Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 45 reviews
on May 11, 2014
The book is highly informative and assertive. In the level of language, Said use of language and grammar fascinates me; what make it interesting is the sort of refrain that follow, in other words, once you know the meaning of a phrase in this book you find yourself familiar with the rest of the book. He always define the phrases he uses because they will re-appear many times in the book. In the ideology level, the book set around a clear thread that keeps you engaged the whole time; a lot of examples support assumption that he made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2016
An insightful analysis that has helped me to find direction in my own research. I now understand more clearly the area I would like to examine in my work and I'm happy to have this important work in my library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
I really like Edward Said's work, especially 'Orientalism', and he has a great grasp of colonization and imperialism, and how they affect the culture of both, and the power relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2014
I am a PhD student. This book present a Very interesting view of the Caribbean and helpful. Shows the complex scenario the zone represent for scholars of the Caribbean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
this is a great book especially for an understanding of caribbean culture and attitudes and the effect slavery and colonisation has had on the region.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
A landmark work. Had to have a paperback copy for our home library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2016
It is a fundamental work of criticism on post-colonial literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
This book is a correct analysis of the evolution of the islam thinking. Said didn't be a fundamentalist, because he substains also elements of the English culture and he proposes this literature in a traditional context. This book is more a collection of cultural events, in according to the personal coherence of the author, than the series of wars.
That is, here we have many aspects of the philosophic back-ground, and the imperialism is seen as trasmission of ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2014
An extremely interesting read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2015
In Said style. Very nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse