Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
49
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on March 11, 2014
I had to read this book for a college theater class and fell in love with it. I had a hard time putting it down because it really does raise awareness of civil war in other countries, especially the Congo. This play reads incredibly easily, almost like a novel. It's hard putting each character to a face at first but as you continue reading the personalities blossom and it's easy to establish who is who. The worst part is though, that it's hard to see which side of the revolution is right because the egregious things BOTH of them do. This play captivates the audience on the poor women caught in the middle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2017
A powerful drama that wanted to be read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2014
Pulitzer-prize-winning indeed. Every time you think you know how she'll adjust her characters, she digs another direction, or does something newly truthful. "Ruined" is so descriptive, on so many levels. She's drawn such a visceral picture of it - living in a state of war is something we've never accepted as real....... it's beginning to surround us and bears thinking about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
A friend saw this play and gave it rave reviews. So I bought it, read the first page, and didn't pick it up for a year and a half because I was afraid of what it would do to me to read it. When I finally got the courage to pick it up and finish it I was annoyed that I hadn't done so sooner. Nottage is the real deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2017
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Well-written and brings to light an important societal issue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
Such a strong story and so beautifully written. The final scenes still resonate with me. Why do wars always begin and end with the women? as if those who possess the women are those who possess the power.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
Wonderful play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2011
This play is great! It is very emotionally gripping and was extremely well researched by the author to be as good of a representation of the real situation in the Congo as possible. I highly recommend it to all readers and especially to those active in the theater community. And if you get the chance to see this play, jump on it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here