Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Human Geography: People, Place, and Culture
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Chris Staples Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 23, 2009
Don't think textbook, think "National Geographic" meets "Travel and Leisure". The authors' choice of photographs brings alive the people, places and cultures of the world in this well written book. Detailed maps, insightful text and rich photographs make this book an informative and enjoyable read.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is pertaining to the Kindle edition.

Do not buy this book for the Kindle edition, especially if you are a student who is trying to get an extra copy to supplement your course textbook. The Kindle edition makes it difficult, if not impossible, to view the maps in the detail that is needed to appropriately study them for course reasons.

The book is relatively good, but, the Kindle edition loses the key aspects of the images and maps that you need to understand the concepts of Human Geography.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2014
Challenging reading for 9th grade AP Human Geography students but student reviews are that the book is, "really interesting." Field notes are relevant and enjoyable.

Thought provoking discussions of controversial issues are not avoided but are treated in an even-handed manner.

Maps excellent. Organization excellent.

Do invest in the teachers or workbook supplements for good assessment and enrichment options.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2009
As a college student I always dreaded reading assignments, especially when the required reading came from textbooks. The goal for most texts seems simply to be to put the reader to sleep. This text, much to my surprise and delight, was the exact opposite of what I am used to reading! The content is well-written and easy to understand. The authors cover key geographical concepts and relate them to today's world. They relate this information in a way that is actually exciting for the reader. A great textbook and definitely recommended for students who have trouble understanding geographical concepts.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2011
This was on the course materials list for a class I recently took. I must say that it was a good read and actually kept me interested. I had the pleasure of being lectured by one of the authors and he was very knowledgeable. Unfortunately a new edition will probably come out in the next few months, making this one obsolete.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2011
I really like this book, it actually holds my interest pretty well, which says a lot for a required textbook. I love the easy reading format and the photos are lovely. I only wish it was available(at the time) in paperback, I could have saved a little money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
This book follows exact to the AP Human Geography study plan however, it does appear to me that from taking the test that there is a lot of material that the book is missing that usually ends up in the test
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2010
This is an interesting book to read, and has a lot of great content. The book also has a ton of editing errors including spelling errors, incomplete sentences, and just a lot of editing mistakes. Otherwise a great purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
Though it wasn't quit entailed with the information that I was looking for per se, I have to admit its informative content was refreshing. Sadly, the text, was structured more on historical facts than geographical data. Otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2009
My Grandson's high school does not allow this text to be brought home so I purchased one for him. With his addition of marginal notes and highlighting it has been a definite plus in his studies and his grades have improved.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse