Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19,199
The Hobbit
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 22, 2014
Having only an old 1994 worn paperback edition of the Lord of the Rings, I wanted to purchase a version that I could read and display for many years to come. I did a ton of research and decided upon this version (ISBN 116-1749849-2513827), illustrated by Alan Lee and published by Harper Collins in June 2014 (I am adding these details because the Amazon.com site does not make it clear what this version is). Please note that this particular printing is NOT available in the US but any Tolkien or LotR devotee should not be deterred (Frodo wouldn't have been!). I must say that this is the finest published one-volume version of the LotR that I have ever laid eyes upon, and is well worth every penny. It includes approximately 50 high-quality color illustrations by Alan Lee, which even for a 30-something like me makes the reading experience exceptional. The front and back covers are made of durable, high-quality cloth (as shown), with a strong and handsome turquoise binding. The pages -- not just the illustrations but the entire book -- are glossy and made of "whiter" paper than you generally find, the margins large, and the typeset easy on the eyes.

For those who care about such things, the printing is based on the 2004 corrected text, with even further corrections. There are updated introductions/forwards by Wayne G. Hammond & Christina Scull, authors of the authoritative "LOTR Readers Companion," as well as by Douglas A. Anderson, who provides a detailed publication history of the Lord of the Rings. The full appendices are included.

Two-page red and black maps of Middle Earth and of Gondor/Rohan/Mordor adorn the front and back covers, with a map of the Shire before the first chapter. Also present are other essentials such as the Doors of Moria and the Tomb of Balin. The only drawback is that the facsimile pages of the Book of Mazarbul was not included, which I found to be surprising and a bit disappointing Also, the ring inscription and the Gandalf "rune" are printed in black rather than silver and red. Probably the main issue is the clear plastic slipcover, which is barely bigger than the book itself, and it is difficult to slip the book back inside it after taking it out. You are more likely to scuff the corners of the book. That being said, these are far from dealbreakers, and the joy to be received from owning this edition far outweighs these issues.
66 comments| 318 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2015
Very nice books, binding seems nice. I love the covers although they are not "paperback" and are more of a fake leather material. These books are beautiful and very convenient. They are pocket-sized which is great for on the go, they aren't too small or too big (actually bigger than I anticipated which is a plus). The font size is readable, the only thing I would have to note is that the font size isn't the same throughout the different books. The font size seems to be based on the length of the books, the longer the books are, the smaller the font is (I suppose this was in order to keep them pocket-sized as well as consistent with the sizes of the other books throughout the set). If you have decent to good eyes, this set would be perfectly fine for you on the go but those people who don't have as good of eye sight, because I know some people who tend to get headaches while focusing on small font, this set may not be for you. I will upload some pics of the font comparisons, books, etc.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
1313 comments| 473 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2015
Review for The Lord of the Rings.

I'll keep it brief, this is not a review of the actual story but of this specific edition. I have attached many pictures that I hope help you decide if this is an edition you want to buy.

Pros:
- The font is big and easy to read.
- 65 beautiful illustrations by Alan Lee that bring the story to life.

Cons:
- Slipcover is an opaque plastic, whit a modern look that I think doesn't complement the book.
- One or two blank pages before and/or after each illustration.

Overall I think this is a great edition and it's worth buying.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
55 comments| 269 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 24, 2017
The Lord of the Rings is THE standard for high fantasy fiction against which all others are measured. The world building is second to none. Tolkien took twenty years to write the series. He freakin invented several original languages that the inhabitants of middle earth speak, not to mention fully developed a history of its characters lineages and the creation of the world. The character development is thinner than in many other books, but they aren't meant to be realistic. LOTR is modeled after and utilizes many motifs from classic creation myths of old (Norse, welsh, old English, German), that idealize and make central, protagonists of unimpeachable virtue against antagonists of irredeemable malice. The plot is a classic struggle between the forces of good and evil, where fate of the world is held in the hands of the weak who must strive alone, against all odds and hope to defeat a great enemy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2018
This is a fabulous story that I loved in my youth. It was a treat to savor it as an older adult. Tolkien is a master story teller, creating a world filled with wonders. I liked the materials for the 75th anniversary. The Kindle app made it easy to find out about characters, view images (and magnify them), find relevant earlier passages. It is a good tale on its own, but whets the appetite for Tolkien’s masterpiece, The Lord of the Rings. A bonus in the Kindle version is the treat of hearing JRR Tolkien reading select passages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2015
The Fellowship of the Ring is the first book of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. It takes place more than fifty years after the events that occurred in The Hobbit. It follows the first part of Frodo Baggins' journey with the One Ring. It begins with Bilbo's 111th birthday party, where he makes a grand escape from the Shire, leaving all of his belongings to Frodo, including what he assumed was a simple magic ring.

Frodo lives peacefully in the Shire until Gandalf the Gray comes bearing knowledge of the ring's true identity. He says that the ring once belonged to the Dark Lord Sauron himself, and that it must be thrown into the volcano in which it was forged to destroy it. Frodo reluctantly agrees to take the Ring to the land of the elves so that a wise council may decide on a course of action. He leaves with 3 other hobbits, Sam, Merry and Pippin. On their way they meet up with a friend of Gandalf, a ranger by the name of Aragorn. Together they trek to Rivendell. When they arrive the council decides that Frodo is actually the best candidate for this dangerous venture, and sends him on his way with 8 others, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Aragorn, Gandalf, an elf named Legolas, a dwarf named Gimli, and a man named Boromir.

They decide to travel to Mordor by taking a pass in the Misty Mountains, but end up needing to go through the goblin infested Mines of Moria. In these winding tunnels they encounter an ancient demon, The Balrog, and Gandalf perishes fighting him off. The eight remaining members continue on their journey by river and eventually see Gollum, a deformed creature that had owned the ring before Bilbo. He had been searching for it for many years, and was following the Fellowship. During their travels, Boromir had been acting continually stranger, and eventually reveals his plan to take the Ring from Frodo and use it to protect his kingdom. Frodo realizes that the Ring is corrupting all of his friends and decides to sneak away from the Fellowship and make the trek alone. He does not elude Sam, and the story ends with the two of them heading for Mordor.

I personally enjoyed this book greatly, but I found it a little hard to follow. The writing style deviates from what one would normally expect out of a novel and thus I found myself rereading sections of this book to understand it properly. This being said, the way of writing really adds depth to the characters and the environment and makes the story feel as if it was being told rather than read.

The entire story speaks of bravery through tragedy. I could feel the tension of being chased and nearly found by the Ringwraiths, and relief when our brave Hobbits arrived in Rivendell. The entire story is easy to sympathize with, and balances the good and bad moments excellently.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book and series to anyone interested in fantasy. Its few shortcomings are actually give it a unique feel and made it a very memorable novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Just recently reread The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. I admit, it is because The Hobbit is in theaters and I haven't read them in many, many years. Even having seen the movies, the books really bring me back into an wonderful fantasy world. Not an easy read, but well worth it, and I was able to draw on some bits from the movies for visuals, while getting the more complete story of the novel. I'd recommend these books for anyone!

The beginning of one of the greatest stories ever told. Slow at times, but full of adventure, emotion, and exciting characters. Classic good v evil. Having watched the films, loved being able to have a real visual to draw on for some parts, like Moria and the Balrog, but still able to just get lost in imagination while reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
There's no point in reviewing the novel itself, so I'll only talk about the 50th anniversary edition in particular. It is without question amazing in quality, from the leather binding to the golden gilded pages and even the slipcase. Unfortunately there are a few flaws, one of them glaring, that I need to subtract a star for.

First and foremost, the fold-out maps enclosed in the front and back covers, while nicely constructed on parchment-like paper, are glued to hold them in place when first shipped. I carefully managed to remove all of the glue in the map behind the front cover, but I was not so successful with the back cover's map, resulting in a bit of a tear. Considering this is a collector's copy, I consider this fairly unforgivable, not to mention completely unnecessary.

Also, the spine seems a bit thin, as a few other reviewers also noticed. As for the pages themselves, I was mostly pleased, fearing they would indeed be transparent-thin as one reviewer claimed. All in all, this is a book that would stand up to a few readings, which is all it should be subjected to considering most of us will have other copies for casual reading.

As I stated before, this is a beautiful edition of the (single, 6-part) novel, and the best edition I've ever seen, though I've never had the pleasure of owning the British, Harper Collins edition. Certainly well worth the price, though, frankly I would've preferred an even better, more expensive edition.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2017
The Return Of The King is an excellent book. It wraps up The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy and then provides a wealth of knowledge of the characters and Middle Earth history as well.

I collect different editions of the trilogy, and this was the last book of this set that I needed. It is an great shape, just as the seller listed. I am very happy with my purchase and will look to them first when I work on my other editions.

Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 13, 2017
Very nice hardcover edition. Designed to last, and beautifully illustrated jacket by Donato of Smaug the Golden, squatting on his treasure hoard. Inside is the old standard edition from Random House/Ballantine Books with the original illustrations by Tolkien. A great Christmas gift for your dedicated Tolkien enthusiast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse