Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on September 9, 2013
I like the concept of this book a little more than what it actually gives you but it is still an interesting read. I would have like to hear a little more info and not so much generalization about the people.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
When I read the reviews of this book I thought it would be tips by super achievers that could be used in everyday life. Most of the stories were just how to be a super achiever in their own field. An example of this was the man who writes crosswords. I did not find that any of this could be translated to a broader life view. The snip-its of people were interesting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
Great insight to a diverse group of achievers. I enjoyed comparing success stories among those featured here. With fast moving chapters, it is a great book to leave on the coffee table for friends/family to enjoy. Great gift too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
The authors of the book are so acutely passionate about exploring the techniques, approaches, pursuits, obstacles, and ultimately keys to success that it ultimately feels as if it was penned by Superachievers. The in depth interviews and unique detailing of personal hardships and triumphs is utterly relatable and equally inspiring. I bought the book and it was such a page-turner that I finished it the day I bought it. Surprisingly though, I feel as if I could reread the book down the line and gain new insight. I was touched by Laura Linney's story and moved by Jessica Watson's bravery and inspired by mostly all the people that are outlined as Superachievers in the book. It is quite a unique story to tell, how Superachievers do what the do and do it so well. And I was immersed in the brilliance and talent that exploded from the pages. It is a MUST read for everyone! Whether you are a homemaker, a nine-to-fiver, or a fresh out of college living back at home with your parents young adult, you will find something in this book that speaks to you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
The Art of Doing, an original approach to learning what inspires and motivates Superachievers. Perhaps the authors should be the subject of their own book because it obviously took super achieving to publish such a well written, new, interesting and entertaining piece.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
This book is not only interesting but helpful in giving insight into how to achieve in your own life. It is entertaining while at the same time building awareness of what you can do to improve your own chances for success. The authors have been thorough in delineating which factors contributed to each person's success and ferreting out how these factors were important for their achievement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2013
After the introduction the author list 10 key points then 2 sets of facts for each doer. It's not something you can sit down and enjoy reading, but kind of pick up from time to time. I wish I could return it because that format is disappointing. It's good to have around the house for a conversation starter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
I'm a busy entrepreneur and couldn't wait to read this book. It's interesting to get into the minds of superachievers; what makes them tick, their habits, the "winning" traits... With each chapter I found myself comparing their habits with my own. A very productive (and fun) read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
I haven't finished reading yet, but it opens up the mind to new creative ideas. Nice reading about other people's positive and negative experiences.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
I read about this book in a newspaper article talking about how this book has identified certain traits of super-achievers specifically traits like self-evaluation. I was under the impression I was going to read about the underlying traits that are common to super-achievers. After the title has the word "HOW" twice in its title.

What i received had the sophistication of one of those Yahoo articles that is designed to be light and entertaining and nothing more then junk food for the mind.

The book is broken up into 36 Chapters. Each Chapter is roughly about 7 pages long (you see where this is going ?). The Authors interviewed 36 people across a variety fields. There is an introduction in each chapter, For each person/chapter there is 10 points each point is one paragraph.\Then at the end of each chapter err the 6th and 7th page of the chapter there is first trivia about the person interviewed and thereafter trivia about the deal. Plus a one line takeaway. That is the formula.

So lets take Chapter 35...Author's would like to explain to you in 7 pages "How to Win the Indy 500" the chapter features Helio Castroneves. Of his ten points (paragraphs) some include things like "wait for the right moment to make a move" (point 3)..."Go with your gut" Point 9..and Point 10 "Have Fun".....I am no more prepared to Win an Indy 500 race after reading this chapter then I am if I had read a cereal box. The takeaway for Chapter 35 was "Racing isn't a sport;its a quest" - okay thanks.

Other things you might want to learn "HOW" to do are "How to grow killer Weed" - yep included in a book about superachievers is a person who knows how to grow cannibas extremely well. Other chapters are devoted to things like "How to Find Extraterrestrial Life".."How to get the Funk"..."How to live life on the Road" (because I guess your a super-achiever if your never home).

For the first time ever I am seriously thinking of sending the book back to Amazon and getting a refund. Terrible book.
1212 comments| 286 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse