Customer Reviews: Raspberry Pi User Guide
Amazon Vehicles Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 $25 Back with $50 Purchase Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fin fin fin  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle Oasis hhnsweeps Shop Cycling on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 24, 2014
This book is exactly what I needed to begin playing with my Raspberry Pi B+. It covers the very basics to a little more in-depth, but nothing expert level.

I removed one star for not including images with the projects. They mention GPIO Pin # whatever, and they have a little label that shows pins with GPIO #s, however, what they do not explain is that the numbers in the diagram do not correspond with the GPIO numbers they are using in the projects. To use the GPIO numbers they state in the projects, you need to count the pins, starting with the 3.3v pin on the bottom left to get to GPIO pin# whatever, so that you can plug into the breadboard. I had to do an internet search to figure this out, and luckily, I did not fry the board because of confusion.

One last thing, I was a little surprised that there was no color inside, as one of the reviews stated that they did not like the eBook because of their reader being black and white...but every page IS black and I was confused by that review.
22 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
Are you a new Pi user or curious hacker? If you are, this book is for you. Authors Eben Upton and Gareth Halfacree, have done an outstanding job of writing a 3rd edition of a book that provides an introduction to the world of Raspberry Pi.

Authors Upton and Halfacree, begin by showing you how to connect your Raspberry Pi to a display, keyboard and mouse; install an operating system; and, jump straight into using the Pi. Next, the authors present a quick primer on how to use the operating system. In addition, they look at some of the most common reasons for the Pi to misbehave and how to fix them. The authors also concentrate on whether you know that your network doesn't have a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol server (a system that tells the Pi and other devices on the network how they should connect) or if you want to use a USB wireless adapter with the Pi. Then, they continue by discussing why although raspi-config is designed to be safe, some settings (in particular, the overclock option) can leave your Raspberry Pi unable to boot. The authors then offer a word of warning: Changing the settings on config.txt and cmdline.txt from their defaults, can result in a Pi that doesn't boot until the files are reverted, in the best case; and, that can physically damage the system, in the worst case. Next, they cover the most popular tasks for a Pi: That of a home theater PC, or HTPC. In addition, the authors show you how the Pi can be used as a day-to-day machine for office and school work, while not harming its usability as a platform for programming and experimentation, by using either locally installed applications or cloud-based services. They also explain why that in order to ensure a Web server's maximum performance, you must switch the Pi's memory partitioning to reserve just 16MB or 32MB for the GPU; and, not run a graphical user interface at the same time.
Then, the authors discuss how the Raspberry Pi Foundation is working to get the Pi device adopted as an educational tool for all ages by using Scratch. Next, they cover the high-level language Python code; and, how it provides the Pi with commands in a manner that is quick to learn and easy to follow. The authors continue by looking at Minecraft: Which is now available for the Raspberry Pi, and brings with it educational elements that let interested parties learn through play. They then stress that before you can get started building circuits to use with the Pi's GPIO port, you need some additional equipment and an understanding about some of the language surrounding the world of electronics. Next, the authors show you where the Raspberry Pi's GPIO port is located: On the top-left of the printed circuit board, labeled P1. In addition, they cover the Raspberry Pi Camera Module: Which is the most compact way of adding the ability to record still images and video to your project. Finally, the authors take a peek at the add-on boards, which simply provide easier access to the Raspberry Pi's GPIO pins.

This excellent book explores a number of things you can do with your Raspberry Pi, from controlling hardware with Python, to using its as a media center, setting up camera projects, or building games in Scratch. Also, this great book shows how the Raspberry Pi exposes GPIO, so that you can get to work right away.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
This book serves as a good introduction to Raspberry Pi, and Linux operating systems in general. It starts off by outlining the basic functionality of the Pi, including how to configure your Pi for different purposes, from server administration to Python programming, and even how to use it to manipulate hardware. The book is very well-written and easy to understand (as many Wiley books are), so even a complete beginner should have no problem learning with this book.

The only downside to this book is that even though this edition was only published in 2014, it's already a little bit outdated, especially with the recent release of the Raspberry Pi 2 Model B. You'll find that some of the commands listed in the book don't work 100% correctly, at least if you're using the most current version of Raspbian. However, a quick Google search of the problem, will turn up plenty of results on how to resolve the issues. Most of the time, it simply involves eliminating a word or two from a command, because it became obsolete between the time this edition was published and now.

However, I would still recommend this book to anyone looking to start tinkering with a Raspberry Pi. I bought this book a few weeks ago, and with this book (and the help of a friend), I was able to quickly get a web server up and running where I am currently hosting a personal website, and I may even by another Pi to tinker around some more. I almost gave this book 3 stars due to the issues I had with some of the commands, but I think this book still functions as a good primer to the Raspberry Pi, and based on the quality of the content, deserved at least 4 stars.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
I skimmed through the book in an evening. I have some familiarity with Linux, but not the Pi platform so I thought this would be a good intro. The book covers basics of the types of board(A/B), what is on the board, installing an OS, a little programing intro, some info on projects you can build, and additional parts/components you can buy. The book will give you enough detail to get started. It is not a step by step manual. It would make a good book for a younger reader who is just getting started with raspberry pi or someone a little older who is curious about the platform.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
I purchased the Kindle edition of this book to read on the 2nd generation (black and white) keyboard Kindle. The illustrations leave a little to be desired when viewed in Black and White. However, once purchased I was also able to view it using the Kindle app on both Windows 7 desktop and on my Windows phone running Windows 8.1. Both of the latter support color and made the illustrations and photos much easier to read and decipher.

One of the nice things about this book is that it was written by a member of the Raspberry Pi team. It gives a good perspective on why the Raspberry Pi was developed and describes some of the rationale you'd expect from an insider.

I was a little disappointed that the book didn't have more in-depth coverage of the details of the hardware. Because it was called a "User Guide" I expected its coverage to be an exhaustive reference. It's more of a "survey" of the Raspberry Pi's capabilities.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This guide is well written and contains very useful information for anyone new to the world of RPi. Further, the Raspberry Pi is simply the most awesome little device that I've found in a very long time. I read recently a description of the RPi that called it a "Computer Set", analogous to a "Chemistry Set": building blocks to allow anyone of any age to learn and build and discover... all in a tiny, inexpensive package.

I also purchased Raspberry Pi Hacks: Tips & Tools for Making Things with the Inexpensive Linux Computer which is an excellent resource beyond the basics.

My full Raspberry Pi setup includes:
RASPBERRY PI MODEL B 756-8308 Raspberry Pi B
Edimax EW-7811Un 150 Mbps Wireless 11n Nano Size USB Adapter with EZmax Setup Wizard
Multicomp Clear Raspberry Pi Enclosure (MC-RP001-CLR)
SanDisk Ultra 8 GB SDHC Class 10 Flash Memory Card 30MB/s SDSDU-008G-U46
AmazonBasics Wired Keyboard and Wired Mouse Bundle
AmazonBasics 7 Port USB 2.0 Hub with 5V/4A power adapter
SMAKN PL2303HX USB to TTL to UART RS232 COM Cable module Converter
USB to RS485 Converter Adapter ch340T chip Support 64-bit Win7
- GearMo® Mini USB to RS485 / RS422 Converter FTDI CHIP with Screw Terminals (I actually bought this RS484 adapter elsewhere, as it was rather expensive on amazon)

Be sure to check out some of the online resources such as adafruit (great project ideas), as well as The MagPi (a very good, online RPi Magazine - free!)

If you find yourself needing to login from your phone or kindle, be sure to check out the JuiceSSH app (you'll need to back load this onto the kindle after downloading from google play). Juice is a SSH telnet client. Very cool. Also - when you are ready to scale your linux project, be sure to check out the amazon aws! Create a virtual Linux machine from your browser on amazon servers!

Overall, the Raspberry Pi is an awesome device, and this keyboard was the perfect addition! I hope it will inspire the new generation to learn more about the inner workings of computers. There are very cool online resources, with project ideas such as the adafruit Raspberry Pi WiFi Radio. If interested in RPi, be sure to check out the eLinux (dot org) web site, as it has a ton of great information on compatibility.

I've been completely happy with my RPi & recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about computers!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
I just received my CanaKit Raspberry Pi starter kit and this User's Guide by Eben Upton. The book is very up to date and explained everything I needed to know and needed to do to get the Raspian Linux O/S installed on the Pi, and get the board fired up. The details in the book matched the board and the actual software screens exactly. I had read part of the book before the kit came. Using this book, I had the Pi up and running Raspian in the GUI mode with a display, mouse, keyboard, and wireless WiFi in less than an hour after opening the box. I am not new to computers or electronic hardware, but I had not used Linux in many years, and had never set up a Linux system ever before. I am extremely pleased with this book. It provides a balance of console commands and explanation of the GUI apps. It also gets you into programming Scratch and Python just a bit, and also into the GPIO hardware interfacing just a bit. Now that I am up and running, I will be seeking out some more detailed reference books on Linux. -pete
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2016
Author drifts off topic such as devoting many pages describing how to solder components, or creating a game that fails to demonstrate I/O capabilities of the PI. Author spends too many pages/chapters on software that is not a clear tutorial of Python. A much better tutorial of the PI is available on the website and a much more comprehensive explanation of Python is available on the website. The book might be better with more basic code examples that demonstrate the many programming strengths of Python and their interactions with the PI. This book is too choppy for a beginner and not in enough depth for an advanced user. I suggest looking elsewhere for a tutorial.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
I have an earlier edition of this book and wanted to get information applicable to the Raspberry Pi 2 which I recently purchased. The RPi seems to be evolving quickly and this makes it hard for authors and publishers to stay at the very cutting edge of available hardware... the only reason I didn't give the book 5 stars. I consider the latest edition of Raspberry Pi User Guide required reading for anyone getting involved with this amazing little computer for the first time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
Definitely for the beginner. If you don't know Linux or anything about hardware this is the book for you. If you are intermediate or advanced and have used the Linux command line this book is probably not too much help. It does have some (but not enough) information specific to the Raspberry PI hardware. For me it was a bit to beginner. The first section on the history and development of the PI and the project was interesting. For the price it was OK.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse