Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 127 reviews
on February 22, 2017
A great book for anyone who has any interest in the United States Air Force Pararescue units. Has a lot of good insight and gives as much of an idea of what it's like to be a pararescueman as possible from a book. Lots of great stories that just suck you in and spit you out with a whole new admiration and opinions about the line of work they do. Highly recommend to anyone who likes a book that keeps you on edge, waiting to turn to the next page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
I think the telling of the tales in this book is extremely well done. There is little in the way of bravado or exaggeration. The heroism of the people featured needs no additional comment than the facts with some insights from the people themselves as well as others.

There does seem to be editorialism to validate the place of the PJs in the world of SpecOps such as drawing comparisons or making derisive comments about other SpecOp groups. This wasn't necessary and is distracting from the main point: PJs and CCs are incredible warriors, receive the best training in their fields, have some of the most physically and mentally demanding training with the highest drop out rate of a SpecOps group, and carry out their missions with precision and professionalism.

In theater, when you are in trouble, hurt and/or pinned down, they come to the rescue ... what more needs to be said to understand their place?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
It is a sterling book on the PJ's. Lots and lots of detail . . . actually it is so detailed it is almost a text book. I'm struggling to get through it. But, thank you all your brave and heroic people in the military.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
Wow what can I say? This book is amazing and tells the stories of the amazing members of pararescue and the craziness they live in order to save lives. It was hard for me to put this book down and you could easily picture the missions as the author described.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
Hirsh takes the reader into the belly of the beast. The warriors whose heroism and self-sacrifice he chronicles come from all over the great nation they've sworn to protect. His story treats their lives - and for some, their ultimate sacrifices - with the dignity and honor they have earned. At the same time, Hirsh manages to call a spade a spade, and calls to task some of the rear echelon "leaders" whose actions and/or inactions exacerbated already bad situations and arguably led to the unnecessary deaths of some of America's true heroes. He writes with an unapologetic conviction, and even offers some specific, intelligent suggestions at the end of the book for ways in which corporate America can and should stand beside these fallen heroes and their loved ones. As a 10-year NAVY veteran, I applaud Mr Hirsh for his hard work and effort to chronicle the last, finest hours of some of America's NEXT "greatest generation".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
This is a really GREAT book. I love it! Being in the search and rescue profession myself I can relate to many of the stories and find command ground with the people and places here within these pages. The writing is outstanding, at times it sounds and feels more like a first person account rather than a collection of stories told through the authors second hand account debriefings with these men. The author lived with these men, ate with them, slept in the same barracks... He truly tells their story beautifully.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
So, I've been training a while to join the PJs so take this as a fan's review. I loved the way Michael Hirsh wrote this and his unique story telling. He truly captured the PJ spirit and did a great job documenting. A must read for CSAR enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
One of the best, if not the best book I've read about any military unit. The author pulled no punches issuing well deserved criticism to career minded, pencil pushing officers which was really refreshing. He does more than just blindly praise PJs (individuals and teams), he describes how they've earned it in dramatic detail. As I neared the end of the book, I wished there was more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
"So Others May Live"

This book provides an outstanding look inside the mindset and abilities of the exalted few worthy of living by this motto.

Exceptionally well written and crafted in a way most books written by outsiders can't seem to quite capture.

To the author: Good on ya for getting it right. They've earned it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
Enjoyed the book. It was informative regarding training and real world experience of the PJs. If you enjoyed the NatGeo program "Inside Combat Rescue" then you will most likely enjoy the book as well. He was, in my opinion. a little harsh regarding a questionable decision made by a senior officer on a mission that resulted in the crash of a C-130. However, the author did provide comments from the officer as to why he made the decision. You can form your own conclusions. Mine was that I am fortunate to not have to make such quick decisions under such trying circumstances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse