Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on September 25, 2017
I ordered this book after Lorde tweeted about it and I read more reviews and realized it was the kind of thing I'd be interested in. I was in a phase of life where I wasn't sure how I felt about love as a human concept. Barthes breaks down the human experience of love so effortlessly so that you are able to understand. I have underlined almost every line of this book. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2013
This is an autobiography to measure others by, a wonderful book. Barthes wit and wisdom shines through. The pictures show a side of life that makes you wonder about your own past.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2010
Ditto. If you're a nerd, a scholar, or a poet - or maybe just crazy in (preferable non-correspondend) love thinking that your love is so unique - buy this book and see the linguistic mechanics of it all. It's fun!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2014
Barthes " A Lover's Discourse" takes one on a journey of longing, the broken heart and what it means to love. His text drawers from multiple literary examples such as Goethe to demonstrate these tropes. Barthes uses a structuralist method to create these meditations on love and loss, that not only stimulate the mind but also the heart. Barthes takes phrases and feelings and analyzes them reminding us of the diction of love, and how it remains a structural piece. This book is for anyone interested in structuralism without the dryness of academia, as well as anyone interested in the topic of love. The translation is quite good, and I definitely recommend this to those who want to read Barthes but cannot read French.
Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2014
Being familiar and having read Barthes extensively, I found this speculation — on a wonderful and inevitable topic — laborious and disciplined, but ultimately thin and lacking of gravity, or for that matter, levity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 22, 2017
good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2016
good condition, no scuffs or anything! its a great read if you really take the time to look thorugh the excerpts and the author does a good job at making complicated concepts seem "easy" to understand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 17, 2013
A passionate, sensitive discourse on the physical nature of the senses: eroticism of art, sex and the fear of death.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 21, 2014
great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2017
This is How you understand the internal lover!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here