my home PC died so I'm stuck having to do a written review. so here goes :)

At first I didnt know what to expect from this book, I have story I want to tell/write but didnt know how to go about it, so I picked up this book to see if it could help me. well it turns our I got more than I expected.

The book covers all types of areas such as writting scripts for Public service announcements, TV series, radio comercials, movies etc. I learned how to best decide what type of media to use for the type of message or story I want to convey to other people.

Turns out that when writting there are so many things to consider, depending on geography, population, economic level, education level etc, it teaches you how to attack all these issues to make the best desitions of what ideas to use when writting a script, it also teaches steps on how to proceed with such writting.

I also liked how you get to learn all the technical words used in real life script writting and how to comunicate your ideas to producers and directors. theres also how to market or sell your idea to a client.

All in all this book has given me a great insight on how to write and anyone aspiring to making his own movies should definetely give this a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse