Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$34.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 28, 2011
This is a book that you can spend hours looking at. The book is beautifully designed with a lenticular cover, moth print end papers, and huge color photos of McQueen's work. It's also a lot bigger and heavier than I expected considering the very reasonable price. The text is informative, and the pictures are sharp and clear so that you can really see the workmanship and details that went into the clothes.
0Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2011
... BUY THIS BOOK! This book serves as a wonderful compendium of McQueen's work. The collections noted range from "Jack the ripper stalks his victims" through "Angels and Demons". If I were to nit-pick: A - some of the photos could have benefited from better lighting and B - there needed to be more examples from his tenure at Givenchy. Not all of his collections are on display at the Met exhibit and so in this book, not all of his collections are used (Neptune, Pantheon Ad Lectum, etc.). I have not finished reading the passages in the forward, nor the interview with Sara Burton, but this book is more of a visual feast than a good read. The size is comparable to the price and the quality of the book is excellent. I'm still waiting for a giant 1,000 page book on his entire career, but in the mean time, this catalog will suffice nicely!
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2011
This is an INCREDIBLE book. I love the transforming cover! Based on the upcoming exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum in New York, the book includes statuesque models painted white like mannequins adorned in Mcqeen's designs. Many of them are headless (obviously done in post production), some are faceless (also post production) - I think this anonymity adds to the power of his works. I have to say, I was delighted I had ordered my copy in advance when I found out the newly wed Duchess Kate Middleton had decided to have her dress designed by Alexander McQueen's house!!! Between the upcoming opening and how stunning Kate's dress was this book is sure to be a sell out!!!!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2011
Remember that first McQueen book that came out, the horrible one, that all of us McQueen fans wasted our money on? This book is the opposite. Its what I was expecting and then some. Its a high quality testament to his legacy, its done beautifully and at 27$ its a steal, you must buy this book. the cover of the book is a hologram of mcqueens face which morphs into that skeleton you see on picture. Its amazing. THANK YOU book gods!!!!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Alexander McQueen (17 March 1969 - 11 February 2010) was an icon in the fashion industry. He is currently the subject of a spectacular exhibition of his works at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and this book serves as a catalogue for that exhibition. From the lenticular cover by Gary James McQueen ('Lenticular printing is a technology in which a lenticular lens is used to produce images with an illusion of depth, or the ability to change or move as the image is viewed from different angles') to the layout or deign of the book itself to the extraordinary photography (by Sølve Sundsbø) this book is an art piece by itself.

McQueen drew notice with his fashions that made femininity collide with masculinity, gowns and dresses that created a continuing dichotomy between life and death, lightness and darkness, predator and prey, man and machine. His uses of fabric and elements not usually considered wearable resulted in very bizarre and at the same time hauntingly beautiful creations that, placed on mannequins, could be considered sculptures. And that is how the exhibition and the catalogue are constructed. 'The Romantic Mind' shows soft fashion lines against a concrete backdrop, 'The Romantic Gothic' recalls a term McQueen used for his designs - 'the Edgar Allen Poe of fashion', 'Romantic Nationalism' is a display of the Scottish versus the British mindset transformed into clothing, and the Objects gallery reveals strange objects of many types that explain how he viewed the world.

There is a fine Preface written by Andrew Bolton who curated the exhibition, an Introduction by Susannah Frankel, an interview by Tim Banks with the now almost equally famous Sarah Burton (designer of Kate's Middleton's Royal wedding gown). 'The exhibition, organized by The Costume Institute, celebrates the late Alexander McQueen's extraordinary contributions to fashion. From his Central Saint Martins postgraduate collection of 1992 to his final runway presentation, which took place after his death in February 2010, Mr. McQueen challenged and expanded the understanding of fashion beyond utility to a conceptual expression of culture, politics, and identity. His iconic designs constitute the work of an artist whose medium of expression was fashion. The exhibition features approximately one hundred ensembles and seventy accessories from Mr. McQueen's prolific nineteen-year career. Drawn primarily from the Alexander McQueen Archive in London, with some pieces from the Givenchy Archive in Paris as well as private collections, signature designs including the "bumster" trouser, the kimono jacket, and the three-point "origami" frock coat will be on view. McQueen's fashions often referenced the exaggerated silhouettes of the 1860s, 1880s, 1890s, and 1950s, but his technical ingenuity always imbued his designs with an innovative sensibility that kept him at the vanguard.'

This is a fine tribute to a fashion designer and conceptual artist who died far too young but whose contributions to contemporary fashion and art will live on. This book is likely to become a collector's item, so handsomely designed and present as it is. Grady Harp, May 11
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2011
I bought this book in preparation for the exhibit at The Met, opening this month. I am sooo pleased with the beautiful photographs and lengthy introduction in the beginning/interview with Sarah Burton at the end. This weighty catalog is insight into a great mind, and a great addition to any fashionista's library.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2011
Amazing book. I didn't know what to expect because the price was pretty low so I was surprised when I received it. Good quality photos and I loved the quotes. Plus, the cover is really cool. Great for people who love fashion and art.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2011
I went to the exhibit that accompanies this book at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. It was a magnificent exhibit that showcased McQueen's skill as a fashion designer and master tailor. The clothes and accesories in the exhibit are beautifully featured in this stunningly bound catalogue. Photographs do not do McQueen's vision justice, you'll need the exhibit for that. However, if you cannot make it to the show, do pick up this book. If you are interested in fashion, art, and history, look no further. Its such a shame that the world lost such a unique individual. No one will ever take his place or be able to replicate what he did. Kudos to the Met and Anna Wintour for acknowledging the work of this amazing visionary with a superb exhibit and companion book. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 9, 2015
If you're a fan of Alexander McQueen or just want an idea of his stunning creations, this is the book to buy. It makes me want to go to London and see the Met exhibit in person.... McQueen was such a talented designer, and the images gathered in this book are just a small sample of the collections he produced during his too short career. The book itself is impressive - they didn't skimp on the paper or the cover, and it's well worth the price for its production. It's quite the conversation piece from beginning to the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2011
I don't know what else to say! I only got to see two shows of McQueen's, but they made a lasting impact on me... I was so excited and happy and pleased to get this book, and after only a few pages in, I was crying at the imagery! Honest-to-god tears! McQueen was a beautiful soul, and getting to see his work in such detailed close-up is breathtaking. Even putting aside the fact that we will never see what he could have done next, this book is wonderfully laid out and really gives a close inspection of what McQueen's work was and where it came from. My only regret: I just wish they had some kind of CD with videos of the runway shows... what I'd give to see this art in motion!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here