BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 13, 2010
Bill Willingham's Fables series of graphic novels is a treasure -- great storylines, excellent graphics and tremendous characters. As far as I know, this is the first member of the group without Willingham's name on it, but it doesn't seem to suffer *too* much. I preferred this entry to the tiresome Jack stories, but still prefer the main Fables books in general.

In this edition, Cinderella -- nominally a shoe store owner but really a superspy for Fabletown -- teams up with Aladdin to discover who's been smuggling magical objects into our mundy world. Fine art but without the greater impact of a Fabletown story. (I can't believe I just wrote that, but I'll stick by it.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 18, 2010
If you've been following along with Fables, you know about Cinderella & how she serves as a spy for Fabletown in general. If you haven't been following along with the story, I really do suggest that you go back & read at least up until volume 7-8. While some readers new to the series might be able to follow along with the story, there's a few things in this volume that would be considered spoilers to readers only familiar with the first few volumes.

From Fabletown with Love follows Cinderella as she's sent to investigate reports of magical items landing in the hands of the mundy. What she discovers is a smuggling ring trafficking in magical weapons that leads her all the way back to the Homelands. Along the way she runs across the dashing Aladdin, a spy for his own Arabian Homeland. Together they must discover who exactly is behind this & stop them for good!

While I'll admit that this wasn't as strong as the regular Fables comics, this isn't bad for a spinoff. I loved seeing more of Cinderella's past as well as seeing her in full spy action. She doesn't have a huge amount of appearances in the main series so it was nice to see her getting the spotlight for once.

The only drawback is that we don't get as deep a look into Cindy's head as I'd like & I do wish we'd seen a bit of her doing her training. The part with Crispin (her help at the shoestore) is OK enough, but was easily the weakest part of the comic & it could have been removed entirely without it being missed overly much. Overall though, this is a fine addition to the series.

4.5/5
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 14, 2010
CINDERELLA: FROM FABLETOWN WITH LOVE, it even starts out like a James Bond picture. The opening moments find Cinderella smack dab in the middle of an espionage escapade and handling her business spectacularly well, as always. But there's no rest for the wicked. No sooner does Cinderella return to Fabletown than she's dispatched to another mission. No rest for one of FABLES' coolest, most overlooked characters.

Painting the backdrop: The all-out war between Fabletown and the Adversary has left the evil Empire crumbling and the Homelands in disarray, in a state of flux. In chaotic times like these, there's always someone looking to profit. Magical artifacts are being smuggled into the Mundy world, and obviously this jeopardizes the secretive Fabletown and its mythical residents.

On Bullfinch Street she's regarded as a vacuous gadabout who infrequently runs her shoe store. But, for centuries now, Cinderella has been Fabletown's top operative, except that the only ones who know are the Fabletown sheriff - to whom she directly reports - and the witches which hook up Cinderella with esoteric devices (think Q the weaponeer, only more mystical). Cinderella's newest mission has her chasing a lead to Dubai where she meets the dashing foreign agent Aladdin.

Artist Shawn McManus's light touch nicely suits a spy thriller that doesn't take itself too seriously. Chris Roberson, who writes the thing, does well in showcasing our central character as being extremely competent in the classic cloak & dagger department. But it isn't until the third act that he really sinks his teeth into the thing that sets our heroine apart from any other secret agent, which is that she is friggin' Cinderella. She is hundreds of years old and, in a touch of meta, powered by her popularity as a fairy tale creature. Another lead has her and Aladdin setting off for the Homelands, and specifically for the enchanted kingdom of Ultima Thule.

The recent war had left Ultima Thule vulnerable, ripe for a bloody revolution. Cinderella and Aladdin, upon arrival, are straight away exposed to the new state of affairs. The cruel successor to the throne had, weirdly, instituted a law against frowning. To enforce this law, smile patrols are deployed; polar bears toting automatic weapons sweep the avenues (because, it turns out, this arms-trafficking thing goes both ways). Cinderella and Aladdin promptly find themselves on the run.

Meanwhile, back home in Fabletown, Cinderella's assistant at the shoe store, Crispin Cordwainer, puts his own business-making ideas into effect. Except that he hasn't really thought his notions thru. What happens is pretty funny.

I really enjoyed this limited series, all six issues of it. Chris Roberson tells a fast-paced story, and with a breezy inflection. FABLES Cinderella is a really fun character and has tremendous potential. It's obvious that she can carry her own solo ongoing series, and the contrast of her flighty persona in Fabletown versus her globe-trotting exploits is one of them winning formulas. FROM FABLETOWN WITH LOVE resonates more when Cinderella learns the identity of the mastermind who'd been pulling all the strings. Also, I couldn't help but cheer at her resourcefulness just when things looked bleakest. Meanwhile, it's a neat twist that Aladdin, gallant and strapping, ultimately comes across as the story's designated "damsel in distress" (dude in distress?). It's all very Joss Whedonesque.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A spin off from the brilliant Fables comic, taking place after the war is fine, Cindy is a high level operative for beast, keeping an eye on the power vacuum back in the homelands. When magical implements start showing up in the mundy, Cindy teams up with Aladdin to get to the bottom of things. A lot of fun and a fast read, this is a must for any Fables fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2010
Although I believe it's the first "Fables" book not to carry Bill Willingham's name on the cover, "Cinderella: From Fabletown With Love" works as a very natural extension of the Fables universe. In many ways, in fact, it reads more like a regular Fables story than most of "Jack of Fables."

In brief, "Fables" is about the characters from fairy tales and folklore (e.g. Snow White, the Big Bad Wolf, Pinocchio, etc.) who fled a conquerer in their fictional homelands by escaping to the 'real' world, where they settled in their own secret section of New York City, dubbed 'Fabletown.' Cinderella has had relatively little screentime in the ongoing book, but Willingham established her as Fabletown's international secret agent, dealing with issues of concern to the Fable community. This globe-trotting setup certainly lends itself to an adventurous solo tale, and Chris Roberson was given the job of spinning that tale.

One shortcoming in Cinderella's 'secret agent' treatment is that it's not exactly a natural outgrowth of any aspect of her original story. Apart from giving her a bit of a shoe theme, the character might as well be an original creation, an author working from a blank slate. (Part of this is due to the Cinderella story simply not providing much character-based material for its own protagonist; she's poor, and then with some magical help, she meets a prince who falls in love with her. The End. This is also why Disney's Cinderella II - Dreams Come True was such an atrociously bad idea.) Roberson tackles this problem in two ways. One is a spoiler, but the other is simply to play up the shoe aspect, by devoting a couple of pages an issue to a subplot about her shoe store ("The Glass Slipper"), and a magic-related scheme by her store manager (Crispin Cordwainer, the eponymous shoemaker of "The Elves and the Shoemaker"). The combined effect of this is that Roberson succeeds in making this a singularly Cinderella story, rather than just an espionage story featuring someone called Cinderella.

Roberson also partners Cindy with a character who's more of a natural fit in an adventure tale, in the form of Aladdin, and gives small but valuable roles to a few other Fable characters. He even has one plot point that spins out of the regular Fables book, from a setup of Willingham's that always did seem underdeveloped.

Roberson introduces a couple of his own plot points that never quite pay off, too. One involving the deal made by Crispin the shoemaker, and another with some underexplained villainous henchmen (who at one point he establishes as poisonous, only to never make that detail relevant).

I'm no more familiar with the art of Shawn McManus than I was with the writing of Chris Roberson, but his work here is very much in the Fables house style. I'm sure the colors of Lee Loughridge and the lettering of Todd Klein are a great assist in that level of consistency, and their work is excellent as always. Faces occasionally look off (particularly in one scene where Cindy and Al appear inexplicably angry with each other), but it's mostly solid.

On the whole, I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and knocked out most of it in one sitting. It's a fine extension of Willingham's work, and could easily serve as an introduction to a new reader unfamiliar with the Fables universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2017
This came in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
A fun and interesting story. Get to know Cinderella better and see a new and exciting side of her. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
I love the Fables series and this is such a great addition to my collection! I think it's great that they gave Cinderella her own miniseries and I keep looking forward to whatever the next story is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
Femme fatale Cinderellla! I am a fan of this Fables side project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
I loved this book, it is just as good as all the other Fable books. I liked it that Cinderella had issues with her fairy godmother. I thought the plotline with that creative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse