Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$15.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 211 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 362 reviews
on August 16, 2016
This is a great book for examining religions based on their own doctrine, but viewed through the lenses of a fundamentalist christian author (Walter Martin and now additionally Ravi Zacharias). This book views theology from the Christian Bible as it basis and foundation, and has been widely embraced by fundamentalists and evangelicals, but many of the adherents to faiths labeled as cults within the book, have openly opposed the book for obvious reasons.

Walter Martin died in 1989 I believe, but he had held to a baptist Christian perspective toward the bible and theology. He and his book are still widely considered an authoritative reference by many fundamentalists and evangelicals. If you are not familiar with Ravi Zacharias (I believe RZIM.org is the website for this ministry) there is a lot of video footage available on youtube that will relate his doctrinal beliefs much better than I could ever do here.
In a very condensed nutshell, Ravi Zacharias is a very well educated Christian theologian (originally from India I believe), who is often invited to speak on college campuses and in various venues most speakers would consider too hostile toward Christian beliefs. Based on the videos I have viewed, Ravi seems to genuinely believe Jesus is the Christ prophesied of and made known in the Judaeo Christian Bible, and he therefore serves Jesus according to this belief in a very humble and extraordinarily patient way.

Regardless of one's position on Christ or ones determination of Faith, there is a wealth of knowledge from Philosophy, Sociology, History, and Religion found in Ravi Zacharias' teachings. However, if you love learning more about Jesus and hold a bible-believing faith in salvation based on grace and faith in Jesus Christ as I do, you will likely also love Ravi Zacharias' teachings.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
It's a long book, and as I read it over lunch most days, it took a while. What I liked the most was the deep scholarship and very thorough referencing; the author did a tremendous amount of research. A close second is the author's balanced view of some sects' honest Christian stances even when some of their theology is contradictory. I also liked his attitude of compassion towards those who labor in the darkness of various cults or philosophies. Though he is thorough with Bible references, I have difficulty with his almost exclusive use of the King James translation. It's beautiful and useful, but it's my opinion that this version of English puts many hearers off because they may equate the archaic mode of expression with the relevance of following the way of Christ or even of "religion" in general. I would recommend the book to anyone who is interested in being prepared for giving an account of his/her beliefs in Jesus and wouldn't mind putting in the time it would take to digest it. If you are really serious you may have to keep referring to it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
The Kingdom of the Cults by Walter Martin
This is an outstanding reference book for all Christian home libraries. The late Walter Martin was a very well known and respected
Christian authority on the many cults that are so numerous today. He was on radio and TV often and helped educate me and many others on what to look for when searching for a church or religion to maybe become involved with. He details numerous cults in his book and gives great details with references to back everything up. Walter helped me to choose becoming a Christian believing in the Holy Bible as the Word of God, with no other additions added. This is a great reference book for Christians or others searching for a spiritual path to follow.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
Classic book...I own the one from 1977 and decided to get the update, since there are a lot more cults out there. Back then we had the "Hare Krishna's" in their orange gowns selling flowers in almost every airport, "Moses David" and the "Children of God," ( a really sick, sexual abomination of a cult!), EST, TM--both of which I believe are still around, although they don't seem to have as much exposure as they did back then--Harold Armstrong's "The World of Tomorrow," which is still around, only it's called "Armstrongism\Anglo-Israelism," the "Moonies," which is Sun Myung Moon, who died a few years ago--and now his wife runs it, "Bahai Faith," "Father Divine," only I think he died and that was the end of that one, I could keep going, but you get the idea.

I believe today's are a lot more sinister in their approach, only because the spirit of Satan is stronger on the earth: more crime, more insanity, more evil, more controlling of men's thoughts, actions and lives. While this book does cover his earlier work, Dr. Martin adds newer--and more dangerous cults of today's society in this edition. If you want to be informed, or are just curious, this book is a must.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
.Great book for learning about cults and what they believe. Also, great use to see what may help them find the truth in Jesus. Recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2016
We used this for a textbook in Bible school. It is a great resource for learning about the various cults in the world. Walter Martin has done a lot of research and I feel that this book is a good one to have on your shelf as a reference.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
I do ministry with college students and it's so helpful to have a book like this which gives an overview of many different cults and their basic beliefs. It's especially helpful for me working in a college setting, where you run into a wide variety of faith systems that have over time, become mainstream like Mormonism. The book for instance shows what key differences Mormonism has with biblical Christianity. Some of the cults in the book, I never even knew existed such as the Unification Church (Moonies) or something that doesn't get as much less attention such as Unitarian Universalism, which help to prepare me for doing ministry with people who may adhear to their beliefs when on campus.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Very detailed account of all of the major cults. Each chapter deals with the history and core beliefs of the cults and how they differ from mainstream Christianity. Walter Martin and Ravi Zacharias are Christian apologists that are very knowledgeable about cults and the interactions that they have with the public and the dangers that they pose to Christianity in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2016
Another very good reference book on what the cults believe. But I did find it interesting that since Martin did not view Seventh Day Adventism as a cult that they printed some 93 pages on the SDA and much of that material is found in book that view the SDA as a cult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
Phenomenally insightful.

I could go on for a long while as to how important this material is for Christians or even those who are exploring Christianity or the "religions" around Christianity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse