Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Ultimate Hits by Garth Brooks PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 23, 2017
This is a review for the actual
Content, not the used book seller. This book is not a great option for learning a language from the ground up. In my experience, learning a language is best some the way students learn Latin (or used to): grammar must be introduced, practiced and built upon. This book introduces grammar concepts too quickly with minimal Practice and then throws exercises at the student which contain all kinds of concepts the student has never learned. The book is too thin and does not contain enough practices or review
(Even with the workbook and audio files). I do not recommend this book at all and If you're signing up for a class that uses it be sure you are aware that the book will be a hindrance and not a help.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2015
It's a pretty good book but I would definitely recommend pairing this with several other options if learning German on your own.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
Well organized with instructions and information in English, for better understanding of the language. Nice pictures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
this is a good book for a starter in the German language. I use it in our home-school lessons and it works well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
This book is clearly meant to be used in class with a teacher. I bought it to learn on my own in conjunction with online lessons because I like to have a book to refer to. This book has very little to no actual grammar explanation. There are some basic outlines for congregation and definitions, but no actual grammar instruction. It is mostly exercises that are meant to be done after instruction from a teacher. This would probably be fine if I were taking a class, but this is worthless for learning on your own. However, it was so cheap that it is not worth even sending back.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2005
This book is great for anyone who is just starting to learn German. It is up to date and has a lot of great examples. It takes you through the language teaching you to converse with others giving you easy to do assisgnments that you can do with a partner. If you are just starting out you might want to order the teachers edition so you have the anwsers to the assisgnments.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
Ganz gut
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
Bought as a high school replacement textbook/workbook because my son transfers between his middle school and the local high school to take German. Sometimes he leaves his workbook at one of them in the shuffle. That really has no baring on the review, but I am really impressed with how much he has learned in such a short time. Of course, it is the teaching that goes a long way, but this is a great resource for the beginner German learner.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2011
My son wants to learn to speak German so I ordered this book for him. Looking through it - it looks like a good beginner book for teenagers his age. I speak German myself and am excited to see how well he is able to work through the text book.

Since my son will be taking the German class through his High School I am not too worried about him not learning the language with this book. If you are doing this on your own, you may want to look for a book that comes with CDs for pronunciation...
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse