Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on July 21, 2017
Linda Howard is one of my favorite authors, and this book didn't disappoint. It's a great suspense story that kept me engrossed in the action and wanting to find out what happened next. I don't really understand the negative reviews. The only thing I can figure is that those readers were expecting more of a romantic story. The relationship between Xavier and Lizzy is there, but in more of a background kind of way (I don't really want to say more to ruin the story for anyone).

I loved Xavier (truly drool worthy), and Lizzy was likeable and relatable as well. They don't actually get together until about 75% of the way through the book, but again, there is a reason for that and context is provided throughout the story. You do get to see both characters before that point, just not together as a couple. For me, Xavier's absolute devotion to protecting Lizzy was romantic enough to get me through the first part of the book in which they weren't actually "together".

Definitely worth reading!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 29, 2018
I enjoy this author but this was not her best. The characters and the romance were great; the story was unbelievable. The cost of all the man power watching Lizzie for 3 years was definitely fiction. The checks and balances in place between the players was also far fetched. But it kept my interest and was enjoyable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 31, 2018
I enjoy Linda Howard works especially because she has innovative ideas. In this book, Lizette wakes up and does not recognize the woman she sees in the mirror. What has happened? Who is she? How can she fix this?
All these questions flew into my head and as I read on, I wanted to find a solution to these problems with her. Linda gives us multiple perspectives, we get a peek at people who are "good" and who are not. In the end, it makes for an interesting book that you will not put down before you will find out all the answers.
I did feel like the system they used should have been explained more because I was interested in how it all worked. This book concentrates more on the main characters journey and emotions/feelings than politics behind all that has happened.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2013
Linda Howard can write a romantic thriller like nobody else, and the plot of this one twists and turns and leaves the reader guessing who Lizette Henry really is. The reader doesn't wonder anymore than Lizette herself the morning she looks in the mirror and sees a face she doesn't recognize, a face that bears the almost invisible scars of plastic surgery. Immediately, Lizette is struck by violent nausea and a blinding headache. She recovers enough to call in sick at work, only to be told not to worry, that she hasn't taken a sick day in the four years she worked at the investment firm. Lizette realizes that she can't remember first going to work for the firm, and in fact, seems to be missing two years of her life. Again a violent headache strikes. Whenever she tries to recall her past, at least any past beyond the most recent four years, a painful headache renders her helpless. Then the dreams start--intimate dreams of her and a man she loves. But Lizette knows no such man and has hardly dated in the past four years. When she leaves her home to try to find answers to her missing past, she barely survives attempts to murder her. What is happening, and what does the handsome, but threatening man have to do with her? Why is he following her, and why does she suddenly find she has skills she never knew she had--marksmanship with a gun, martial arts, defensive driving, how to live on the run?

A tightly plotted thriller that fools the reader almost to the end. I highly recommend THE SHADOW WOMAN to fans of romantic suspense.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2014
Linda Howard used to be one of my go to authors. I read everything she wrote and couldn't wait for her to publish her next book. I don't know what happened, either I became more discriminating or Ms. Howard lost her touch. Personally I think it was the latter. Several years ago I read two of her books and both bombed. At that time I decided not buy anymore of her books until her ratings imporved. For several years I checked the reviews and they continued to be poor. So, I was pretty happy when the overall rating for this book had 4 stars. I even had Amazon send me a free sample to my Kindle before purchasing this book. The first two chapters (free sample) were pretty good and interesting, even the last severaly chapters were okay, but all the stuff in between was sorely lacking. There was no substance. Unfortunately I think this will be the last Linda Howard story I purchase. Very disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 31, 2018
So good to have a chance to read a book by Linda Howard. It has been to long. Sometimes life has a habit of getting in the way. It had great suspense, unique story line and naturally some love thrown in. I highly recommend. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Happy reading!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2018
After I read enough to realize the main character had been altered in some way I almost stopped reading. Then I remembered how much I enjoyed the books I had read by this author.
The suspense was nail biting at times and delightfully sexy at others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2013
Linda Howard's 'Shadow Woman' is a fascinating story. A woman wakes up, takes a shower and while pulling the towel from her head glances in the mirror and realizes that the face looking back at her is not her own. Why? How? You want to know.

I have long read Howard's books - some are better than others but when you read as much as I do you accept that not everything is Hemingway. In this case Howard had a great idea but mediocre finished product. And from some of the passages I got the idea Howard thought story could be replaced with bad soft core porn.

Following Lizette Henry as she tries to piece together her past and the missing pieces and not let on to 'them' that she is aware of a problem is the heart of the story. The characters that orbit around her are a bit too cliche and the writing is pedestrian. In the hands of a better writer this is page-turning, edge of your seat, can't put this down story-telling. But in Howard's hands the story is plodding and the characters one-dimensional.

Three stars because I wanted to know how it happened, why it happened and who made it happen. But what started so promisingly ended with a an unremarkable thud.

Not bad, just could have been great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2013
Shadow Woman
Linda Howard

Firstly, I think the publisher set the "e-book" price too high on this one; however, since I am a fan of Linda Howard I made an exception to my rule (regarding publisher pricing of e-books). I won't do that again. It's kind of my own, little person battle. Although I would urge others to join me in my protest.

Linda Howard is a very descriptive author. She creates believable environments, even with totally unlikely plots. This was a particularly descriptive tale. The heroine was interestingly written although implausible. The hero was rather of limited dimension.

The story just seemed to lack enough detail. It almost seemed like I was reading a detailed summary rather than a novel. The story lacked layers necessary to make it flow smoothly and without unanswered questions.

All-in-all this was a disappointing read, especially for an LH story. As always it was well written just underdeveloped in both plot and characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 7, 2014
I chose this rating because there is always room for improvement, but in this book, maybe not so much. When Lizette or Lizzie -- which is she -- wakes up one morning and not recognize the face looking back at her. Everything her world as she knows it is upside down. In comes her knight in black armour, Xavier, to her rescue, but in her confused state of mind, she doesn't remember him. Who is the enemy? Who is the good guy? Lizzie doesn't know and prepares to take flight. I like it because it's a battle of forces. In the end, of course, the good triumphs over the bad. I recommend this book to all romantic suspense lovers. Once I started, I didn't want to put it down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here