Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15,713
Ready Player One
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$10.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 30, 2018
I'm rating this book 5 stars for the following reasons:
+ Can you say total geek-out book!
+ I LOVE the 80's pop culture references -- So many memories!!
+ It has humor, suspense, romance, action
+ This is such an enjoyable read, I can't wait for the movie to come out
+ The characters are so relateable
+ I was just drawn into this amazing world
+ The price point is spot on for a book

Cline didn't disappoint in his book Ready Player One. Get ready for a ride you won't soon forget in this futuristic world that will take you back to the 80's to enjoy all of the 80's pop culture we had as kids. The book is more than simple entertainment as it touches on many societal themes such as the impact and role of technology, friendship, opportunity, and more. You're going to love reading about this future world and the challenges that they face which are eerily paralleled with challenges we currently face or soon could. What a well written book and a quick and engaging read. I loved his other novel Armada as well. I'm very happy with Cline as an author and very much enjoy his books.

---------

If you found this review helpful in any way, please click the 'Yes' button below. I don't receive any compensation for helpful votes, but it REALLY helps and it is greatly appreciated. Thank you so much!

Diamond's Star Rating System:

1 STAR - Completely unusable, would request a refund
2 STAR - Meets minimum viable product requirements, wouldn't purchase it again
3 STAR - It does what it should, but in a non-spectacular way, I may recommend it, but definitely with reservations
4 STAR - I like it. It is solid quality and delivers as advertised, I would purchase it again and recommend it to a friend
5 STAR - I love it. It meets or exceeds all of my expectations and is high quality, I would purchase it again and would openly promote it to friends
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2017
Let me point out something very clear here. I hate reading books. Never was a fan, always got distracted with other things. So I choose not to read. Even with TV I have a hard time paying attention. Upon seeing the new trailer for this movie, I was excited because it is right in my alley in terms or science fiction and also video game virtual reality stuff. Upon getting the book, it arrived in great condition for a paperback and the smell of a new book really hit me on the nose. I have gotten into a lot of it and it is engaging from the start. I was able to pay attention, understand the plot, and also actually have a book that I can pay attention to and actually like for the first time in ages. Do I recommend this book? Yes of course even to the non reader in your life. Best way to get ready for the upcoming movie by Steven Spielberg. If it wasn't for that trailer, I would have never known about this book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2018
I loved this book! I couldn’t put it down. I have only a passing idea of some of the references so don’t let that stop you from enjoying this book. This is a hero quest story that just happens to take place in a video game type of contest. I’m sure it would be far more enjoyable on another level if you had a lot of knowledge of the things referenced but it’s not at all necessary. I loved Ferris Bueller but all of the anime references were completely over my head. I have no idea if those robot references were borrowed or original. Even without a complete knowledge of the references you can’t help but be charmed by our hero Wade and his band of misfits. Like any great hero story you will believe in Wade’s quest and more importantly enjoy his journey. I was sorry to see this book end. I was hooked by the end of the sample so give it a try and I bet you will want to read more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2018
Tolkien wrote Lord of the Rings as a 'myth for the machine age.' I think RP1 is an imaginative fairy tale for the online-gamer / virtual reality age. And the picture isn't pretty. I'm not talking about the cliche'd 'environmental apocalypse' of the outside world that the gamers actually live in, but the way that VR *is* their reality, and, to the characters, and in a very truthful way, the only reality that matters.

That disturbing aspect of Cline's novel is imaginatively and entertainingly written. The first third of the novel is a marvel. I'd give it ten stars. The second two-thirds, like The Martian in many ways, is a bit repetitive and predictable in a TV-series sort of way.

The novel is worthy and well-written, and the fairy tale aspect is touching. You end up rooting for the heroes and heroine, and even get a small glimpse into the motivations and heart of the villain (though I think he could have been much better presented, a la J. K. Rowling's villains).

All in all, a highly enjoyable book. The best take I've read on VR and online gaming. Plus it's lots of fun!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I had so much fun reading this book - the 80's pop culture references, the inclusion of snippets around the origin of gaming... and a little exploration of social injustice. It turned out to be way more adventurous and inciteful than I was expecting.

‘Ready Player One’ was also more violent than I was expecting. Which was a good thing for the story. It really put some high stakes on the line. I was totally wrapped up in this futuristic universe.

One thing with all the pop culture references - not everyone is going to get them all, or understand the lengthy list of computer models and old model gaming consoles. So, while I appreciated the nostalgia of the references, at times I felt out of the loop, not geeky enough to fully understand the narrative. It made me sad, like my nerd status had been revoked. These moments that pulled me from immersion of ‘Ready Player One’ did not detract from my enjoyment of the story however, just moments of brow furrowing and googling for information. So if you don't have an extensive knowledge of 80's culture and gaming, you may find the endless list of name dropping tedious.

I marvelled at the growth and development of our protagonist Wade/Percival. His dedication, loyalty, and commitment grew organically through the length of the novel. Even though those traits were there to begin with, you see them move centre stage and become his driving force. It's what had me relating and investing in his story. So too was his romance with Art3mis. We all want the geek to get the girl... even though it felt a little disconnected with the story, not entirely needed, I loved the inclusion and how it helped to humanise Wade and give him a connection to the outside world. The Oasis virtual reality had just about swallowed him up and she was the next adventure after he was to find a way through his online quest.

The pacing was great - I think most of the book was a page turner for me. Some moments where Cline started prattling off specifics, or info-dumped a bit of history, or backstory, killed the momentum, but on the whole it's the most engaged I've been in a while. I didn’t have a lot of free time to read, but when I did it was very easy to slip back in to. There was no confusion about who was who, or where the story was going. It was pure entertainment.

I enjoyed the subtext of ‘avatar perception vs real life’ - a comment on the possibilities of where we could be headed and how thing like 'catfishing' is happening more regularly.

The plot is fairly simple – it reads like a quest for a video game - and it’s intentional, so in that sense it’s fairly predictable. Though I found a lot of sub-plots and roadblocks delightfully surprising and entertaining. I’m looking forward to the film interpretation masted by Steven Spielberg, with Tye Sheridan playing Wade, slated for a March 30, 2018 release. *squee*

Highly recommend. Cline paints a colourfully graphic world, addressing issues we are facing now as we grow with technology, and with all the pop culture references, it’s like nerd porn.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 8, 2017
I remember the 80s, and although I owned and tried to play the original Zork, held my own in Asteroids, and could at least read the source code for DOS, this book was intended for a much younger audience. I’m sure it will make a blockbuster action movie. However, should you venture inside its covers be prepared for many moments like this: the hero lives in a dystopian, declining America, playing a video game simulation using immersive technology, goes inside a Blade Runner Voight-Knight replicant testing machine, enters another level to play yet one more video game and the author says ... “Then I found myself in surreal surroundings.”!!! Oh, and the ending ... “reality is real.” !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2015
Ready Player One has a great premise. Set in a grim future, humanity escapes their miserable lives in a massive virtual reality game called the OASIS. The creator and owner of the OASIS dies, leaving his fortune to whomever can solve a series of puzzles and challenges he left in the OASIS. It pays homage to the 80s and the history of gaming, which would have been great if the first 60 pages weren't a massive info dump. I nearly stopped reading, but I wanted to see how much of the massive info dumps were really relevant to the plot later on. Not a whole lot of it was.

The descriptions of the actual action scenes were pretty sparse, while this book spent pages upon pages of name dropping various cult classics and 80's movies, video games, music, etc. Usually with this kind of nod to geekdom, it's pretty much expected that anyone who would be interested in the subject, would already know what a MMORPG is or a GM is. So it was sort of puzzling that nearly every reference had to be explained in this book. Not a huge deal, but I didn't much care for the narration style. So much time was spent describing what avatars were wearing, vintage video game art, and an 80s style VR chat room, and yet, when the action started... it skimmed over it with a tidy 'the battle was fierce'. And often crucial actions were described after the fact. For example, during one scene, the protagonist was escaping from a high level corporation building and the backstory was told in parenthesis like this: (Oh yea I planted this super awesome high tech device two days ago so I could retrieve it now. Because I'm smart.). Not an exact quote, but that's how it came across for me.

Even though this book had its faults, I did enjoy it, and wanted to see how it ended. It was a good story, but the narrative style wasn't for me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon March 8, 2017
RPO is a future dystopia set in a world were everyone wants to be in the Matrix, basically all the time, due to the real world stinking. Wade Wates stumbles over the trailhead to the

Probably what irritated me was that so much was brushed over. This really should've been a trilogy(RPO, the Jade Key, and the Crystal Key) or a even a quadralogy, as while there are no plot holes per se, theres so much about the geopolitical landscape that he drops in your lap then goes "That sure was neat, now forget about it and back to my main plot line." He talks about the collapse of society (no oil, per usual) but then there are Emerald City like wonderlands that're better than real life. No energy, except for all the energy to run the Oasis. No political strength, except Wes Crusher is the Oasis President. No ability to make anything new except.... rickety stacks of RV's? And while the nostalgia run ran through quite a few of my happy places, I wish there'd been more. No Star Wars or Trek except passing mentions. Dozens of wonderous trailheads with a barely glimpsed landscape over the horizon, then you're jerked away from it.

But this is still 5 stars despite or in spite of all of that, as I genuinely can't find anything wrong with it except an out of place, slightly over the top villain.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 25, 2017
This book is radically overhyped. The story is fine, but the bulk of the narrative is built around the author showing off his 80s era trivia chops. The If you remove his intense and deep knowledge of the decade (with a few head nods to the 90s and even the 00s) the story is mediocre at best. The introduction is the best part. After that the characters remain one dimensional and the reason for the conflict isn't really clear. I have a beef with characters who suddenly know things necessary to complete tasks, and Cline's protagonist has this in spades. At high-school age he's memorized everything that ever happened from 1980-1990. The character's sudden discovery of abilities are more of a stretch than the sci-fi setting. If you want a fun, mindless vacation read that you can put down, this is fine. If you want something deeper, look elsewhere.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2018
At first, I wasn’t going to give this book a five. Yes, there are a ton of references to pop culture and what not from the eighties on, and some of it kind of irritated me. I loved the majority of it but there were parts where I thought it was just lazy. Now though, I understand that it was used in a way to help the reader understand the characters and the culture of gaming and geekiness that is what this book is about. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure I could read the book again and still think it was lazy. Upon finishing the book though I just had a lot of fun. This book really understands the culture and essence of gaming. There are a lot of themes touched on that are pretty serious and worthwhile: friendship, what makes people happy, isolation, loneliness, poverty, corruption, the difference between rich and poor, tolerance, and a whole host of other things. It’s all presented in a fun and engaging way. I mean shoot, I read the book super fast. Isn’t fun and escapism supposed to be a little bit about reading a good book is about? Four several hours I got to live in the OASIS and understand better gaming culture and what has drawn millions of people to love it so much. I had fun and you will too if you give this book a shot. Hopefully the movie captures the same things as the book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse