Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. Get 10% back on select Bang & Olufsen products Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on August 4, 2013
At first I was surprised how old the book is. It is unlikely you will manage to get a new one, but it is not important.
The books is important as an into to molecular bio because it covers a few basic techniques and explains it in a fairly simple way.
The important topics/experiments the book covers are:

1. Restriction Enzymes.
2. Transformation, ligation and basic cloning.
3. Southern Blot, Northern & Western Blots.

What it does not cover:

1. PCR, RT-PCR etc.
2. Sequencing (beyond the scope of some labs/colleges).

The get more info about more up to date molecular techniques you will need a different book and probably a text book.

Good Luck!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2018
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 1, 2015
Very outdated lab book. Our lab coordinator had to make numerous adjustments to the listed protocol to make our experiments work. Would not recommend; get something from the 21st century that's up-to-date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2014
Yes ,it came on time and was very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2011
I'm using this book for my molecular biology class.
It's the last class I need for my biotechnology certificate!
Stoked! Great book, prompt shipping time. THANKS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2007
This is a decent and easy enough to follow introductory text to basic molecular biology techniques. It's used in my Biotech class, and I like how the protocols clearly give you every step as well as cite reference papers. However, this book would not be enough just on its own as a textbook. This should be treated as a lab manual. It provides a cursory introduction and background for each protocol listed, but the information is very brief. You'll need an actual molecular biology/biotechnology textbook to understand the principles if you are a beginning student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2013
The print quality of this book below standards. It is a poorly photo copied version of the original print. The letters in the paragraphs are faded and hard to read. In fact it look like they took a picture of the text and not even a photo copy. The images like the wordings are faded. This product is not worth 100$. Pay about 20$ more and get the real product from a book store. I feel cheated and I am surprised that amazon is selling such substandard books. It honestly looks like a counterfeit. Do not buy this product, you will feel disappointed and cheated. Its print quality is horrible and actually look like a cheap counterfeit foreign textbook. Defiantly not worth 100$.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 13, 2000
Excellent introductory book for people who are interested in molecular biology. It is loaded with very detailed and easy to follow description of current molecular technicques. The book also contains a great deal of information on current theories in molecular biology, which are written even for the layman. I would also recommend this book for high school students who are interested in this field.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse