Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mastering AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Back to School STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 4, 2011
As an experienced user of Civil 3D, it is important to keep up with the yearly impovements to the interface. This book is a great reference to keep with you as you work. I would like to point out that experienced professionals, like myself, often buy these books in order to quickly brush-up on changes in the interface, or learn of newly added tools. While the text is a great resource, we aren't necessarily going to read it all. We mainly want to run through the exercises from front to back first, then delve into the text as needed. Unfortunately, the exercises in this edition tend to be buried in the text and are hard to find. It would be a valuable time-saver if all exercises were highlighted in some way, or better yet, numbered and included in an exercise index. The exercises are poorly marked and are broken up throughout the text so you have to read and read to find where the exercise continues. I don't have time for this. Just in the first two chapters alone, there are errors in exercise directions using incorrect survey quadrants that send you off in the wrong direction, references to exercises that don't exist, and exercises that callout incorrect units for radii and length. Sybex really needs someone to run though every exercise and ensure that they are correct and complete.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2011
First of all, I would like to say that this book is an excellent read. The language is friendly. The flow of subject matter is easy and logical. The content is thorough. It's obvious that the authors have had real-world experience with the software. Plus, there is humor! Now I wouldn't recommend it for poolside reading, but it would be an excellent reference to keep next to your computer at work.

The chapters are geared towards building insight. For example, you will have great insight regarding the functionality of parcels and where parcels can be applied in a Civil 3D project process instead of just learning how to create parcels. Also, the book is very well organized so that each chapter is purposed and focused. For instance, Superelevation could be addressed in several chapters: Alignments, Profiles & Profile Views, Assemblies & Subassemblies, and Corridors. Instead of spreading that information out over four chapters, there is one chapter dedicated to Superelevation.

Throughout sections of the book, there are tips and tricks which will help advance your developing skill with the software. There are also exercises spread throughout the chapters designed to fortify your learning. There are "Master It" tasks at the end of the chapters that will help drive certain concepts home. Then there are certification objectives flagged throughout the book that will help prepare you for the Autodesk Civil 3D certification exams.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
Book is well written and geared for the avid Civil 3d user. Information was clearly presented and the tutorials detailed in their step by step approach. The new information in the book was helpful for utilizing the new features in the software, especially the hydrology section in Chapter 14 and is definitely worth the read. I have found the previous versions of the book helpful and this version was proved the same. The only problem was the tutorial drawings and files did not perform as described in the book examples, specifically referring to the storm sewer analysis in Chapter 14. The Storm sewer file and the drawing file both errored out and was unable to continue with the exercise. In summary, get the book if you are interested in getting up to speed with the new version of Civil 3D (2012), while everyone else is still struggling with 2011.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
It's a good library builder, but by no means this will help you THAT much when it comes to passing the Autodesk certification test. Being a 15+ year CAD veteran, I wouldn't use the world "Mastering" as a title (a bit misleading if you think that this book can help you go from zero to hero for your company). "Understanding the world" would have been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Using Civil 3D at work. Looking for something that had some programming information to make some shortcuts in the job process. For the money spent I cannot say it was very good. After searching through it for answers and information it is just laying on the counter waiting for me to sell it on ebay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
I would first like to say that the CAD I am used to using and have been using since is 2004, so Civil 3D is totally new to me. I have just got into the book and started with some of the exercises. On page 30, the deed you are supposed to draw has 3 errors: The 2nd, 4th and 5th Bearings are NE, NE and SE (respectively), and should be NW, NW and SW. (If the finished linework is supposed to look like the example in the book - which it is.) Hopefully, other exercises I do won't have similar errors. Drawing deeds in is something I do often, so this was an easy error to catch. I'm guessing it was a fluke and will be glad to learn the material that is new to me. The version I use is 8 years old. Have to update sometime!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
I was glad to pass the torch to Rick and Louisa and they've done a great job in creating an even more useful guide for users looking to get up to speed on Civil 3D or advanced users looking for a desktop guide. They took the opportunity to add in their fresh take on what is required to Master AutoCAD Civil 3D. With the addition of a new chapter around Storm and Sanitary Analysis and a collective chapter on Styles, they've made the the definitive guide to using AutoCAD Civil 3D better than ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2015
pretty good guide but some of the examples don't work. if you need some C3D pointers it's worth it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
This book does not go into depth as needed for Mastering AutoCAD civil 3d 2012
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2016
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse