Spring Deals Automotive Children of Blood and Bone New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jordan Davis All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

on August 26, 2011
For busy people, the description of this book does not make clear that it is in a "comic book" format, other than mentioning that it is an approved "adaptation". For those wanting to read the book, as opposed to reviewing a comic book, it was disappointing when this came in the mail. Especially since it was a present.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2009
This adaptation of Bradbury's classic novella to a graphic novel is really superb, one of the best transitions between media of this sort that I've seen. In some ways Tim Hamilton's graphic novel actually improves on the original prose story without trodding on it. First off, the novella is just the right length to be a great graphic novel without being too long or too short. At 160 pages the graphic novel can be read in one sitting, which preserves the impact of the novella.

The art is gorgeous, and uses a really restrained palette that really brings out the coldness of the society Bradbury created, then switches over to glorious reds and yellows to show the fireman's flame. I like Hamilton's art style, which I would say is close to Tim Sale ("Batman: The Long Halloween").

Here's one of many key scenes in the novella done with imagination and verve in the graphic novel:



I was actually really reluctant to read this graphic novel because I have great memories of reading the original prose. I'm happy to say that the graphic novel compares favorably with the source. The story is simple and yet complex, and forces you to look at our society and its values; the story is MORE relevant now than when it was first published in 1953. The televisions of 1953 have been replaced in the "Fahrenheit" world with the living-room walls themselves which have become televisions, and there's a discussion about voting for the presidential candidate who is handsomer...

I don't mean to imply that the graphic novel is all that didactic; it's not. But along the way it does ask you to think about where our society is going, and who we are as a culture.

As you can see from the pages I posted, the art is low key, and purposely not "over the top" but really very effective. If you remember from the prose novella, there are some really crushing events that happen to the protagonist, and Tim Hamilton doesn't overdo them; he just presents them.

Not only is this "authorized" by Ray Bradbury, but he also does the forward. You know he didn't do this for the bucks, and you can see why he's happy with the result. There's actually a passage in the graphic novel that takes a well-deserved swipe at "classic" novels done as comics:


But the point is well taken, and this transformation into the graphic novel format is everything you could wish for from a transfer to this medium. It's every bit as moving as the source prose.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 19, 2014
Guy Montag is a fireman, he burns things, because that’s what firemen do, they burn things, and specifically, they burn books. "Burn 'em to ashes, then burn the ashes" is the firemen’s moto, and Guy is a happy fireman. Kerosene smells like perfume to him, and every day is an adventure, even if his home life is in shambles. Then the fireman meets the young vivacious Clarisse McClellan, who abstains from most of society's non-textual entertainments in lieu of walking and discussions.

Then one day Guy is witness to an old woman immolating herself by fire, using her kerosene soaked books as her funeral pyre. Guy crosses the line, he steals a book, one of many; his semi-comatose wife finds it, he takes a day off from his job, and his boss shows up to check on Guy. It’s here that he, and we, get a lecture on why books are banned, and as his boss leaves, he delivers to Guy a non-too veiled warning. With this, and that Clarisse and her family suddenly disappearing from the neighborhood, Guy finds that his life is going to change forever, and with these changes he also finds that he will never be able to go back to the life that he once had lived.

Because now he's hoarding books, he's reading them, he's thinking, questioning, learning, and he's realizing that the history that he's learned, and has been taught, has been rewritten, and faked, and all that he thought that he had known is wrong. And things continue to cascade as old alliances and relationships will corrode and dissolve, while new ones will be forged, and Guy finally realizes that his life has been a waste, and just how lonely he is. This is emphasized on page seventy-two when we get the lines "I can't talk to the walls because they're yelling at me. I can't talk to my wife; she listens to the walls." Which is a perfect little soliloquy about how it feels to be lonely in a world full of friends, and family, that you can't talk to, and you find yourself disconnecting from your life as you find yourself falling into solitude. And as the novel continues, Montag’s disintegration and rebirth is paralleled by his society's own disconnectedness from its citizens, and how this will cause his society to have its own phoenix moment.

Bradbury constructs this future on what he was seeing happening around him in the early fifties. In "Fahrenheit 451" a frustrated Bradbury gave us a cynical, and angry story with a cautiously optimistic ending, that is dystopian and apocalyptical. And to illustrate it, Tim Hamilton gives us page after page of beautiful, yet dark, moody, and expressionistic artwork that manages to capture all that Bradbury was trying to covey, while not getting in the story's way. While the novel is necessarily condensed somewhat for this graphic adaptation, and while it won’t take the place of the original, it is an excellent companion piece to the original that can only help enrich the experience of reading Bradbury's work, while standing well on its own.

Looking back, it's obvious that Bradbury was angry at both the liberal left with its political correctness and willing to overlook the failure of Stalinism, while being equally angry at the radical right with its constant fear mongering and its rewriting of history to fit its own means. With "Fahrenheit 451" Bradbury manages to warn against the rewriting of history for society's principals own ends, remote control wars, judging politicians by their looks, and not their brains, vacuous entertainment as a drug, and modern society's isolation, all of which have come to pass in spades.

Science fiction has always been political, from H. G. Wells, to Heinlein, to Asimov, to Clarke, Niven, Pournelle, and so on. And as such, it, at its best, becomes dangerous, and this is a dangerous book. With Hamilton’s great illustrations "Fahrenheit 451"'s message becomes easily digestible and consumed, thus making it extremely dangerous to those with closed minds who wish for dogmatism, instead of the ability to question, inquire, and to think. Bradbury's book is a book that always seems to be on the lists of books to be banned by the scared and the politically bluenosed, and if you’ve never read it, try this graphic novel version to start with, and you’ll see why it threatens so many, and why it is considered a threatening tome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 21, 2012
Fahrenheit 451 is the temperature at which books burn. Guy Montag is a firefighter whose job it is to start fires and burn books. No longer does the average firefighter put out fires. In Bradbury's science fiction world, books and reading are banned because if people read, and therefore gain knowledge, they are no longer equal to everyone else in society. Therefore the people are forbidden to read or own books and television is taking over the minds and entertainment of the people.

Montag figures out that there must be something important in books because he witnesses owners willing to die over the love of their books. At every fire he begins to steal a book to discover what is so important inside of them. Clarisse, Montag's neighbor asks him if he is happy and he realizes that he hasn't been happy in a long time. When Clarisse turns up dead, Montag decides that his life needs to change.

Tim Hamilton has created a splendid visual, graphic novel adaptation of Bradbury's classic book. The pictures are colorful, interesting, eye-catching and worthwhile. This is a great way to introduce a young adult to world of Ray Bradbury. Years ago I watched a film version of Fahrenheit 451, which is weirdly odd but I loved the idea behind this story. When I saw the graphic novel at the store, I bought it immediately and now it has piqued my interest in the novel and I may actually commit to reading it.

In the introduction to the graphic novel adaptation, Ray Bradbury asks a question of his readers. Which book would you most want to memorize and protect from any censors or "firemen"? I don't even have to ponder on this question, I know I would choose my favorite book of all time, Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I would choose this book because it is a masterpiece and contains, history of the Civil War as well as romance, culture, etc. Gone with the Wind is an iconic part of American culture and deserves to be remembered.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2016
Fahrenheit 451 by Tim Hamilton , This is a fictional book, it has a 160 pages of fun reading in the book. This book was published by Hill and Wang in July 21,2009. This not one of Tim’s Hamilton first books but it is a remake of the same book that Ray Bradbury written back in 1953 .Tim Hamilton is an American Cartoonist and illustrator and writer. For this version is a better one a comic of the book where all books are outlawed by firemen. Imagine that you couldn't read books and have the knowledge that the book gives. It's like the book says ” they only need understanding to know how the wheels run(page.46).’’ This shows how do you expect to understand if you got the main resource that would help you understand it. It shows how living in a Dystopian world is and how it would be if you was living in one.It's just like the original one Tim Hamilton made a comic of it just a little change to the style.Ray Bradbury made this book because the threat of book burning in the united states. The characters are well rounded up but the conversations don't be sounding as realistic because of how their world they living in is way different than ours.The plot of the story i would say it twist and turns it be everything good in one second then next thing you know something else is going on in the story a lot of action. The author's writing style is both humor and serious at points because there's some tense moments in the story which will make your face turn with fear. This book is recommended for people from 15 to 18 years old but i say adults would have a joy reading it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2013
Until i read this book in my 11th grade english class just 2 years ago, I HATED READING! When this book was assigned i expected to read the first 2 or 3 pages and then skim the rest of the book for answers to the questions. 2 pages turned into 3, 3 pages turned into 4, and 4 pages turned into the back cover. This book is perfect for this time period. In a world where we cant even trust anything our government(s) tell us, this book really opens your eyes. It is amazing to me how Bradbury wrote this in the 1950's as a Sci-Fic novel and it has basically become a biography of our time period. I guarentee you that 1.) when you start reading this book you will not want to put it down, and 2.) after you finish it, you will never look at the world the same way again.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 27, 2009
The story begins by introducing us to Guy Montag, a fireman. While that may seem a simple term to you, and though it might fill your mind with fanciful whims of firefighters coming to your rescue, in Montag's society, firemen burn. They burn books, to be exact. Yes, in this world, books are illegal. You see, where Montag comes from, firemen aren't friendly, aren't spoken too, and are silently feared.

Then Montag meets a young and carefree girl who not only dares to talk to this fireman, but also asks him a seemingly simple question, "Are you happy?" This question will haunt Montag for days to come. Montag cannot help but wonder if he is, happy that is. Is he pleased with his job and the loneliness it offers him? How about the fearful respect he receives from those around him, is he happy with that? Does he love his wife? Does he love his life? Does he even know how to love? All these are questions that flow through his mind, causing him a bitter inner turmoil.

One day, when his team of firefighters gets an alarm that an old woman has been hiding books, they head out to burn them. But when they reach the house, the woman is still there. Normally, police men will come and take the book owners to an asylum before the firemen ever get there, but this time the police hadn't shown. So the team of skilled firemen set to work, ripping pages out of books and spewing kerosene everywhere. Then, when they're ready to light the place up, they asked the woman to leave. She wouldn't. She was determined to go up in flames with her books.

The firemen prepared to force her out, but then noticed something. They watched as the woman shoved her hand into her pocket then pull it back out; in it was a box of matches. Slowly she removed a match stick, struck against the box and dropped on the ground. The place immediately lit with flames as the firemen fled from the house in panic.

Later that night, Montag began to ask some new questions, mainly "Why was that woman willing to die for her books? What's in them that makes people so crazy?" So, he sits down and begins to read from a book that he had snuck out of the old house.

I absolutely love this book, but I have to say that I'm glad it's not real. I would DIE if books were outlawed, I love reading too much! I enjoyed this book so much that I went to the library and borrowed several others by Ray Bradbury!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2009
I first read about this graphic novel adaptation of Ray Bradbury's classic book about a month ago. I was immediately intrigued. The original book is one of my all time favorites and I wanted to see if a graphic adaptation could do it justice. In short: it does.

Tim Hamilton and the folks at Hill and Wang, with the blessing of Ray Bradbury, who writes the introduction to the book, have produces a beautiful and well crafted retelling of the classic story that is both true to the original and able to stand on its own.

For those unfamiliar with the story, Guy Montag is a fireman, only in his world firemen don't put out fires, they start them. Books are banned and are the target of the firemen's activity. One day, Montag meets a person who intrigues him with her joie de vivre. He has never met anyone so alive and vibrant and he wonders why. He also begins to look at his own life and realizes he is not happy, that there is something missing. The rest of the tale revolves around his struggle to find meaning in a sterile, inoffensive world where everything is brought down to a common denominator of homogeneous agreeability. I won't spoil your enjoyment by revealing more than that.

Those of us who know the story well will note a few details are missing from this adaptation. Like when a movie is made, in this graphic novel it appears that some details of the written story were sacrificed to enable a cleaner telling in the new medium. Again, to avoid spoilers I won't mention here what has been left out, but I will say that the overall structure and message remain intact and the story does not suffer from the loss. Instead, those who move from this as an initial taste will find the book richer and even more enjoyable.

What about the artwork? That is the main point here, isn't it? I loved it. The artist chose a wonderful style to convey the emotion and action that is reminiscent of the minimalism of 1940s propaganda art, with a limited color palate on each page and just enough detail to convey the main point. Please don't read that to mean the art is simple or simplistic. On the contrary, Hamilton does an amazing job of choosing which details are most important and distilling the scenes down to only those which further the plot, emotion, or scene. Extraneous information is nowhere to be seen. That can only be by design and due to the disciplined intent of the artist. Detail that is useful is everywhere, and throughout the book the art complements the text beautifully while taking nothing away from it. That is an achievement.

I confess, I am a reader. I always have several books being read concurrently, stashed here and there for convenience. Fahrenheit 451 is a book I have read several times and which I love. I admit there was some trepidation when I heard about it being adapted into a new form. In this case, none was needed. I am not only pleased by the quality of the graphic novelization, but happy to recommend it. In fact, this makes me want to request a few other classic novels to be adapted, not as replacements, but as introductions to whet the appetites of the curious in the hopes of satisfying their initial curiosity about the works as well as convince some who might not otherwise to delve in and read the originals. Now, I wonder where I put the publisher's email address?
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 25, 2009
The whole point of Bradbury's book is lost in the vague ending. I am shocked that he approved this version. I enjoy graphic books, finding the varied art work as interesting as the differences in writing, but although the pictures were good, there was much of importance in this particular book that was ignored.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 10, 2009
I was reluctant to get this one as I didn't think a graphic novel could do Fahrenheit 451 justice but I was pleasantly surpised to discover that this adaptation does a good job with the story, which is one of my favorites. It keeps close to the story as it was originally written. Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse